We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a try”
Review of Southern Oaks Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southern Oaks Inn
Ranked #10 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stay here! The staff was among the friendliest I have met in many years. Southern hospitality - terrific.

The rooms are sharp, the flooring looks good, the bedding is adequate and comfortable, not bad. Very impressed on walking into the room for the first time.

They are working hard on a short-staff to finish renovations and so forth, the hotel was recently acquired in 2013, from what I understand.

My only recommendations are: 1) to conceal the cabling from the wall-mounted television - this can be done with 1" faux paneling/housing from a construction store. Does not need to dangle like that. 2) Clarify at what time guests should expect maid service by brochure or at check-in. Time of arrival was inconsistent and I want to ensure I'm not in the room so that it can be properly cleaned. One day they arrived around noon, another day around 4 P.M. and so forth. A D.N.D. card should be printed which indicates request for service on the reverse.

Overall, we were quite happy and would more than likely return. This is a fine hotel, only 1 Mi. from the district and around the corner from a fort attraction.

Room Tip: Ask for a window when maid service will visit so you can plan your departure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Estos_Nueces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,277 - 1,283 of 1,396 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

This is an older motel going through a major remodel. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Only 1 lamp, towels and toiletries were limited but just enough. Continental breakfast was also limited, but adequate. When we had a problem with noise outside of our room, the manager insisted we move to a nicer room. We found a gift and flowers in the room from the staff to apologize for our inconvenience - awesome!
The dog park/play area is fenced - much better than most other hotels. We would recommend this place if you can be tolerant of the ongoing construction. Find a coupon and get a great discount.

Room Tip: Avoid the area near the laundry room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeena20732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Great Access, Fine Accommodations & Wonderful Staff. Kevin was very thoughtful about the the early timing of our arrival. Reservations were quick & easy. Very nice rooms. Close to everything but away from the hubbub. Will be back again to try that gorgeous pool! Thanks again to the Staff for a great Christmas stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

CLEAN CLEAN CLEAN I can't say enough about it! Everything was just perfect! The staff was friendly and helpful. There was some construction going on but they started late enough that I was not disturbed (I can't answer for the rest)

Room Tip: Ask first if there is any construction going on and what time they will start.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

A lot of re-modeling going on, only reason I didn't rate them a 5
Entire Staff was very friendly and helpful
Room was spacious, comfortable and clean
We had a GREAT time and will return...maybe with our pup Skipper.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Was looking for a conveniently located, pet-friendly hotel in St. Augustine during Christmas week, and that's what this hotel is all about. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was very clean. The hardwood floors don't lie. An older property that's being re-modeled. The building we were in was completed, so no construction noise. But, as parking is right outside your door, there was some noise from inconsiderate guests returning at 1 AM. Hotel is close to old downtown area, but not in walking distance. There are trollies that will take you there and back, and I can recommend the one across the street from the hotel. Half the price of the competition. Traffic downtown was miserable, so think twice before driving there if a holiday weekend. The only disappointments were the noisy parking lot, and the limited breakfast offered (free). Pasteries, cereal, juice & beverages. No cooked breakfast available, but the price was right.

Room Tip: The further back, the quieter it will be. First floor was very convenient with my small dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I was told I would be given a room in the new building and that the new building was going to be made for people traveling without pets. I was not given a room in the new building. The housekeeping staff did not remove garbage the next morning (we were there three nights), and while I understand the need for conservation, my son had left a milk carton in the trash can. Yuck - we had been gone all day so that milk should have been removed. A simple check should have been a cue that, hey, there's milk in that trash can, and it needs to go bye-bye. But the sink hadn't even been wiped out, and I know because a hair that was there that morning was there when we returned.
I had picked this place because the price was reasonable for the holiday season, it had wood floors which cuts down on our allergies, and it was still fairly close to town. AND I was told I would be put in a room in the new building. The shams had dog hair on them, and the first morning, my eyes were swollen, so I kept putting them on the chair. The beds were okay, the tub was brand new (a plus).
We had to request extra towels as well as a blanket because it was cold during our visit.
Like I said, it was just okay, but there are other places I will consider next time. It wasn't awful, but since I'm not traveling with animals, I'll leave it for those who are.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank TwoWheelsOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach
1.9 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
2.1 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
0.1 mi away
Jaybird's Inn
Jaybird's Inn
#15 of 78 in St. Augustine
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Oaks Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Oaks Inn

Address: 2800 N Ponce de Leon Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32084-1649
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St. Augustine
#3 Best Value Hotel in St. Augustine
#10 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
#15 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range: £65 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Southern Oaks Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at the northern entrance to historic Saint Augustine, Southern Oaks Inn is welcoming guests to the newly renovated and redesigned hotel. Spacious guest rooms offer comfortable queen or king beds and new furnishings. Relax by the pool, enjoy the complimentary, full hot breakfast in the spacious dining area, and visit our concierge to discover all there is to see and do in this beautiful city. Restaurants and shopping are close by, and the boarding station for the downtown trolley service is just across the street. The Inn is pet friendly, as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Southern Oaks Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Augustine Rodeway Inn
Southern Oaks Inn St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing