We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel Stay Ever”
Review of Southern Oaks Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southern Oaks Inn
Ranked #10 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Williamson
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Hotel Stay Ever”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I wandered upon this hotel by accident. I am so glad I did. The entire staff are so incredibly nice and so caring and helpful. This is a 100% Pet Friendly Hotel as I was told when I arrived. They offer to walk your dogs for you while you are out site seeing, check on them if you want them to, help unpack your car if you need help, they even got my daughter hot chocolate for breakfast because she asked if they had any. They have a great continental breakfast every day. It saves you a fortune if you take advantage of it. I was told that is what Hospitality is. Asked for towel's; got them. Asked for extra garbage bags, no problem. The room was amazing. Brand new. New wood floors. No nasty carpet to worry about. The most comfortable bed I have ever slept in and great pillow's too. New furniture throughout. And a great pool too. For the pet owner's though; my dog hurt herself so I thought. Comes to find out, she burned her pads on her feet on the hot blacktop and they blistered and popped so wherever you stay in Florida, don't walk them on the hot blacktop. This was the most accommodating and comfortable motel stay I have ever had. I highly recommend this hotel to people who like a clean and friendly place to stay.

Room Tip: There is a train at night nearby and stop and go traffic due to a traffic light so try to get a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    683
    366
    141
    31
    13
See reviews for
443
550
32
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farmingville, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Our great experience started with my introduction to Cassie. She works at a sister property that they take care of and directed me here when her hotel was all booked. She went above and beyond. Once we arrived at the property we were very happy. We were booked at a place on St Augustine beach that was just horrible and we had to leave. This place took us in with open arms. Only open for 9 days the place is immaculate. Beautiful rooms, comfortable beds, hot showers, refrigerator, microwave, flat screen tv, towels for the beautiful pool. The staff that runs this place was truly amazing. They went way above and beyond to assist you with any of your needs. Truly a wonderful experience. We will definitely go back. Walking distance to downtown St Augustine. Best of luck to Dylan & Kevin and all of you there. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catjb19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Place was newly renovated - incredible transformation. Husband and I were looking for a quiet getaway and this was perfect. Room was large and nicely finished. Beds and linens are new and comfortable. Pool was nicely refinished and perfect temp. Had microwave and fridge which was great since it was so hot out to keep water in. I am very picky about hotels and usually won't stay anywhere but the Hilton-type chains but this was awesome! We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvdabeach2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Augustine, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Our family stayed @ the newly completely re-modeled Southern Oaks Inn for the 4th of July celebration so we could walk to watch the fireworks downtown and not get stuck in traffic for an hour! Everything was perfect! These rooms are completely re-done.... brand new hard wood floors, new HD Toshiba flat screen on the wall, brand new furniture, and the mattresses also brand new and the MOST comfortable ever for my bad back! When everything is new, there is no other choice.
The Lobby is just as beautiful, and the staff had gone all out for the celebration and had food galore for anyone who wanted to grab a bite before the fireworks, and you feel like your at "home" and that is what staying in a motel/hotel is all about....being as comfortable as you would be in your own home. All of the guests mingled, doors open friendly conversation, good company and kids splashing round in the oversized pool. It was great! The price was more than fair for this area , I checked around. It was a no brainer to stay in a new room, with coffee and bagels waiting for you in the dining area in the morning, compliments of the friendly staff. Decided to make another night of it, and I know where we will stay next time we want to visit Historic Downtown... Southern Oaks Inn!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Jaybird's Inn
Jaybird's Inn
#13 of 78 in St. Augustine
1,084 reviews
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Saint Augustine North
5.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine
Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine
#16 of 78 in St. Augustine
810 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#11 of 78 in St. Augustine
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Oaks Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Oaks Inn

Property: Southern Oaks Inn
Address: 2800 N Ponce de Leon Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32084-1649
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in St. Augustine
#10 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
#15 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Southern Oaks Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at the northern entrance to historic Saint Augustine, Southern Oaks Inn is welcoming guests to the newly renovated and redesigned hotel. Spacious guest rooms offer comfortable queen or king beds and new furnishings. Relax by the pool, enjoy the complimentary, full hot breakfast in the spacious dining area, and visit our concierge to discover all there is to see and do in this beautiful city. Restaurants and shopping are close by, and the boarding station for the downtown trolley service is just across the street. The Inn is pet friendly, as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Southern Oaks Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Augustine Rodeway Inn
Southern Oaks Inn St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing