We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Ranked #16 of 79 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2009

Great location, you are able to walk to everything in the historic part of town. If you get the chance take advantage of the Serenata Beach Club, its a few miles away. You can take the hotel tram departs at 11 and returns at 4 or drive yourself its about 10-15 minutes away. Nice place to relax by the pool, ocean and eat lunch. The hotel charges $20 a day for valet parking.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sake1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,887)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,692 - 1,698 of 1,887 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2009

We went here for a weekend with friends with high expectations, which sadly, were not met.

The building is magnificent, and couldn't be better situated.

We had booked a "premium" room, 2 grades higher than the standard. What a disappointment. Very cramped and very dark, and not at all appealing. We upgraded to a one bedroom suite which was light and spacious, tho not exactly visually appealing. In fact, it had the same artwork (if you could call it that) as in the other rooms.

We did not eat in the restaurant tho did have two light lunches in the coffee shop, both of which were reasonably good.

The staff at the front desk is mediocre at best, and not particularly warm and inviting.

Upon check-out we asked for an hour extension from their 11AM stated policy. No go. We had to be out by 11:30, only to find that we had to wait a 1/2 hour to get our car from valet (for which we had to pay $20 per day). Why decline a check-out on a sunday when the hotel isn't full, only to make you wait an inordinate time for your car! What a bad last impression that left us with!

This could be a great hotel, but it's not. Too bad....

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DebbieWPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2009

I definitely splurged on this hotel, but it was worth every single penny! Everything about it is gorgeous! The outside courtyard, the lobby, the restaurant, the pool, and the rooms are so comfortable! I had a room with a courtyard view so the first thing I saw when I woke up was the center of Historic St. Augustine! The staff was fast, friendly, and extremely helpful. I was surprised by the valet parking fee, but now I’m glad they valet the cars because everything is in walking distance from the hotel and I didn’t have to worry about driving! Finally, you have to eat at the 95 Cordova restaurant located inside the lobby. The food is beyond delicious!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Theniffny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2009

I was a little nervous after reading some Trip Advisor reviews, but I absolutely loved this hotel. I had a FABULOUS three-night getaway with friends during the month of July 2009. The location is fantastic and in walking distance to everything. It's really close to some fun nightspots... Cellar 6, A1A and Tradewinds. The staff was amazing. Probably one of the friendliest hotels that I've ever been to... Derek (AKA Buddy Holly), Shaun, Matt, Brandon, Kieth, Adam and Darryl. Everyone was so nice and helpful. We were warmly greeted by the Valet and check-in desk when we arrived. We stayed in a Deluxe Room on the third floor with 2 queen beds. The room was very clean, and we had a nice view overlooking the pool. The decor was beautiful and elegant. It had character. With 3 girls sharing the room and bathroom, we had more than enough space. It was comfortable. Trust me, we can be a bit high maintenance :) We requested robes and lots of towels, and housekeeping was always accomodating. The front desk made great recommendations for restaurants and nightlife, and Derek even ordered us extra cheesy pizza early in the morning. We spent a whole day at the Serenata Beach Club. We had a wonderful time. It was really nice. A shuttle (actually a sports utility vehicle) leaves at 11:00 and comes back at 4:00. You can drive there as well. There was an adults only pool upstairs overlooking the ocean where we stayed. There was also a great family pool on the first floor. The club had locker rooms, a bar, restaurant and fitness center. There wasn't pool service, but really it wasn't a big deal. It was a short walk to get pina coladas, and there was a nice, covered seating area to get out of the sun. We had lunch there, and it was really good... crabcakes, Ahi Tuna, and quesadillas. On Saturday, the bar had live music. It was more crowded than the other nights and had a good atmosphere. On Sunday, we went to the hotel brunch. It was 19.99 and included an omelette station, waffle station, carving station, crablegs, shrimp, and the basic breakfast and brunch items. It was a bit crowded, but a nice setting. Overall, we had a fantastic experience. It really is the nicest hotel in Saint Augustine, and it has the "flavor" of the old city, so it's not a "standard" hotel. Thank you to everyone at Casa Monica for making our stay so much fun!

Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
4  Thank SunDollyOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2009

My wife and I are frequent leisure travelers and this year spent our 32'nd anniversary at the Casa Monica where we booked a "Premium" room. This hotel is part of the Kessler Hotel group, which includes some very fine, upscale hotels. Casa Monica is the dead weight of the bunch.

• The photograph that accompanies the room description on the hotels web site is misleading and not representative of the room I booked and paid for.

• Our "Premium" room was of moderate size and lacked a closet. The hotel has placed a large armoire in the room. I understand that this is an historic property and that closets were not a standard fixture in the era of its construction. However, at 6'3" and almost 30 inches wide at the shoulders the size and location of the armoire directly across from the foot of the bed precluded me from being able to walk from one side of the room to the other. I had to turn sideways to cross the room. I resorted to moving the bed several inches back toward the wall. It helped somewhat, but the room is still much too cramped for its current configuration and most folks would not be able to move the large wrought iron bed frame.

• The television is also located in the armoire on a shelf that does not extend and therefore is not visible from the “sitting area” in the room. One cannot sit on the foot of the bed to watch television because of the bed frame and the nearness of the screen. The television can only be viewed while in bed.

• The poor quality of the curtain hardware and the general disrepair of the fabrics did not allow for closure of the shears during the day or the black out curtains at night. The drapes were falling off the curtain rods and I had to stand on the room chair to re-hang several hooks. I resorted to using binder clips to close the draperies.

• There was paper trash on the floor under the writing table from a previous guest.

This place gets a thumbs up for it's location, but a thumbs down for the quality of the room. One plus is the hotels complimentary beach club, a 20 minute drive from the hotel itself. In room internet access is via a phone jack (9600 antique phone line). There is Wi-Fi available in the Starbucks in the lobby, although there are only a couple of very small tables. Twenty dollar a day valet parking is via an uncovered, unsecured lot behind the hospital.

When we return to St. Augustine in the cooler months, we will definitely stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2009

Traveled to St. Augustine for business conference/vacation with family. The hotel was outstanding. The rooms were large, clean, and very comfortable. The hotel is in a historic building, but has been modernized very well. The location can't be beat. You are within walking distance of all things in historic downtown St. Augustine. We didn't need our car all week. We didn't try the hotel restaurant, which seemed a bit upscale for my small children. There is a coffee shop on the first floor and dozens of restaurants within walking distance. One of the best things about this hotel is the complementary use of a local beach club. The beach club had a private beach and very nice pools, one pool for adults only. Overall we enjoyed our stay very much, and the staff was excellent and always willing to assist; making sure our stay was great.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sheacj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2009

We bid on a room through priceline and got a reservation for a "European Room". The room was about the size of most American rooms, with a king bed and 4 star furnishing, just what we expected. We had done our research before bidding and knew there would be a $14 resort charge and $25 parking, and bid accordingly. We did not park at the hotel, just a block away on the street, which was fine. The staff was very friendly and the hotel was in nice shape.

The town however is undergoing construction and has many vacant businesses due to the economy. The Bridge of Lions is about completely torn down and being rebuilt, and there is a temporary bridge. The streets and walkways are blocked of in a few areas, so we wish we had known this before we went so we could have seen the town at a latter date when it looked nicer.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank earthtravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.3 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
0.2 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Collector - Luxury Inn & Gardens
1.9 mi away
Southern Oaks Inn
Southern Oaks Inn
#10 of 79 in St. Augustine
1,483 reviews
0.7 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Sebastian St Augustine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection

Address: 95 Cordova St, St. Augustine, FL 32084-4424 (Formerly Casa Monica, Autograph Collection)
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in St. Augustine
#9 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
#13 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range: £156 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Monica, Autograph Collection Hotel Saint Augustine
Casa Monica Saint Augustine
Casa Monica St Augustine
Hotel Casa Monica
Casa Monica Hotel
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing