We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not so bad, will stay again” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL
Ranked #56 of 79 Hotels in St. Augustine
Savannah
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not so bad, will stay again”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

Was realy not that bad, continental breakfast didn't have a very big seletaion , and very small, Room needs upgrading bad but was very clean , will stay again ! We had 2 rooms in the back and it was nice and and away from the nosie

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gafffremd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hojo_Manager1235, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Guest:
Thank your for choosing Howard Johnson Inn for your stay. We at Hojo St. Augustine, appreciate your time and input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    370
    333
    173
    181
See reviews for
461
519
41
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

This is a nice place to stay if you are not to fussy about cleanliness. The hotel is very worn, with a lot of rust and stains in the rooms and bathrooms. But it feels rather well cleaned by the maids. The lokation is ok, even if it takes 15 minutes to walk to the old town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back part. Closest to the road it can be a bit noisy. And beware of the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hojo_Manager1235, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Guest:
Thank your for taking the time to share your review. We at Howard Johnson Inn, appreciate your time and input. We are updating our hotel routinely to maintain standard and guest satisfaction. We hope to see you soon. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed for 2 nights over Valentine's Day and were very happy with our stay in our room 150. It was perfectly clean, the beds were comfortable, we felt safe and the continental breakfast was a good start for the morning. We chose this hotel for a few reasons...first it was a trolley stop and most convenient to hop on the trolley just outside of our room to go explore the Historic area. The 600 year old live oak tree on the property is absolutely, amazingly beautiful and it was fun to watch the trolley pull up and see people's expressions as they saw it for the first time! The value of the hotel is amazing! The lady at the front desk was so friendly and helpful with our planning of our stay. We will come back again and again to stay here!! Oh and walk out back of the motel to Magnolia St. and check out the view!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovesflowers52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hojo_Manager1235, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Guest:
Thank you very much for selecting Howard Johnson Inn, St Augustine for you stay. All of us at Hojo truly appreciate the time you took to share your review. Reveiw like yours show us that all of our hard work has paid off. We take great pride in providing best customer service and try to make our guest's stay more pleasant. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Lobby: dirty, male employees not friendly.
Room: out of date, dirty basboards, sheets come off bed while sleeping (bad fit), tv remote not programmed, bathroom way too small, shower squeeled during shower, shower room window screwed shut.
Overall gross. Price way too high compared to other lodges in area.
Pool area: too small, jacuzzi not on.
Continental breakfast: inadequate, coffee too weak
Good: scenic shuttle tour pick up & drop off in parking lot.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hojo_Manager1235, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I apologize that your stay was not pleasant. Our goal is always to provide best customer service and guest satisfaction. I sincerely hope that you would give us sencond chance to show you our hospitality.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

Some hotels are rundown but you can at least say the staff is trying to make things better, the staff here is not even trying. When I walked into the office to check in I was not greeted friendly, or at all. The woman seemed perturbed that I was interrupting her TV viewing. Another time I went to the office and she had her 8-year-old daughter there running around screaming into the walkie-talkie while I was trying to eat breakfast. Is this allowed by Howard Johnson? Underage children of employees working there?

The room itself that I was given was beyond filthy. Other reviewers here have mentioned how bad the carpets are. They weren't exaggerating. My white socks turned black after walking on the room carpet. When I went barefoot I would leave black footprints in the shower. I wouldn't try and take a bath if I were you, see my picture of how filthy the bathtub is.

There's no heat in the bathroom, so have fun taking a shower on a cold January morning. You might want to leave the bathroom door open. That way you won't notice all the black stains on the back of the door (see picture). My bathroom door wouldn't even shut unless you lifted it up and moved it to the right to fit the door frame. The light fixture in the bathroom was filthy and had some kind of furry fungus/mold growing along the top of it, along with stains all over it. There were also dead bugs all over the ceiling and walls in the bathroom.

The beds had stains on both the comforter and sheets (see picture). The towels also had stains.

The place will remind you of a bad 70's hotel. You may think you are in the 70's since there is an old-fashioned CRT TV in the room. The hotel says one of the highlights of staying here is that both the old town trolleys and red Ripley's trolleys roll thru the parking lot. That they do, every 10 minutes one of them roll thru making tons of noise and with the driver blasting his voice over the loud speaker. This goes on non-stop from like 8:45 to 4:45 and can be quite annoying.

There was a big gap in the front door with sunlight shining thru it (see picture). Big enough for bugs and other critters to walk right into your room.

Overall I don't know how people give this hotel good reviews. I guess they don't check the bottom of their socks, or maybe they wear black socks so they don't notice their socks are turning black from the filthy carpet. If you like filthy, disgusting hotel rooms and an uncaring staff by all means stay here.

Room Tip: Choose a room at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank World_Traveler_6216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

We recently stayed two nights at this hotel and were very suprised at the value. The room were very clean (a little outdated, but clean), the staff friendly and you can't beat the location. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn St Augustine/Historic Downtown
0.2 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn
BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn
#21 of 79 in St. Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#44 of 79 in St. Augustine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL

Property: Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL
Address: 137 San Marco Ave, I-95 Exit#318 & SR 16E, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3264
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 79 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn-Historic St Augustine Hotel Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Saint Augustine
Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing