We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Florida hotel stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Historical Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEST WESTERN Historical Inn
Ranked #33 of 79 Hotels in St. Augustine
West Columbia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Florida hotel stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Hard Rock Hotel is excellent in every way. Pricey but you get what you pay for. Best Western in St. Augustine just off 95 has good rates and rooms have just been updated. Best Western in Historical District is a bit pricey for room itself.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Historical Inn, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
I appreciate your taking the time to write this review. Your input is important to me and the team here at Best Western. We are constantly looking at ways to improve our hotel to enhance our guest experience
Again, thank you for you stay with us. I hope to see you back very soon,

Tom Lane
General Manager
Historical Inn
Saint Augustine, Fl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    139
    78
    25
    18
See reviews for
146
169
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I was on a business trip for a week (6 nights) and looked for an affordable deal for the extended stay. I had booked online at another hotel (name withheld) which offered a great deal (I have stayed at that chain previously at other cities so knew what to expect). But the experience was not pleasant. So after 2 nights, I booked at Best Western (historic district) at St. Augustine, (Main reason to book: COSTCO partners with this chain and I have immense faith in COSTCO quality!) Overall experience was good... Room: Clean and comfortable Amenities in the room: Good and in working condition (except the iron which seemed to warm up at best!). Staff: Courteous and helpful, Breakfast: OK - could be better I think Price: A bit on the higher side (i.e. does not feel like you got a great deal at the end of it)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank 934smitaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Historical Inn, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for your response. It is nice to hear you had a nice stay with us. It is our goal to make your stay a pleasurable one and we are glad it was.

I hope to see you back with us very soon.

Tom Lane
General Manager
Best Western Historical Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Best Western Historical Inn for 3 nights. We booked this hotel because of it's location, free breakfast and wifi, and Best Western Rewards.

Pros:

THE STAFF: VERY friendly, and very accommodating. We arrived 3 hours prior to check-in and the lady behind the desk was able to pre-check-in and also gave us suggestions of things we could do in the area while we were waiting for our room to be available.

THE HOTEL: This hotel is very quiet, despite being located off a popular road. My husband and I also enjoyed the free wifi and breakfast every morning. The bed was extremely comfortable and the hotel offered a wide variety of TV channels.

Cons:

LOCATION: Despite being labeled in the "historic" part of St. Augustine, I would say this hotel is more on the outskirts of it. Everything we wanted to see (Fountain of Youth, Castillo de San Marcos, Vilano Beach) was at least a mile away. Please keep this in mind if you're traveling here and not renting a car. There is a trolley that will pick you up at the hotel and take you around to the sites for a fee.

THE HOTEL: It was very obvious that this is an old hotel. The room was clean but the outside of the hotel is very rundown. The door to our room was discolored and very scratched. The AC didn't work in the bathroom, so it was hot and smelled musty. The dining area was very small, so most mornings we took our food back to our room.

Overall, I appreciated the friendliness of the staff at Best Western Historical Inn, but next time I stay in St. Augustine, I will probably spend the extra money and stay at a different hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Historical Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
I appreciate your taking the time to write this review. Your input is important to me and the staff here at Best Western. We are constantly looking at ways to improve our hotel to enhance our guest experience
I hope you will give us another chance to win you business.

Again, thank you for you stay with us. I hope to see you back very soon,

Tom Lane
General Manager
Best Western Historical Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

I took a group of kids to stay at the Bet Western Historical Inn as part of our summer camp experience. The rooms were not in the best condition - I found a used condom next to my bed, some of the kids found clothing left behind by earlier guests in various drawers in their rooms, and the toilet in my room rocked back and forth whenever I tried to use it. One of my colleagues stated that his toilet would randomly flush every hour. In addition, one of my colleagues was locked out of his hotel room because the electronic lock system malfunctioned. This happened around 8 p.m. The hotel was unable to give him access to his room until around 9 a.m. the next morning. He did not have access to any of his belongings for over 12 hours!!! They were able to put him in another hotel room, but what if the hotel would've been full? Where would they have put him then? It was also a HUGE inconvenience for him to not have access to his belongings for the night as well. In addition, the next morning the "engineer" that came to troubleshoot the electronic lock appeared completely uneducated about what to do. It's definitely the blind leading the blind. Also, the entire hotel just appears sleepy and in desperate need of a renovation. The price was cheap though so I guess we go what we paid for? Finally, this hotel was also very far from major attractions in the city. I would not have stayed here unless it was for work.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Historical Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Best Western Historical Inn I appreciate your taking the time to write this review. Your input is important to me and the staff here at Best Western. We are constantly looking at ways to improve our hotel to enhance our guest experience

Again, thank you for you stay with us. I hope to see you back very soon,

Tom Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

* Convenient location * Close to historic district * Friendly staff * Terrific price/value * Good continental breakfast with eggs, pancakes, cereal, yogurt, waffles, juice and more * We enjoyed our one-night stay at the Best Western Historical Inn in Saint Augustine, FL

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Sunny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Historical Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Best Western Historical Inn I appreciate your taking the time to write this review. Your input is important to me and the staff here at Best Western. We are constantly looking at ways to improve our hotel to enhance our guest experience

Again, thank you for you stay with us. I hope to see you back very soon,

Tom Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt. Pleasant, NC, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

My husband selected St. Augustine, Florida for a trip to celebrate our 49th wedding anniversary since I had never been there. We enjoyed all aspects of the trip. The weather was hot but beautiful. The room was a typical hotel room but was clean & had all we needed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Historical Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your response. It is nice to hear you had a nice stay with us. It is our goal to make your stay a pleasurable one and we are glad it was.

I hope to see you back with us very soon.

Tom Lane
General Manager
Best Western Historical Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Florida
Level Contributor
151 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Our family of 4 stayed here for a weekend trip to St Augustine. The rooms were good, no major complaints. It is an old building so they did the best they could space wise, I read a lot of reviews about how small the rooms were and it worried me. But we were fine, it was a tight space but nothing that would ruin your stay. Small rooms or not, you cant beat the location! PERFECT! Very close to at least 3-5 trolley stops, across the street from Ripley's and a 5 minute walk to the fort and city gates. We had dinner at the restaurant next door (which I will review as well) and made good use of the mini fridge & microwave in the room. Also they serve breakfast on certain days and it was great. My kids loved everything they offered and that was an added bonus!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tampabrat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Historical Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your response. It is nice to hear you had a nice stay with us. It is our goal to make your stay a pleasurable one and we are glad it was.

I hope to see you back with us very soon.

Tom Lane
General Manager
Best Western Historical Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn
BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn
#22 of 79 in St. Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#44 of 79 in St. Augustine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District
0.4 mi away
Jaybird's Inn
Jaybird's Inn
#12 of 79 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Historical Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Historical Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Historical Inn
Address: 2010 North Ponce De Leon Blvd., St. Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 79 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Historical Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Historical Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Historical Hotel Saint Augustine
Best Western Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Best Western
BEST WESTERN Historical Inn St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing