We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointment at a High Cost”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Ranked #15 of 79 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointment at a High Cost”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I just spent $475 for a night at the Casa Monica when I could have had a better experience for less than $100 at Motel 6. To put this in perspective, I am a high-end road warrior who regularly calls the Ritz Carlton or Four Seasons home several nights each month. I also regularly direct many of my visiting clients to the Kesler property in Orlando, the Bohemian, and have found they do an outstanding job. The Casa Monica is no Bohemian! Specifics:
1. My wife and I arrived for her birthday celebration late-afternoon and looked forward to making our way to the hotel pool area where we had looked forward to relaxing and enjoying a cocktail around the pool during sunset. When we got to our room, we found a note on the bed informing us that the pool area would not be available to guests between 5 PM and 8 PM to accommodate a private party. Had the hotel notified us at the time we made the reservation, we would have opted for the Ritz Carlton on Amelia Island and returned to the Casa Monica at a later date. The option for a poolside sunset was then moved to the beach club which led us to the next problem.
2. We called for our car (valet only parking) and waited nearly 30 minutes. The reason we were given is that the arriving wedding party had overwhelmed the valet capacity. Now, with the afternoon escaping, we drove 15 minutes in Holiday traffic that didn't get us halfway to the beach club before turning back. The hotel's suggested option turned out not to be an option at all.
3.Upon leaving our room, we specifically called housekeeping for turn-down service and were assured it would e taken care of. When we returned to our room late at night, nothing had been done. That is unacceptable from a hotel of this level.
4. Exhausted, we headed to bed only to be awoken at around 2 am by the wedding-revelers in the hallway. We called the clerk who told us they would send someone up to take care of the problem. After 15 minutes, I arose and made my way out to address the issue myself. The people were polite and immediately moved into a room. Why did I have to do this and what happened to hotel security??

In summary, a purported four-star hotel failed to give proper notification of limited facility availability, didn't provide sufficient staff to handle valet service, failed to provide full housekeeping service and did not provide a quiet and peaceful environment when noticed that there was a problem.

A lot of work to do here!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KesslerCorporate, Executive Administrator at Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Greg W,

Thank you for your feedback. We regret to hear that your experience at the Casa Monica was less than satisfactory. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused by the pool inaccessibility. At this time we do not have a way of informing our guests prior to arrival for pool closures, although we are currently striving to implement a method to inform our guests in a timelier manner. As we strive for outstanding service, we apologize for the miscommunication in providing you with turndown service. According to our housekeeping keeping records, your request for turndown service had not been recorded. We regret that this miscommunication negatively affected your experience.

If you would like to further discuss your experience, you may directly contact our Front Office Manager Meredith Klindtworth at 904-819-6010. We would be thrilled upon your return to our hotel for another opportunity to provide an outstanding experience.

Sincerely,

Amanda Gay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    917
    452
    204
    74
    50
See reviews for
385
839
34
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange Park
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Spent Memorial Day weekend at Casa Monica. Had a great time; great restaurant; great room; great service by everyone at hotel from manager to food service to room attendants to valet parking. Pool and exercise room outstanding. Highly recommend Sunday brunch; it is absolutely superb.

Room Tip: Third floor as second floor provides access to pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davegarmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
114 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

The hotel is gorgeous and in a great location. We were two friends traveling and requested two queen beds. When we checked in, we were told there were no queen rooms as the hotel was sold out. So we shared a king bed (awkward!).
The room had a partial view of the pool but was dark. There was only one desk chair, nowhere else to sit. For the price of the hotel, wifi should be included, not $9.95/night.

Room Tip: The coffee shop downstairs has great breakfast sandwiches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank golfrkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

I want to tell you that from the time you pull your car in and are greeted by James and the Valet team, to check in, the service and politeness that has been lost in hospitality is reaffirmed here.

The food in the restaurant and bar service from Gina and Henry to the food taste and presentation is fantastic.

I will go back

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muleball51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Beautiful hotel with tons of character. They accept dogs up a certain weight limit. The pet fee is hefty but it is such a pleasure to stay in a non-average hotel while on a road trip. This hotel is way better than other pet-friendly chain hotels. The bar has tables that allowed us to sit with our pup and eat dinner. There was live music that was excellent. The location is perfect for walking. Friendly staff, nice energy. Love the floor to ceiling windows overlooking the street and park.

Green Features: It has received awards for environmental stewardship
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
110 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Where to start? The incredible cleanliness of the hotel? Okay...absolutely spotless, EVERYWHERE. The comfort? Okay...beds are perfectly firm, furniture throughout the hotel was beckoning and delightful. Wonderful artwork, not typical 'hotel art' makes it worth taking a walk around to take a look. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location is fabulous! You can walk everywhere from here. The view of Flagler College and Lightener Museum made looking out of our windows a pure delight!

Room Tip: I would request a room on a high (4th) floor. It was quiet and scenic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djvdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

In town with the family for a first visit to St. Augustine. The hotel was really spectacular. Rooms were very comfortable (although, as I read prior to arriving, a little dark. To be expected as its a very old hotel). Beds were great. Staff was great and wen out of their way for us - from the front desk staff to the valets. The kids loved the pool - though in all honesty, its really an adult type of pool. Our kids didn't care and had a blast. Location is fantastic - right in the heart of everything.

One weird thing, we had several odd charges on our bill. We stayed one night and were charged 2 nights for valet. The front desk removed it when I brought it to their attention. I went home, and a $5 charge appeared on my credit card. I called and they said it was probably water from the room. Well, we're geeky and bring our own water bottles and a small cooler, so I asked them to remove it. They said they would. Several days later it was still there, so I called again and they said they would remove it. It finally was credited back about 3 days after the second call. Now, this didn't ruin our stay and the staff was helpful throughout the process. It was just strange and somewhat unexpected.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nurtzof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.4 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#4 of 79 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
4.0 mi away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
4.6 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection

Property: Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Address: 95 Cordova Street, St. Augustine, FL 32084 (Formerly Casa Monica, Autograph Collection)
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in St. Augustine
#12 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
#13 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Monica, Autograph Collection Hotel Saint Augustine
Casa Monica Saint Augustine
Casa Monica St Augustine
Hotel Casa Monica
Casa Monica Hotel
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing