We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Long walk Home” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Ranked #15 of 79 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, England
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Long walk Home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

I have never been so far from the elevator to our room than at this hotel, I was tempted to hire a cab!
However, when you got to the room it was OK, and pretty quiet, although like other guests have noted, the walls are quite thin, and there was a band playing in the bar next door that was annoying, but thankfully stopped before we retired for the night.
We thought the restaurant was good and seemed to us to be good value, and in a pleasant setting.
The Hotel is central for all the main attractions, shops, museums, college etc, pity they seem to overcharge for parking !
The service in the Starbucks coffee shop needs looking at, staff training would be a good idea.

Room Tip: Ask for one that is not too far from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, General Manager at Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 22 September 2012
I sincerely appreciate your comments. Your tip is a good one. If a request to be near the elevator is noted on the reservation, along with any requests, we make every effort to honor such requests when assigning rooms. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    908
    446
    203
    73
    50
See reviews for
379
831
32
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
336 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

The service level we experienced was great. The staff thought of things before we could ask. Very well run hotel. Small but easy to navigate. The restaurant and bar area were good. A great place to stay in a great town!

Room Tip: Splurge and get the premium room. The extra space is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBoomerang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, General Manager at Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 22 September 2012
Thank you for sharing. Intuitive service is a very important part of our mission statement and when I read comments such as yours it provides me with the comfort that we are delivering that promise. I agree that the Premium rooms are well worth the price difference. A noteworthy tip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

I will say that we find a priority with the location and proximity to the epicenter of activity to be what we look for and this hotel achieves this big time. It's a beautiful and striking hotel upon driving down King St and the excitement built and we weren't disappointed from check in on until a wrinkle with communication from the front desk. We had spent a long hot day walking and shopping and walking and imbibing and walking...you get the picture. We called it an early day after dinner and welcomed a restful evening in the room getting ready for the very long drive home the next day. We returned around 8pm to find a wedding reception in the small intimate pool area which is situated directly outside many of the guest room windows. As we have no issue with a hotel having a reception but not disclosing or mentioning it at check in...due to the proximity to the bangin bass music for hrs upon hrs...would have been nice. Just mention it so we could make arrangements to stay away until it was over. Instead we cut our night and got our mindset into relaxing and were literally 3feet from the DJ until 10pm and then 1.5hrs off the poor bellhops dragging chairs and tables back into place. Crazy loud! Oh well, the front desk removed an already messed up breakfast from that morning to appease. Otherwise, great service from the staff and a gorgeous hotel but at $299 per night, a heads up about the disco would have been nice.

Room Tip: Absolutely ask about the Serenata resort and make the visit. It was relaxing and fantastic ala cruis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maxx3442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, General Manager at Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 22 September 2012
Those are very good suggestions and we will do a better job in communicating this to our guests. There is signage posted at the pool entrances when we have such events but we obviously need to expand how we notify our guests. I am happy that other than this you enjoyed your visit. Your tip about utilizing Serenata is a good one. Thank you for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012 via mobile

We stay at the hotel for 2012 Labor day weekend.
The hotel has the best location , the hotel lobby is nice, but thet customer service is horrible...we waited 1 hr to get a dring at the swimming pool area, worst service at the restaurante and very expensive add ons to your included breakfast at 95 Cordova Restaurante.
We have to request towels every night because they only left towels for 2 guest, we were a family of 4 in a two queen beds bedroom.
Sorry :( dont like it

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janelore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, General Manager at Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 22 September 2012
I am very sorry that we let you down during your visit over the Labor Day holiday. It is certainly not indicative of our standards and what you can expect. I will personally address and share with our Food and Beverage and Housekeeping leadership to know that we fell short in our service. My sincerest apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

We have visited the hotel before and it continues to maintain high standards. On the day we arrived, we asked for a room with no adjoining door and the staff went out of their way to help and, in the end, upgraded us to a lovely room after a bit of a mix up. The room was very comfortable and quiet with nice views of the town. Bar and restaurant are great and provide the best food in town. The staff are very friendly and always professional. The beach club is charged for on a daily basis but well worth it. Couple of gripes - bed was a bit soft and bowed in the middle; we had a room where the outside lights shined into the room at night - perhaps pelmets on top of the curtains would resolve and we got attitude when we had room service delivered as we did not add another tip on top of the gratuity already included in the price. But these were very minor and would recommend this hotel wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkTraveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, General Manager at Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
I appreciate your comments and happy that you continue to enjoy Casa Monica and the service. I will certainly address your concerns as it is certainly not our standard service delivery in the room service area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberton, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Hotel hallways and fourth floor room smelled musty (even for an over-taxed FL air-conditioning unit). Room walls and ceiling are very thin and you can hear more from your fellow guests than you would probably care to. The worst offense however, was the run-in with the parking lot attendant this afternoon. Very un-professional, rude, and downright ignorant...I have NEVER been treated this way before as a frequent Marriott guest at any of the properties that I have ever stayed. I immediately complained to the hotel manager, and to his credit ,he has offered to waive the parking fee. (We'll see in the morning during check out!)
I am very unlikely to stay at this property for future visits. I am looking forward to the Marriott Customer Satisfaction survey on this one! Otherwise, St Augustine is great and we had a great day at the beach at Anastasia State Park today!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Archert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, General Manager at Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
I do recall speaking to you and sorry that somehow there was miscommunication on the parking situation. Casa Monica is valet only and somehow we failed to convey that message properly. I have personally spoken to all team members on our front desk and valet staffs and this information will properly be conveyed in the future. I appreciate you bringing this to my attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Springs, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed at the Casa Monica for our 22nd Wedding Anniversary and it was wonderful. A really great experience including the service and all friendly staff. A great place to be spoiled. The location is fantastic! Easy walking distance to numerous restaurants and also to all the shops.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, General Manager at Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Thank you for choosing Casa Monica for your special occasion. It warms my heart to hear we spoiled you. I do appreciate you taking the time to make favorable mention of our staff. You do not live far from St. Augustine so I sincerely hope you plan to visit many more times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.4 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#4 of 79 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
0.2 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#10 of 79 in St. Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
4.0 mi away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection

Property: Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Address: 95 Cordova Street, St. Augustine, FL 32084 (Formerly Casa Monica, Autograph Collection)
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in St. Augustine
#12 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
#13 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and TravelUp so you can book your Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Monica, Autograph Collection Hotel Saint Augustine
Casa Monica Saint Augustine
Casa Monica St Augustine
Hotel Casa Monica
Casa Monica Hotel
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing