We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southern Oaks Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Southern Oaks Inn
Ranked #9 of 79 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Riverview
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

The staff was friendly and courteous. The rooms were clean and nicer than most hotels. The breakfast was delicious and fresh. Nicely kept grounds. Cute dog park area. Good value and a great place to stay overall. We'd definitely recommend it!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CStevenson629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabhadmin, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Oaks Inn, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
We thank you very much for your kind comments - and for your recommendation! We hope you will be returning to stay with us next time you visit Saint Augustine and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    330
    130
    30
    11
See reviews for
376
478
25
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
112 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Tried this newly refurbished hotel this weekend and was very pleased. Clean and comfortable rooms with simple furnishings and wood floors. Very dog friendly with a fenced in play yard(even thought of double gated entrance for dog safety), treats at the office desk, dog friendly staff, and even a few tables outside the breakfast area(thought we would have to take turns eating-so considerate!). And, speaking of breakfast, it is excellent. A full, freshly made assortment of goodies. Don't miss the cheese grits, hash browns, and biscuits. Nothing like the usual "breakfast included" fare. Staff if friendly, helpful, and knowledgable. Back side hotel renovation still a work in progress, but does not distract from the stay. We will return next time we are in the area with our dog, and would be more inclined to bring him after discovering Southern Oaks.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back would be a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabhadmin, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Oaks Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
We're very glad you and your pet 'discovered' Southern Oaks Inn! It has been our goal to provide a safe and comfortable stay for guests who bring along pets - so it is good to hear you enjoyed your visit and plan to return. The breakfast team is quite creative, and I'm sure there will always be new menu items to discover when you visit. Thank you for sharing your comments and we will look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

This is exactly what we hoped to find in a last minute stay. Very reasonably priced. Love the new wood floors and room decor. Very clean and comfortable. The full breakfast buffet was delicious. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hayvanaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabhadmin, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Oaks Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
"We will be back" is always the best review we can receive! Thank you so much for your very kind comments and we will be looking forward to seeing you again very soon. Breakfast will always be ready and waiting in the morning!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

This spot looks from the outside like any other "days inn" type..but dont let that deter you..I must say the rooms were quaint and very nicely appointed. The property was very clean. The staff was very welcoming and nice during our stay. Plus they have a full breakfast in the morning. It was located 5 mind away from all the historic attractions and the downtown. I would definitely stay again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Derik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabhadmin, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Oaks Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
We're happy you did choose to stay with us and appreciate your wonderful review. We do believe that our spacious rooms, great location, and of course - amazing breakfast - add up to a really good value! We will be looking forward to welcoming you back and hope you will choose Southern Oaks Inn every time you visit Saint Augustine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

This was are first time using this hotel. We were very pleased, The front desk staff was very pleasant, they recommended some great places to eat. The room was very clean and the A/C was very cold. We traveled with our Rottweiler and never once did he think he was hot even thought the outside temp was 107. Love that the floors were hard wood, The Country Breakfast was great. Definitely plenty of food to choose from. We used the pool and found everything there to be clean. The dog yard was a nice size for the dogs to run around.Grass was short and in good condition. Definitely will be returning.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabhadmin, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Oaks Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
We are so glad you chose to stay with us and to know that your first visit with us was such a good experience. We will continue to work hard to make sure you enjoy every visit and do hope there will be many to come. Be sure to bring your dog along - pets are always welcome! Thank you for your very kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerfield, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Booked this motel based on other reviews. We were not disappointed. We were traveling with 2 large dogs which makes it difficult to find lodging. The enclosed doggy area was great. We were all made to feel very welcome. The staff at the front desk were so friendly and accommodating. The room was spotless. The free hot breakfast was very good, with so much to choose from. We are planning a return visit real soon!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kathy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabhadmin, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Oaks Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
We are so glad that you - and your pets - enjoyed your stay with us here at Southern Oaks Inn. Thank you so much for your wonderful comments - and we will look forward to welcoming all of you back for your next visit! Hope it is very soon... Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Bay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

The front desk crew was so friendly. The breakfast was amazing home cooked food! A great way to start your day. The entire staff was very accommodating. Perfect pet friendly hotel! Loved the doggy area! Will come back to this hotel next time I travel to St Augustine!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jthrasher86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabhadmin, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Oaks Inn, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
We love the word 'wonderful' - and the words 'will be back'!! Thank you for your very kind comments and we are truly happy that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Southern Oaks. We'll be looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Jaybird's Inn
Jaybird's Inn
#12 of 79 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
6.3 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN St. Augustine Beach Inn
BEST WESTERN St. Augustine Beach...
#3 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
5.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine
Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine
#14 of 79 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Oaks Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Oaks Inn

Property: Southern Oaks Inn
Address: 2800 N Ponce de Leon Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32084-1649
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St. Augustine
#4 Best Value Hotel in St. Augustine
#10 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
#15 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Southern Oaks Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at the northern entrance to historic Saint Augustine, Southern Oaks Inn is welcoming guests to the newly renovated and redesigned hotel. Spacious guest rooms offer comfortable queen or king beds and new furnishings. Relax by the pool, enjoy the complimentary, full hot breakfast in the spacious dining area, and visit our concierge to discover all there is to see and do in this beautiful city. Restaurants and shopping are close by, and the boarding station for the downtown trolley service is just across the street. The Inn is pet friendly, as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Southern Oaks Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Augustine Rodeway Inn
Southern Oaks Inn St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing