We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern, Spacious and Clean” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jaybird's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jaybird's Inn
Ranked #11 of 79 Hotels in Saint Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sarasota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Modern, Spacious and Clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at the Jaybird. Our suite was huge with 2 separate rooms to spread out. Bed was comfy, enjoyed double sinks, refrigerator, and plenty of counter space. Maids were on it too. Staff accomodating.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
It's a pleasure to read such kind words about Jaybird's Inn. The layout was carefully thought through and it's nice to know when our guests recognize that. Thanks for taking the time to write a review. If you ever plan to revisit St. Augustine, then please feel free to contact us directly for your reservations.

Kind Regards,

Scott Overton, Sr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    578
    304
    82
    30
    18
See reviews for
289
484
26
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marco Island, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We booked Jaybird's Inn for a single night as we were traveling home from Thanksgiving. Price was a major criteria but we did want to be close in to St. Augustine. Although the outside of the Inn looks a bit dated, we were completely surprised at the room. It was large, modern and extremely clean! We've stayed in hotels that cost several times as much that were not near as nice or as large.The room deserved an excellent rating.

The location is not within easy walking distance of the historical areas. At the price, you could not expect to be closer so this was not a surprise. The problem was parking. This was Thanksgiving and the City was packed. Most times, parking would probably not be a problem.

The hotel manager, Josh Greenway, is very personable and you could tell he would do almost anything to insure that you were happy with the Inn. We had no problems, complaints or even suggestions for improvement. Great job Josh!

We would recommend the Jaybird's Inn to anyone that is looking for an economical place to stay in St. Augustine. They will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptnBob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
It's always a pleasure reading a review that recognizes the clean, spacious rooms we have to offer. We are located one mile from downtown, but we do offer free use of our bikes. Customer satisfaction is a huge priority here and it's good to know the staff met your expectations. Should you ever decide to revisit St. Augustine, please feel free to contact us directly for your reservation needs.

Kind Regards,

Scott Overton, Sr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Jaybird's is a unique and lovely Inn. The lobby is very attractive and a really comfortable place to sit and just relax. Take the time to look at all the pictures on the wall in the lobby as they are breathtaking. The room we had was modern, exceptionally clean and ladies they even took the time to include makeup removal cleansing cloths. Coffee in room was Starbucks what more could you want. Bed was super comfy and high end pillows made for a relaxing night. We will defiantly make this our place to stay each time we visit St. Augustine! Continental breakfast was fresh and good choices of juice available. We will recommend this place to our family and friends and look forward to our next stay. Added bonus, Jaybird's restaurant next door is exceptional also.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chantal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
It's such a pleasure to read such a nice review. I appreciate you bringing attention to the little things we've added and I'm glad you found them useful. The photography is all done by our owners, so I'll be sure to share your kind words with them. Please feel free to contact us directly for any future reservations. We look forward to seeing you again!

Kind Regards,

Scott Overton, Sr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valdosta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We had the opportunity to go to Saint Augustine this past weekend (November 29 - December 1) as a short getaway. As a travel agent, I always do extensive research before booking a place. Based on the TA reviews, we decided to try this non-chain location. My first contact was a phone call to the hotel to check availability. I spoke with Wendy who was very pleasant, answered all of my questions about the location and due to my husband's recent surgery, accommodated us with a ground floor room.

Due to the great price at this location, we really didn't expect a whole lot but we were certainly surprised upon arrival. From the time you drive up, it is obvious the amount of money and attention to detail that went into this renovation.

Our room was very clean and such a unique, awesome room from the tile hardwood looking floors to the beautifully done bathroom, lighting, etc. The bed was one of the most comfortable beds we have slept in at a hotel.

The front desk staff was great in offering information and recommendations. We did walk next door to Jaybird's Restaurant for three of our meals and encountered the same great service as the hotel - not mention the food was outstanding.

We were able to drive down to the trolley station (only about a 3 min drive) and take the trolley anywhere that we wanted to go in in the downtown area.

We will definitely stay here again and would recommend it without any hesitations!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bugiex2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
It is an absolute pleasure to read a review where a customer's expectations were met on every level. We look forward to seeing you again! Please feel free to contact us directly for any future accommodations.

Kind Regards,

Scott Overton, Sr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Logansport, Indiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend and we were pleasantly surprised when we opened the door and found such a trendy, upscale look to our room. Beds were very comfortable and room was clean. Couple things disappointed us otherwise I would have given a 5 star. There was a dirty towel left behind door in bathroom, and staff did not make up our room the next day for some unknown reason. When I brought this to the attention of the manager the next day, he said that we told the man cleaning the room that we didn't want anything done to it. This was not true. We noticed the guys cleaning the rooms were not acting very professional ( joking around , etc) when we left that day, so maybe it is a staff problem. They did make an adjustment when we left so they did the right thing for us. I would try them again. Hope they get better help.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank barlouie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you for taking a few minutes of your time to send us your feedback. I'd like to apologize for any miscommunication on our end. I feel certain, should you decide to reserve with JBI in the future, your next experience will most definitely be the best experience! Please contact me directly for any future accommodations.

Kind Regards,

Scott Overton, Sr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

My husband & I are BIG fans of St. Augustine, we love coming up from Palm Beach County whenever we can,... yet a place to stay was always a toss of the coin. But when we were directed to Jaybirds Inn,... we were more than delighted with what we found there! The staff is amazing, the room was Beautifully done, fresh with style, and comfort. Clean is the first of importance to me anywhere I stay, and there was no worry about that here, very clean!
Josh, the desk clerk was a very nice young man, my husband had a couple talks about biking with him.
The restaurant is fantastic!! Absolutely beautifully done, and the food was delicious,
( I recommend the Eggs Benedict)

We will most defiantly be making this our home away from home place when we come to my favorite city to stay.
Thank You Jaybirds Inn for everything.

Room Tip: I have only stayed on the South Side of the hotel, but I can say it was very quite.
See more room tips
Green Features: I love this,.. we all need to be more mindful of this matter.
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write such a pleasant review about your experience with Jaybird's Inn and Jaybird's Restaurant. It's always good to know when our customers' expectations are met and exceeded by our customer service. Should you decide to revisit St. Augustine, please feel free to contact us directly for your reservations. We look forward to seeing you again!

Kind Regards,

Scott Overton, Sr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Augustine, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

My friends and I stayed here for the weekend, and it was clean, rooms were spacious, up-to-date and very affordable. One of the best in Historic St. Augustine, and we will certainly return for a future stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
Thank Bronna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
I appreciate you taking a few minutes to send us such positive feedback. Please feel free to contact us directly for any future accommodations. We look forward to seeing you again!

Kind Regards,

Scott Overton, Sr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Southern Oaks Inn
Southern Oaks Inn
#10 of 79 in Saint Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
6.3 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. A...
#26 of 79 in Saint Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
5.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN St. Augustine Beach Inn
BEST WESTERN St. Augustine Beach...
#3 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaybird's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaybird's Inn

Property: Jaybird's Inn
Address: 2700 N Ponce de Leon Blvd, Saint Augustine, FL 32084-2641
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Saint Augustine
#4 Green Hotel in Saint Augustine
#5 Best Value Hotel in Saint Augustine
#7 Romantic Hotel in Saint Augustine
#9 Family Hotel in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Jaybird's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Jaybird’s Inn, where we’ll treat you like family and provide you the best living and sleeping experience in St. Augustine. Influenced by the old Spanish design of Downtown Historic St. Augustine. When you arrive on our property, you’ll be immersed in the feel of Historic St. Augustine almost immediately. As an active living hotel we offer clean and eco-friendly rooms, and not only encourage, but will help you be active while you enjoy yourself If you’re looking for a more leisurely way to see the Old City, jump on the Red Train Tour that’s next door for a wonderful excursion around St. Augustine. After a day of healthy activity relax at the pool followed by a scrumptious meal at Jaybird’s Restaurant located next door where you’ll receive a 10% discount on all meals. Retire to your comfortable room to watch television on your 42” LCD TV with over 80 channels. Wake up to a cup of tea or Starbucks coffee in your room and then join us for a free continental breakfast in the lobby or have a full breakfast at Jaybird’s Restaurant & Pizzeria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Jaybird's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Hotel Saint Augustine
Jaybird's Inn Saint Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing