We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very small room and bathroom. No cleaning service during...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL
Ranked #57 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Write a Review

1,358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    390
    358
    190
    197
See reviews for
493
551
43
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport
Level Contributor
99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed just one night at the Howard Johnson at St Augustine. We booked the hotel based on its location near the Old Jail and walkable to the old town.
We were'nt able to check-in until after 3.00pm which seemed to be just an adherence to the rules rather than an actual check of rooms being ready.
The room was spacious and reasonably comfortable - although like many hotels of this type - could have been refurbished several years ago.
Wifi was readily available and worked well.
Breakfast was included albeit basic and the layout of the service area made it difficult if there was ever more than 3 people wanting to get food at the same time.

It was useful that the Tour buses stopped at the hotel on their route - so we could hop on/off.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed: December 2012.
2 double beds.

Pros:
- Shampoo & moisturiser provided.
- Fridge & microwave provided.

Cons:
- No in room safe.
- Bathroom sink is located in the bedroom. Bathroom is shower & toilet only.
- Ants in the room.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meandmyreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. Augustine hotels

Curitiba, Brazil
Level Contributor
352 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Conveniently located just a few blocks from downtown, the Hojo offers is located in a peaceful, silent area with the Fount of the Youth backwards. Not excalty new, it is is good shape, yet some wrinkles damage a past of glory.
The internal patio houses The Senator, a said to be 600-year old oak planted in th Spanish times and part of all city trolley tours. Housing a single squirrel, The Senator is an attraction for the insiders and outsiders for the shadow it offers throughout the day. Suggestion: have your breakfast under it in the morning is unique!
The motel is comfortable, roomy and clean. Chilling air conditioner, clean comfy queen beds and pillows, office desk, flat LCD TV, mini frigy and coffee machine are at your service. Breakfast is good, yet not wow, and guarantees and energetic star-up for everyone's' day. Crisp Washignton red apples are a must! Easy access to any direction you wish to take and just a few minutes from bars and good restaurants. Staff is attentive and friendly and daily rate for 2-queen bedroom is very attractive.

Room Tip: Take a room in the back, close to the Fount of the Youth Park. The only disturbing sound is from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabio N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The design of the hotel blends perfectly with the historic city of saint augustine. The staff at the front desk was very helpful and friendly. I asked if i could delay my check out 30 min and they said it was fine. The free breakfast was ok, enought stuff to start the day. The bed was very comfy. Overall I will stay here again

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flowersros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Augustine
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The hotel is very attractive on the ouside and the staff were very frendly. We reported ants, the toliet wouldnt flush and the carpet in the room was filthy. The front desk clerk said she was not authorised to do anything and she would tell her manager, I have yet to hear from anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Franklin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn St Augustine/Historic Downtown
0.3 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#50 of 78 in St. Augustine
419 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL

Property: Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL
Address: 137 San Marco Ave, I-95 Exit#318 & SR 16E, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3264
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn-Historic St Augustine Hotel Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Saint Augustine
Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing