We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room was ok, found mold in the shower area in the shower...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL
Ranked #61 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Reviewed 23 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

924 - 930 of 1,446 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

The Howard Johnson in St. Augustine is a landmark! It is a stop on the trolley line for two different companies. The location is great, the service was wonderful and the rooms were basic but very comfortable. We had a wonderful Easter weekend! I would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Malena V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Understanding, we were not looking for a 5 Start hotel... After staying at the HOJO in St. Augustine, myself and a couple friends plan on returning. The location is great to begin with, it is not directly in the middle of the historic downtown, which allows for escaping the crowds and relaxing when you are not sight seeing and bar hopping! We were up each morning listening to the mating calls of the peacocks/peahens off of Magnolia Street while watching the visitors hop on and off the various trolleys that stop along the hotel. The room was clean and the employees were generally very nice. The only drawback is that due it the HOJO being in the historic district, the bathrooms are your traditional older bathrooms. For example, when we would open the bathroom door, it would hit the bathtub. I, myself being a taller man, had to literally climb over the toilet in order to shut the door behind me. I also had to work on my squats while taking a shower since the shower head is a little lower. As other people have also mentioned, the carpet leads something to be desired. We learned our lesson the first night when we were given the token "black feet" it is almost like the carpet was used at a coalmine and relocated here. After the first night, we wore flip-flops until we went to bed. As far as the breakfast, it is your typical bagels, muffins and dry cereal. They did have some fruit, apples and bananas; however, the bananas were so green, we are back at home and still waiting for it to ripen 3 days later.

Room Tip: I would ask for the rooms in the back, around the 130's it will allow you access to Magnolia Str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This is not only a great hotel its also on a stop on the Old Town Trolley line which is very convenient, no driving required. Ideal location. If I had one complaint it would be that the staff at the front desk didn't seem to be very knowledgeable about eateries/delivery around. Other then that, I would stay again and again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darlene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Lars L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Becky G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn St Augustine/Historic Downtown
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District
0.3 mi away
The Ponce St Augustine Hotel
The Ponce St Augustine Hotel
#67 of 78 in St. Augustine
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Smart Stay Inn of St. Augustine
Smart Stay Inn of St. Augustine
#38 of 78 in St. Augustine
45 reviews
0.9 mi away
Southern Oaks Inn
Southern Oaks Inn
#10 of 78 in St. Augustine
1,370 reviews
10.0 mi away
St Augustine Hotel & Suites
St Augustine Hotel & Suites
#59 of 78 in St. Augustine
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL

Address: 137 San Marco Ave, I-95 Exit#318 & SR 16E, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3264
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range: £55 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn-Historic St Augustine Hotel Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Saint Augustine
Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing