We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL
Ranked #59 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Write a Review

1,416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    404
    371
    195
    213
See reviews for
524
564
45
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Lucie
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This hotel only has one handicap accessible room and it leaves a lot to be desired. Because this hotel is an older hotel has been grandfathered in it only has the minimal requirements to be ADA complaint. Sadly this does not help those who are disabled. As one goes into the door the door threshhold is to high for a wheelchair or a scooter to move over without danger to the person in the wheelchair or scooter. Once in the room the space between the two beds is not conducive for a scooter or wheelchair to be in place and allow the person to get in or out of the bed easily. The dresser is also in in the wrong place for movement. The bathroom does have handrails however, they are not in the right place nor is there two on the toilet for easy rising or sitting. There is only one on the left side. There are no handrails on the walls leading to the toilet area for one to hold on to for easy rising from a wheelchair or scooter.
This is not acceptable.

Room Tip: I would not recommend this handicap room for someone who had extreme disabilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I would not recommend this hotel, the only good thing that have is the location, is a motel looking 2 starts, room are outdated, stain on the walls, bath and ceiling... really bad experience.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank Melvin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. Augustine hotels

St. Augustine, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Overall our visit was good. However, we had an unfortunate experience in the pool. My boys were in the pool about 5 minutes when they noticed something at the bottom. Upon closer observation, they exited the pool & informed us there was human feces in the pool. We immediately reported it to the front desk but I'm not sure if it was handled in a timely manner as we did not return to the pool. The staff was very friendly and our visit was otherwise good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inglis, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Older Motel but very clean and helpful staff. Quiet at night which provided for a good nights. sleep. Well stocked continental breakfast from 6:30 a.m. to 9:30 a.m.Nice clean pool for an afternoon swim after a day of sightseeing.Red train stopped every 20 minutes right at the hotel which was great.(Right next to the"Old Senator" a 640 year old Live Oak which was beautiful.)
Even as we checked out and were still in town we were called as we had left some clothes , and were returned to us by some honest staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johndlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Great location, reasonable rates, dated but clean room.

You can't beat the location. A few blocks south is the fort, old city, Ripley's, and most of the other sites. A few blocks to the north is the old jail and a few more attractions. The fact that the motel is on the trolley routes is a big plus. It's an easy ride or walk to any attraction you'd want to see.

Love the tree, "The Old Senator," a 650-year-old live oak, great little piece of history right there on the motel grounds; the motel was built around the tree. It made our stay especially worthwhile. It's so old it has a palm tree and other flora growing in it, and we saw some pileated woodpeckers in it foraging for bugs. We ate our breakfast under this tree every morning. It's named "The Old Senator" because it's old, crooked, and shady. ;-)

One morning there was rust water coming out of our bathroom sink faucet, so we were careful to only drink bottled water. Not an uncommon occurrence in Florida; I don't know any locals who drink the tap water anyway.

Breakfast was simple and adequate. Keep in mind this is a no-frills, very basic accommodation, and you are eating/drinking out of styrofoam plates and cups. The coffee was excellent!

We'd stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shilova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

A very claean room and well conditioned. Pleasant communications with Staff. Ufortunately we were not able to get a receipt for our stay or even how much was going to be charged to our room; because we did not make the reservation, but I paid for it with my credit card and would like to have known either before or after my stay.

Walter C. Bowman
Bowman Architects & Engineers
(321) 205-9700

Room Tip: On the South away from main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WalterBowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn St Augustine/Historic Downtown
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic
0.3 mi away
The Ponce St Augustine Hotel
The Ponce St Augustine Hotel
#58 of 78 in St. Augustine
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District
0.5 mi away
Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#50 of 78 in St. Augustine
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL

Property: Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL
Address: 137 San Marco Ave, I-95 Exit#318 & SR 16E, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3264
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn-Historic St Augustine Hotel Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Saint Augustine
Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing