We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely experience”
Review of Southern Oaks Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southern Oaks Inn
Ranked #11 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 27 July 2014

southern oaks inn is the most attentive hotel I have stayed. the room were very clean and the employees are above excellence. the area and location are very nice. we stayed three days and it was great at this hotel.

Room Tip: relax when staying at this hotel
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank henry p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabhadmin, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Oaks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

It's so good to know your stay with us was a 'lovely experience' and we thank you for your comments. Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip to Saint Augustine and please plan another visit very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,307)
There are newer reviews for Southern Oaks Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,120 - 1,126 of 1,307 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

My family of four stayed 5 nights at Southern Oaks and found it to be nice. Very convenient to the beaches and downtown. The room was small but clean. Laminate wood floors made it great coming back from the sand. The bathroom area was a bit tight, but we managed. The flat screen on the wall was nice. The pool area was beautiful and great fun. The breakfast was yummy with great care and variety. The grounds were immaculate and picturesque! The value was good.

Room Tip: Ground floor, no elevator, pet friendly.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabhadmin, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Oaks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Family vacations are so very special - we are happy you chose to spend yours here with us at Southern Oaks Inn and glad to hear everyone enjoyed the stay. Thank you for your very kind comments and we hope you and your family will visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

My wife booked this inn on booking.com. Pic do not lie. Very clean inn. Rooms were spacious and clean. Beds were very comfortable. Air conditioning was very quiet so we could sleep. Not a lot of noise either. Pool was huge. Even has dog park area. Manager was even gracious enough to recommend the best place to eat for seafood. Was the best place we ate during our stay. Inn was a little far from downtown, but you were there in 5 minutes. Also close to supermarket and pharmacy if need be. Again, outstanding stay. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabhadmin, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Oaks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

What a wonderful compliment - 'home away from home'! Your review is much appreciated and we will hope to welcome you back again soon. We'll do our best to make sure that you feel welcome and 'at home' during every visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Want to feel like you're special? This is the place for you. Location is fantastic. Can't stay much closer to historic Saint Augustine and just across the bridge from Vilano beach. Newly renovated motel (one part has not yet been completed) that includes an enclosed dog walk area, beautifully landscaped grounds, nice pool and the best free included breakfast you could hope for. Breakfast includes freshly prepared real scrambled eggs, "homemade" biscuits and sausage gravy, cheese grits, jalapeno squares, hashbrowns, french toast and lots more. You can even take your breakfast outside to enjoy with your pets at the tables provided. Rooms are decent size with laminate floors (so much cleaner than carpet). Nice size pool and very clean. Entire staff is awesome and the same family as the Saint Augustine Beach House. They have a culture of enjoying serving the guests, not just because they have to. If you see Carrey, ask her for a sample of datil pepper fudge. Can't wait for it to be offered for retail sale. Don't let the very reasonable price make you hesitate. It's a bargain rate with 5 star service. I will definitely return.

Room Tip: No elevator, so first floor is a good choice and you don't hear the guests above.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Randy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabhadmin, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Oaks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

You ARE special to all of us here at Southern Oaks Inn! Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful comments - our entire staff appreciates the kind words. We will make sure to keep the breakfast menu creative - and the datil pepper fudge will be waiting for you next time you visit! We'll be looking forward to your next visit and will try to make sure you always feel like a VIP when you stay with us. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The stay was very pleasant. The staff courteous. The room was very clean, especially the floors. There's a fridge and a microwave included. The included country breakfast was very good (eggs, sausages, bagels, bacon, French toast, etc.). There hotel is fairly close to where the action is. The building looks old, but once you get into the room you realize it has been renovated.

Thank Aliette V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at Southern Oaks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

We very much appreciate your comments and are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit - and the country breakfast! We hope you found the newly designed rooms warm and inviting and that you will be planning another stay for the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

This motel is in a great location, not to far from Old Town. The staff is friendly from the from desk to the chef and housekeeping. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable, and you can't beat the free hot breakfast! This is a pet friendly motel, hence the wood floors. We don't have pets, so I'm sure I would have noticed any pets odors... Not a trace. Clean, quiet, comfortable.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Sherri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabhadmin, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Oaks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

'Clean, quiet and comfortable' are words we love to hear! Thank you for sharing your comments which we will pass along to our very hard working housekeeping and maintenance staff!! Our country breakfast is an important part of our 'Southern Oaks' hospitality and we're happy to know you enjoyed it - we'll be waiting to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

This the best of the less expensive motels. It's clean, tastefully decorated, conveniently located and run by what seems to be a lovely local family. They are very helpful and pleasant and the breakfast is actually a full delicious meal. This our go to spot to stay in St Augustine's when we don't want to blow the bank. Highly recommend.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Molly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Jaybird's Inn
Jaybird's Inn
#15 of 78 in St. Augustine
1,113 reviews
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
2.0 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Sebastian St Augustine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine
Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine
#17 of 78 in St. Augustine
838 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Saint Augustine North
2.1 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Oaks Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Oaks Inn

Address: 2800 N Ponce de Leon Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32084-1649
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St. Augustine
#2 Best Value Hotel in St. Augustine
#10 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
#15 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range: £57 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Southern Oaks Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at the northern entrance to historic Saint Augustine, Southern Oaks Inn is welcoming guests to the newly renovated and redesigned hotel. Spacious guest rooms offer comfortable queen or king beds and new furnishings. Relax by the pool, enjoy the complimentary, full hot breakfast in the spacious dining area, and visit our concierge to discover all there is to see and do in this beautiful city. Restaurants and shopping are close by, and the boarding station for the downtown trolley service is just across the street. The Inn is pet friendly, as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Southern Oaks Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Augustine Rodeway Inn
Southern Oaks Inn St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing