We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fish and chips” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Prince of Wales

The Prince of Wales
Ranked #59 of 571 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$15
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Just listed in The Southern Living Magazine September edition as one of their 8 favorite locations in St. Augustine. We have been in the top ten on TripAdvisor for over 3 Years. Once you have dined with us you will come back. Serving all the greats from across the pond, including The Best Hand Beer Battered Fish & Chips In Town, just ask around. Over 30 Beers Wines & Ciders.
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great fish and chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Just happened upon this pub, off the beaten path. Great fish and chips! The friendly Irish waitress suggested the small sized fish and chips for me and my sister. The portions were huge and so delicious!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kerrydnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    146
    34
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best fish and chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

I love stopping at this pub in old town St. Augustine as they have the best fish and chips I've ever had. The service is top notch, they have a great selection of beers and a nice porch to eat on and people watch. I've been to this pub 5 times and they have quality food and the portions they serve are Texas size. If I'm going to be in St. Augustine I feel compelled to drip in and eat and tip a few cool ones... You will not be disappointed if you try this place out and the prices are reasonable given the portion sizes.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank joegaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
106 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice little place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stopped into the Prince of Wales for a drink. We had so much fun in a short amount of time. The bartender, a woman with a strong accent, was so friendly and made us laugh the whole time we were there. It is tucked away a little on the side streets, but definitely a good find.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Killer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

In the mood for Fish & Chips? THIS IS THE PLACE!! Off the Main Street and sitting on a corner, flags flying, and seats ready for you! I can't say enough about the Fish & Chips but they have a great menu of other English dishes. Only one thing missing. A Manchester United scarf on the wall!

Helpful?
Thank FoggUtd3829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A good find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stumbled on this pub on the way to the second-hand bookshop and noticed they did deep fried mushrooms. That's what drew us in to this British pub for a late lunch. Friendly owner. Food good. Quirky pub inside. Added to the ceiling decoration of dollar bills.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank juliamaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Prince of Wales also viewed

 

Been to The Prince of Wales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing