We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very surprising and enjoyable experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Southern Oaks Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southern Oaks Inn
Ranked #10 of 79 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
valdosta ga
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very surprising and enjoyable experience.”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

From the moment I walked in the lobby I was treated like a member of the family.I actually stopped in by mistake but after I met the staff I decided to stay for the night.the rooms were very very clean , bright and fresh .the absence of carpet and comforter are both huge pluses in my book.I will be staying there whenever I'm in the area. Michael Mc. Valdosta Ga

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcclellanairpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabhadmin, Owner at Southern Oaks Inn, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you very much for the kind words. We look forward to having you again as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    589
    341
    133
    30
    12
See reviews for
393
489
28
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida, Usa
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Staff was very friendly, rooms were very nicely remodeled and it was a short distance from everything. Would definitely recommend this hotel and will be back. Thanks for a great stay! The owner's daughter even greets you with goodies and there's a pet squirrel in the lobby... kind of awesome.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hailey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabhadmin, Owner at Southern Oaks Inn, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Haily M.

It is very good to hear that you “would definitely recommend” the Southern Oaks Inn to others. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed here during the Mumford & Sons concert. Quite the fiasco, I must say when it came to lodging. But I had the luck of being in their mailing list from an April 2013 stay at Beach House. I was happy for the following reasons:
1. It was clean, granted I think we were the first to stay in the room but the place in/out/around the Inn was kept neat and clean.
2. Genuine niceness from the staff. Sometimes I couldn't tell who were the staff or the guests - but it was low key down to Earth kind of place. I think if I had insinuated the I wanted more service they would have been available. But for the most part I didn't get constant attention -- which is really nice a lot of times you know? Letting you relax but being readily available when you need them? That's perfect.
3. Free breakfast! Yummo! I didn't expect this, but that was nice. At the time of my visit they were not serving eggs or meat - but it's an inn, and I think folks need to be fair on their expectations.
4. Price. Even though there were awful hotels going for stupid expensive priced that looks like it was waiting to get broken into, Southern Oaks offered a very affordable pricing which tells you the kind of folks they are - in the midst of the Mumford & Sons frenzy, rooms were going for a lot more in some areas - with questionable sanitation - but I super lucked in on this.

Overall I think this place was great. Location might be an issue for some but it's a quick and easy ride if one can't walk (20 mins) or bike (<5 mins).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Tess V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabhadmin, Manager at Southern Oaks Inn, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Tess V

Thank you for the many compliments. We are a family run business and always try to make our guests experience a good one. We agree that we need to bring up our breakfast. We are in the process of getting licensed to do just that. I hope we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed here last weekend and it was very nice and clean . The hotel is newly renovated and very clean. It is very dog friendly which we appreciated . It was quiet too.My only complaint was that I felt it needed a shelf in the bathroom area to put your personal stuff on. The free breakfast was a little sparse but for just reopening a few months ago I thought it was very nice.Beds were really comfortable too. I would and am planning to go back to St Augustine in the near future and will probably stay here again. It is about a mile out of the city center but an easy short ride .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancyI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabhadmin, Owner at Southern Oaks Inn, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Nancy L

Thank you for staying with us and for the kind words. Please note that we are in the process of upgrading our breakfast. We are also planning to install additional counter space in our bathroom. I hope we see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I had a great time staying at this hotel -- it has just been renovated so the rooms are brand new and SUPER CLEAN!!! Not one bug, which cannot be said about many of the hotels in downtown St. Augustine. Great location, within walking distance of many attractions. Pet friendly too, which was a huge plus for us, not to mention the pet fee was less than the price of any boarding facility around. The crew was very friendly and enjoyable throughout our stay. I would DEFINITELY recommend this to anyone traveling to St. Augustine!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brooke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabhadmin, Owner at Southern Oaks Inn, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Brooke W

Thank you for saying that you would “DEFINITELY recommend” us to anyone coming to St Augustine and for staying at the Southern Oaks Inn. I am glad you brought your dog with you to enjoy all that St Augustine has to offer for both people and pets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Live Oak, Florida, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed for two nights in this newly renovated hotel. All new and fresh paint, furnishings, and hard wood floors. Operated by Americans who speak English. Friendly staff always ready to assist you with anything you need. Convenient to all attractions, Red train and trolley stations nearby. Would definitely recommend to anyone wanting to go to St. Augustine...We will be going back, no need to look for other accommedations.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alznurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburndale, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This is a great little hotel. The rooms were newly renovated and very clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It is located fairly close the the old town and fort, maybe a little too far to walk but only a few minutes drive. Yes, the hotel is still in the middle of renovating additional rooms, but this did not lower my view of the hotel at all.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Jaybird's Inn
Jaybird's Inn
#11 of 79 in St. Augustine
1,038 reviews
6.4 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
830 reviews
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine
Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine
#14 of 79 in St. Augustine
768 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
5.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN St. Augustine Beach Inn
BEST WESTERN St. Augustine Beach...
#3 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Oaks Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Oaks Inn

Property: Southern Oaks Inn
Address: 2800 N Ponce de Leon Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32084-1649
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in St. Augustine
#5 Best Value Hotel in St. Augustine
#10 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
#15 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Southern Oaks Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at the northern entrance to historic Saint Augustine, Southern Oaks Inn is welcoming guests to the newly renovated and redesigned hotel. Spacious guest rooms offer comfortable queen or king beds and new furnishings. Relax by the pool, enjoy the complimentary, full hot breakfast in the spacious dining area, and visit our concierge to discover all there is to see and do in this beautiful city. Restaurants and shopping are close by, and the boarding station for the downtown trolley service is just across the street. The Inn is pet friendly, as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Oaks Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Augustine Rodeway Inn
Southern Oaks Inn St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing