We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical old world Floridian hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL
Ranked #57 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Northern Virgina
1 review
“Typical old world Floridian hotel”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My only complaint was with the WiFi, but there was a storm that recently passed and that may have contributed to the problem! The front desk staff and manager really tried to help.... but it was just not happening.

Easy walk to downtown area.

Good value breakfast included in the room price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myboygage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    391
    359
    190
    197
See reviews for
494
551
44
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The staff was courteous, friendly, and informative..the rooms were very clean. The only thing I would suggest is to add more cable channels like Lifetime and AMC. This was our second stay at Howard Johnson's anf and we will definitely stay here again. We love St. Augustine

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oattical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alturas, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We were extremely pleased with housekeeping. The room was cleaned each day we stayed extremely well. The front desk staff was pleasant & professional and the breakfast and other amenities were well kept. (except for some ants on the counter at the breakfast and they cleaned it immediately). I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone (especially with a family). The area in which the hotel is ideal for getting around town and to see the other sites. Thanks for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purmerend, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

It is not a luxury motel, but it has really a nice atmosphere. If you are walking, it's just a bit more then 10 minutes to go to historic St. Augustine. Both trolley tours company's stop at this hotel, because it has a historic landmark the "old Senator" a sixhundred years old oak tree, located in the middle of the motel area. The rooms are spacious enouigh and it has good beds for a nice sleep. The aircondition is good, there is a big screen tv and a moderate badroom. In the morning the motel offers a free continental breauffast, with enough choice for everybody.
I can recommend this motel. This is already the third time that my wife and I spend some vacation days here in this motel..
And the rate for this motel is good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the area were the old oak tree stands; it's close to the pool too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruud P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Rooms are clean, service is great, and you cant beat the location! We stay here every time we come to St. Augustine. I love the service we receive and the cleanliness of the property. The breakfast is enough to satisfy you so you can enjoy the great food around town.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pensacola13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The bathroom was not clean. The remote for the tv did not work and the toilet did not flush. Oh I almost forgot the cleaning lady left us with one washcloth. My husband and I were disappointed will not go there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. Augustine hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn St Augustine/Historic Downtown
0.3 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#50 of 78 in St. Augustine
420 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL

Property: Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL
Address: 137 San Marco Ave, I-95 Exit#318 & SR 16E, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3264
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn-Historic St Augustine Hotel Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Saint Augustine
Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing