We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pub Crawl”
Review of Southern Oaks Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Southern Oaks Inn
Ranked #11 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Callahan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pub Crawl”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

A lot of re-modeling going on, only reason I didn't rate them a 5
Entire Staff was very friendly and helpful
Room was spacious, comfortable and clean
We had a GREAT time and will return...maybe with our pup Skipper.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    709
    374
    145
    32
    14
See reviews for
468
560
32
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stuart, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Was looking for a conveniently located, pet-friendly hotel in St. Augustine during Christmas week, and that's what this hotel is all about. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was very clean. The hardwood floors don't lie. An older property that's being re-modeled. The building we were in was completed, so no construction noise. But, as parking is right outside your door, there was some noise from inconsiderate guests returning at 1 AM. Hotel is close to old downtown area, but not in walking distance. There are trollies that will take you there and back, and I can recommend the one across the street from the hotel. Half the price of the competition. Traffic downtown was miserable, so think twice before driving there if a holiday weekend. The only disappointments were the noisy parking lot, and the limited breakfast offered (free). Pasteries, cereal, juice & beverages. No cooked breakfast available, but the price was right.

Room Tip: The further back, the quieter it will be. First floor was very convenient with my small dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I was told I would be given a room in the new building and that the new building was going to be made for people traveling without pets. I was not given a room in the new building. The housekeeping staff did not remove garbage the next morning (we were there three nights), and while I understand the need for conservation, my son had left a milk carton in the trash can. Yuck - we had been gone all day so that milk should have been removed. A simple check should have been a cue that, hey, there's milk in that trash can, and it needs to go bye-bye. But the sink hadn't even been wiped out, and I know because a hair that was there that morning was there when we returned.
I had picked this place because the price was reasonable for the holiday season, it had wood floors which cuts down on our allergies, and it was still fairly close to town. AND I was told I would be put in a room in the new building. The shams had dog hair on them, and the first morning, my eyes were swollen, so I kept putting them on the chair. The beds were okay, the tub was brand new (a plus).
We had to request extra towels as well as a blanket because it was cold during our visit.
Like I said, it was just okay, but there are other places I will consider next time. It wasn't awful, but since I'm not traveling with animals, I'll leave it for those who are.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TwoWheelsOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centreville, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

We were a little nervous when we first booked by reading the reviews with the construction going on. We have 2 kids 6 & 8 and this was a great place to stay!!
First off, the staff bends over backwards to make sure you have everything you need and are super nice!
The rooms are spotless with new wood floors which I happen to like because they are much cleaner than rugs!!
The craft time for the kids in the morning was as much fun for them as it was for me and we came home with great souvenir's from St. Augustine that we made and it is all included in the price of the room.
Would definitely stay again!!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marcia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The room was large, the beds ok and the wood floor is nice. BUT: toilet seat was broken, there was only one side table and one lamp in between the 2 beds, a single bar of soap, a tissue box with very few tissues, no glasses or cups at all(there is a coffee maker but without glasses, we could not use it), no blankets (just a very thin comforter and the temperature was in the 50's). When we asked for blankets, we got two wool blankets that had a horrible smell and could not be used. Also, there is no elevator. The personnel seemed nice. Lobby was closed at night.
The hotel seems in the process of renovation, but till this renovation is completed, I definitely do NOT recommend this hotel. We woke up at 5am and could not leave this place fast enough.The price is much too high for what you get.

Room Tip: Check the room very carefully. There are many hotels in the area for better value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oradanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We took an impromptu road trip, and on the way found this hotel online. It didn't have many reviews, but the ones there were seemed positive. Upon arriving we were greeted by the staff who were very accommodating and knowledgeable about the attractions in St. Augustine. The rooms were very clean, with wood floors and granite counter tops in the bathroom. The shower was nice and hot. There were plenty of towels. There was only one, thin comforter on the bed, but I think a sweater/extra blanket or cranking up the heater would have helped. Breakfast was very light, but lasted until 11, unlike many hotels that end at 9. The drive to the historic section was easy and short. It is also close to some local eateries that we enjoyed.

Overall, it was great and we will be sure to stay there again. It is more than worth the price.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ah05d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

This place is still being renovated. They are very dog friendly, even have a dog run where you can let your dog get some off leash time. About a 1.5 mile walk from the historic area. Also a quick drive from a dog friendly beach. Only complaint is that the comforter was too thin.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandres12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Jaybird's Inn
Jaybird's Inn
#15 of 78 in St. Augustine
1,098 reviews
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Saint Augustine North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic
5.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine
Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine
#17 of 78 in St. Augustine
823 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#12 of 78 in St. Augustine
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Oaks Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Oaks Inn

Property: Southern Oaks Inn
Address: 2800 N Ponce de Leon Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32084-1649
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St. Augustine
#4 Best Value Hotel in St. Augustine
#10 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
#15 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Southern Oaks Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at the northern entrance to historic Saint Augustine, Southern Oaks Inn is welcoming guests to the newly renovated and redesigned hotel. Spacious guest rooms offer comfortable queen or king beds and new furnishings. Relax by the pool, enjoy the complimentary, full hot breakfast in the spacious dining area, and visit our concierge to discover all there is to see and do in this beautiful city. Restaurants and shopping are close by, and the boarding station for the downtown trolley service is just across the street. The Inn is pet friendly, as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Southern Oaks Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Augustine Rodeway Inn
Southern Oaks Inn St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing