We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not A Bad Stay At All”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St Augustine Hotel & Suites
Ranked #62 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Reviewed 15 May 2012

My close friend and I went up to the Northeast Section of the State in order to attend The Player's Championship. We were looking for a hotel close enough to the venue to allow us to sleep late but far enough away that we would not be charged an arm and a leg to stay. We settled on the Comfort Suites, World Golf Village.

First the good...
This place is in an ideal location. It is easy to get in and out of, has rapid access to the Interstate, and is visible from the Interstate so it would be really hard to miss it and end up lost.
The staff (namely Shannon) was extremely friendly - very welcoming when we checked in. Check-in was fast and simple and within 10 minutes of driving up to the property we were in our room.
Our room, on the top floor, was spacious and clean. There was always a good re-stock of linens and soaps throughout our stay and the beds were quite comfortable. The room was also quiet, as was the whole floor, which was probably not the case on lower floors as there was a convention of 10 year olds who arrived our second night and stayed down on the third floor. I overheard guest from that floor saying how loud those kids were - thankfully we were above all of that noise.
The breakfast, which is included, was good but not great. But there was plenty of food and staff members were always around to re-stock when things ran low.
The pool area was nice and quiet - not a lot of people using it.
The onsite bar was wonderful. Ask Sarah for her world famous "Fruit Punch". You won't regret it.

And then there was some bad things....
The A/C in the room had a hard time keeping up and, even though it was set on 60 degrees, it went off several times and the room never really seemed completely chilled down.
The water pressure, for whatever reason, was inconsistent. It was nice and hot but it would trickle out one moment and hit you hard in the face the next.
The TV remote had to be pointed just the right way to work - not a big deal at all but I am trying to give you a true heads up as to what you can expect if you opt to stay here.
The prices in the "store" were up there a little. Again not that big of a deal because you don't have to buy anything unless you want to. But just go in knowing that it will be close to $10 for a soda and a snack if you do opt to buy anything from there.
There are no restaurants within walking distance. Plan on getting in the car to get dinner. Or ordering something for delivery.

The summary....
The big question is "Would you stay there again?" The answer is absolutely and without hesitation, YES. The problems we had were small when compared to the overall value and cleanliness of the property. When added to the convenient location, this is the place I will stay when I head back up to the Jax-St. Augustine area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor - no noise above you!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JWils0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (305)
There are newer reviews for St Augustine Hotel & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

Just stayed here for a series of regional church meetings. The room I shared with a colleague was large and had 2 queen beds. As with all Comfort Suites, the term "Suite" is misleading as there is a half wall between the "living room" area with a couch and the "bedroom" where the two beds were. Still, it's larger than most budget hotel/motel rooms, well furnished with refrigerator and microwave and the beds were comfortable.

The lobby is nice and there is a gift shop with a freezer with microwave meals. This is the first Comfort Suites I've seen with a bar on premises. There are a couple of nice gazebos out back overlooking the lake. The staff was friendly and accommodating.

The breakfast was okay with several choices. The omelet I had was lukewarm, but better than I've had at some places. There was also ham, biscuits & gravy and make your own waffles in addition to the normal assortment of cold cereal and yogurt.

All in all it was a good value for the area with the group rate we had for our meetings and I'd definitely consider going back should my travels take me there.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OPCinOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Our company held an Executive Team Meeting at the Comfort Suites. The management team work diligently to meet all of our needs. The meeting space with very comfortable as well as the accommodation for the executive team. The staff was helpful and polite. The new management at the Comfort Suites made the overall experience for our company a success.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deidre G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Stayed here on out return trip from Cape Canaveral and motels at exit 318 were booked or too expensive. This location is the next exit North at 323. Used FL coupon rate that Jeremy at the front desk honored. Nice location tucked back off I-95 and motel was not that crowded. A little far if wanting to see St Augustine but much better location that some of the motels off exit 318. Nice indoor heated pool; nice outdoor heated spa and outdoor pool. Beautiful grounds with lake covered umbrella patios to eat the hot breakfast. Front desk was very helpful with St Augustine tourist information and beach recommendations. Would definitely stay here again our out next trip through the St Augustine area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeeDeeDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

The Comfort Suite was booked thru Tee Time USA, that part went great. As for the hotel, it's not actually in the World Golf Village, it's down the street. We arrived and checked it, the front desk personnel were less than professional in appearance, only the first floor has wifi, no hot water and the toilet sounded like someone was dieing when flushed. Definitely a no frill place and not worth the money charged, it's about a $50.00 a night room. Will be moving to the Marriott at the World Golf Village tomorrow.

Room Tip: If you have a tablet or other device that requires wifi ask for the first floor or your out of luck.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kforbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We stayed in the suite on the sixth floor and it was very nice and more importantly...... It was clean! Even
Behind the couch was clean! :)

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boo358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

While admittedly not a big fan of Comfort Suites, this one did not stack up to other Comfort Suites locations, let alone any of their competitors.

If you happen to arrive at night it is clear that the hotel is not well cared for as there are lights out in the huge name on both sides of the hotel. You would think keeping the huge sign that you can see from the highway properly lit would be priority, but it isn't. The same can be said for the cleanliness of the room, which was very stuffy and smelled as though at one point it was a smoking room, or there was mildew in there. Not welcoming at all.

There were stains on the carpet and the small dressing stool that was against a wall. The carpet I can understand being stained in an older hotel, but a non-essential piece of furniture with a stain on it I would think would be cleaned or removed from the room.

I got in late and left the next day so it was a very short stay, but this was one where there was no way I was going barefoot anywhere inside, and the comforter on the bed went on the floor as soon as I got into the room.

Pros:
Continental Breakfast

Cons:
No dining in the hotel or in close proximity
Lack of cleanliness
Stuffy smelling room
Not very close to St. Augustine attractions

I will definitely stay elsewhere when visiting St. Augustine in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
5.6 mi away
Smart Stay Inn of St. Augustine
Smart Stay Inn of St. Augustine
#44 of 78 in St. Augustine
31 reviews
5.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Augustine
5.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#22 of 78 in St. Augustine
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Southern Oaks Inn
Southern Oaks Inn
#11 of 78 in St. Augustine
1,307 reviews
5.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine
Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine
#17 of 78 in St. Augustine
838 reviews
10.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Augustine Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Augustine Hotel & Suites

Address: 475 Commerce Lake Dr, St. Augustine, FL 32095-8869 (Formerly Comfort Suites)
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range: £69 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — St Augustine Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
162 room interior corridor hotel nestled on a private lake in the World Golf Village area. We have an outdoor pool and two Gazebo's that overlook Lake Commerce in the World Golf Village area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your St Augustine Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites At The World Golf Village Hotel Saint Augustine
Comfort Suites Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Comfort Suites
St Augustine Hotel & Suites St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing