We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Property” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jaybird's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jaybird's Inn
Ranked #11 of 79 Hotels in Saint Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Florida City, Florida
1 review
“Beautiful Property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

The newly renovated Jaybirds Inn is a beautiful property and priced so low for the quality of service provided. It is still under some renovations in the lobby and outside area. But the rooms are done and wonderful. We were amoung the first if not the first people to sleep in the brand new beds. The rooms are so large also. When we were checking in we saw some folks walk in and ask about the price and they walked out and left. They did not realize how nice everything is. We stayed across the street a month ago at another hotel and it was nowhere near as nice as the Jaybird's Inn. If you are in St Augustine it is a must to check out. If they build the pool and fitness center with as much care as went into the rooms it will be even more amazing.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    578
    304
    82
    30
    18
See reviews for
289
484
26
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Pulled in after driving all day and just wanting a bed to sleep in. Although the place is still under renovations it is near complete. Was extremely surprised by how "cool" the room was and how friendly everyone was. Talked to the owner the next morning and would strongly suggest this place to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhuskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are proud of the renovations completed and excited that the project is nearing completion. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and am extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you decided to try us again in the future and enjoy all that the Jaybird's Inn and St. Augustine has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

My wife and I stayed here for the weekend on a quick get away. Hands down, one of the best hotel stays I've had in a long time. We did the same thing in Orlando one weekend at a Quality Inn and found cockroaches in the sheets. This goes to show you that big chain hotels cannot always compete with the little guys, especially with a hotel like Jaybird's. The rooms were newly renovated, so we stayed in a room definitely worth at least 200 dollars for about half the price! The manager insists on exceeding expectations for his customers, so please go here and enjoy a very modern, comfortable hotel stay. -- Don't forget to visit their restaurant across the way, by far the best breakfast I have had in a long time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sean z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank your for taking a few minutes of your time to post your review. It has been some time since your stay with us, and we are 100% complete! Our bikes, pool, fitness/activity center, and even the TV in our lobby, are all accessible to our guests during their stay. I hope you'll revisit so you can take full advantage of all that we offer. Please feel free to contact us directly for any future reservations!

Kind Regards,

Scott Overton, Sr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

We found this hotel and booked last minute for a quick getaway. We could not be more pleased with what we found! Quiet and relaxing, plus very modern and comfortable. It is newly renovated and has a great restaurant right across the street. The staff is friendly and will do whatever possible to make your stay pleasant. I definitely suggest staying here!

Green Features: Environmentally safe shampoo, condition, soap, lotions, and once the renovations are all done, you can rent bikes for free.
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with JBI. Since your stay, we've opened up our pool, our fitness/activity center, and our complimentary bikes are available upon request. I hope you'll come back to take full advantage of all our amenities! Please feel free to contact us directly for any future reservations.

Kind Regards,

Scott Overton, Sr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

The Jaybird is a recently renovated motel (it's actually still being renovated) near old St. Augustine. It's the kind of motel with two stories and outside entrances except that the folks at Jaybird have made some great renovations to make it very comfy and inviting. The rooms are redone with a distinctly contemporary look with great new tile, flat screen TV and modern furniture. Each room has a couple of lawn chairs in front of it with a side table to sit and observe some of the new landscaping around the hotel, including unique tiered down spouts that look like they're cascading down from the roof. The restaurant has claimed to have won several awards and my breakfast there seemed to support these claims. It has also been renovated, including a great outside seating area that begs for you to hang out for a few hours. Overall, a great experience!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am please that you enjoyed your stay and am very proud of the new Jaybird's Inn. I am very happy that you enjoyed your experience at the Jaybird's Restaurant and will share your comments with the management and staff. I hope you allow us the opportunity to serve your lodging needs again in the future and wish you safe travels.

Kind regards,

Scott Overton, Sr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

I stayed in a clean, newly remodeled room. It was beautiful. My only observation is that the pool is not in yet and the bikes were not availble to use. These were listed under amenitties but not available. The location was great, staff was friendly. Restraunt food was really good. I paid 109.00 for a Saturday night in Saint Augustine.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbuddy1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank you for your review and kind comments regarding your recent stay with us. I apologize for the misunderstanding regarding the pool and bikes not being available at the time of your stay. We are very excited about the new fitness Center, swimming pool and bikes coming in September and hope that we can make it up to you then. Please feel free to contact me directly for future accommodations, I would be grateful for an opportunity to make things right.

Kind regards,

Scott Overton, Sr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

My husband and I drove to St. Augustine,FL on 4th of July, not realizing what a big event it was there. Over 60,000 people were expected. All hotels were booked, and then we met a gentleman who recommended JayBirds. We could not have been more pleased. Met the owners, and their wives, and they couldn't be anymore helpful and friendly. The entire staff was so accomodating. The rooms were totally brand new, and nicely decorated, and the beds were out of this world in comfort.Their resturant next door was awesome also.The food was excellent and very good priced. They even had live outdoor music on fri. and sat. evening. We would definately stay here again. We felt like "family".

Room Tip: There are 2 types of rooms, King with a king bed and pull out sofa, and the room with 2 queen beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Patty K,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. As this is the first review for the Jaybird's Inn, it is a special one read. It was a pleasure to meet you and I am please that you enjoyed your stay. I can tell you that the owners, staff and I are very proud of the new Jaybird's Inn and look forward to providing the best experience possible for many years to come. I will share your comments with the staff and owners and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Scott Overton, Sr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Southern Oaks Inn
Southern Oaks Inn
#10 of 79 in Saint Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
6.3 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. A...
#26 of 79 in Saint Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
5.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN St. Augustine Beach Inn
BEST WESTERN St. Augustine Beach...
#3 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaybird's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaybird's Inn

Property: Jaybird's Inn
Address: 2700 N Ponce de Leon Blvd, Saint Augustine, FL 32084-2641
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Saint Augustine
#4 Green Hotel in Saint Augustine
#5 Best Value Hotel in Saint Augustine
#7 Romantic Hotel in Saint Augustine
#9 Family Hotel in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Jaybird's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Jaybird’s Inn, where we’ll treat you like family and provide you the best living and sleeping experience in St. Augustine. Influenced by the old Spanish design of Downtown Historic St. Augustine. When you arrive on our property, you’ll be immersed in the feel of Historic St. Augustine almost immediately. As an active living hotel we offer clean and eco-friendly rooms, and not only encourage, but will help you be active while you enjoy yourself If you’re looking for a more leisurely way to see the Old City, jump on the Red Train Tour that’s next door for a wonderful excursion around St. Augustine. After a day of healthy activity relax at the pool followed by a scrumptious meal at Jaybird’s Restaurant located next door where you’ll receive a 10% discount on all meals. Retire to your comfortable room to watch television on your 42” LCD TV with over 80 channels. Wake up to a cup of tea or Starbucks coffee in your room and then join us for a free continental breakfast in the lobby or have a full breakfast at Jaybird’s Restaurant & Pizzeria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Jaybird's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Hotel Saint Augustine
Jaybird's Inn Saint Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing