We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL
Ranked #58 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not bad.”
Reviewed 10 May 2012

My family and me stayed here for a few days while visiting St. Augustine. The free breakfast was really good with adequate variety if selections BUT the amount of seating available and room available to eat your breakfast at was definitely NOT enough for the size of the establishment they have. There is also a laundry area provided, YEAH!, BUT, with only one washer and one dryer!!!!????? COME ON! For the size of the place sorry, not enough, not to mention the soap I bought was so hard I had to pound on it while still in the box to break it up back into powder form.The room was the perfect size and we were happy with that but the master bedroom had a stick holding up a VERY NOISY air-conditioner, the rugs hadn't been cleaned in a VERY long time if AFTER a bath I walked on it and the bottoms of my feet got really dirty again is any indication? The overall cleanliness of the room was sad, sorry to say. Our next trip to St. Augustine will be at a different establishment.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kesszzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    391
    359
    190
    198
See reviews for
495
551
44
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Looking through other travellers' reports, I must say that we were quite satisfied with this motel. OK, it's rather old and the rooms need to be renovated, but it was clean and well equipped (we didn't have a problem with the carpet or the water and didn't see any cockroaches!). Breakfast was included and was plentiful. The charming old town was only half an hour's walk so we could leave our car in the car park. It was the about the cheapest accommodation we stayed at during out USA, so we have no complaints at all!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hojo_Manager1235, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Dear Friend,

We are extremely happy that you are a satisfied guest. Also, we greatly appreciate your review of our guest's facilities. Our main goals have been achieved, and they were to provide incomparable customer service, clean and safe accomodation, economical rates and most importantly, a charming, memorable experience. We enjoyed having you as a guest and wish to be included in your future plans, when you do visit the U.S.A. again. Happy travels.

Have a HOJO Day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012 via mobile

Ok we did not expect luxury at this price and the location was brilliant, the hotel surrounds a 600 lime oak tree where trolley carts pick up every 15 minutes tickets are $25 for 3 days they stop at 23 destinations around the old district you hop on and hop off as you like
Now for the room - very basic, the bathroom was not nice with what appeared to be a painted bath, mouldy sealant and very small - the main room was ok, although if you walk round bare foot on the carpets for some reason your feet or socks get filthy.
The lack of a safe was disappointing especially as the front door did not seem that secure. The air con is not integral it is one of those large units mounted under the window that despite keeping the room cool makes a lot of noise.
Free breakfast was a bit of a bonus as we had not paid for it, although it is continental you can get a couple of free coffees. The pool is very small, however when we stayed in May 2012 it was not busy so no issues there.
It could be a really nice hotel with a little TLC - would I stay there again proberbly not until it had undergone a refurb. But it is cheap with a great location so it is not all bad !

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank reevsie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hojo_Manager1235, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
My friend,

We thank you for choosing us as your hotel of choice during your visit and acknowledge the time you took for sharing your opinion. Indeed, our business is centered around providing quality customer and accommodation services to everyone. Therefore, we have assessed each issue and are currently refurbishing and deep cleaning the carpets in our rooms. Rest assured that we do have safety and precautionary measures in place for our guests. We look forward to seeing you again.

Have a HOJO Day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I really won´t recommend this hotel! I chose it because I thought that being a HJ it would meet basic standards but really, it was the worst experience in my trip.
It was rrrrrreally old. The door wouldn´t close, so you have to push it really hard. And it was really that damaged that anyone could get it down kicking it.
It was not clean.-
The worst part was the bathroom. It was like you were staying in a camp bathroom. In fact I´ve stayed in Campings with better bathrooms.
There was no Bath Tub, only a shower with no light. Awfull really.
The property and breakfast was OK, but you ask they show you the bathroom you´ll get before you book it!
Or better get another hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maiafridman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hojo_Manager1235, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear friend,

We sincerely apologize for your experience not being perfect, for we do aim to please. We have assessed the situation and are working expeditiously to have the matter rectified. Please rest assured that you and yours are very safe whenever you stay with us because of the security measures we take on a daily basis. Thank you for staying with us and we do look forward to seeing you again.

Have a HOJO Day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. Augustine hotels

Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012 via mobile

i booked a king suite for 2 nights. The room was smelly, dank, and dirty. We killed 2 live large roaches within 10 minutes. The room left a lot to be desired. We ended up booking a room at the Holiday Inn express after 1 night and had a much better experience. Would not recommend staying here.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank fraff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012 via mobile

Disgusting! I stayed here before hoping things would improve but they only worsen. Rusty water coming from the shower and vanity. I couldn't even brush my teeth. Carpet has not been cleaned in years. Looks like construction workers stayed here with muddy boots. Not worth the price people

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MTRdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hojo_Manager1235, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear guest,

We apologize for your stay being less than excellent, for we do pride ourselves on delivering nothing but the best service and accommodation to all our guests. Unfortunately, during your stay, the City of St. Augustine did maintenance work on the city's water system. This caused disruption in the regular flow of water for several hours. The city also advised us that the water will appear dirty because of the sediments, the water was to run for several minutes before use. Guests were notified and notices were placed in various locations.

Once again, we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. We look forward to seeing you again.

Have a HOJO day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This hotel is within walking distance of the historic district, plus it has a tram stop right on the property for both of the hop-on-hop-off trams. Pretty property, one floor, parking in front of all units. Rooms are "worn" but clean. Good value.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandR65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hojo_Manager1235, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. All of us at Howard Johnson Inn, appreciate your input. Our hotel staff work very hard to meet/exceed guest satisfaction. Please accept our sincere thanks for your time and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn St Augustine/Historic Downtown
0.3 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#50 of 78 in St. Augustine
420 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL

Property: Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL
Address: 137 San Marco Ave, I-95 Exit#318 & SR 16E, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3264
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn-Historic St Augustine Hotel Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Saint Augustine
Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing