We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot to like”
Review of Jaybird's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jaybird's Inn
Ranked #15 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The design and decor of this room is more like a higher end hotel. Clean,uncluttered style in soothing greens and blues. Lighting is very good.Comfortable bed. nice shower.Beautiful photographs of Machu Picchu in our room. Very good location. Coffee and light breakfast included in very competitive rates. I'd like to give it 4 stars but two issues lowered my score: a musty smell from AC ( hopefully a temporary problem) and we had to run the hot water for quite awhile before it got warm enough. I believe this is a new renovation and hope these issues will be taken care of.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AustinM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and send us your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Jaybird's Inn is newly renovated, so as far as the issues you had, we appreciate you bringing that to our attention. Unfortunately, sometimes things break, old and new alike. We investigated and resolved both, and hope this doesn't deter you from another stay with us. Please feel free to contact me directly for any future accommodations.

Kind Regards,

Scott Overton, Sr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

984 - 990 of 1,120 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Fresh, clean and spacious, and newly remodeled with Eco-consciousness in calming colors. Cozy beds and a nice bathroom with a powerful shower. Mini kitchen area with microwave, fridge and coffee pot with Starbucks pods.

Some road noise was an issue, but it is a motel, so that is to be expected.

Really enjoyed the free bike rental. Cool lending library and office center in lobby. Breakfast was just ok, mostly bread/cereal, some fruit would be nice: styrofoam is not a good choice for a "green" hotel.

Cheers-

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank joivie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review based on your experience with Jaybird's Inn. It's nice to read about guests who take advantage of our amenities, including the bikes and lending library. I hope that you will consider us again for any future reservations!

Kind Regards,

Scott Overton, Sr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

So modern and new and the woman at the desk gave me a coupon for $25 off the room. No hotel does that! O and the rooms are about double the size of a standard hotel room. The location is great across the street from a 24 hour cvs and down the road from all ye historic attractions

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
Thank Branden B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for your kind words about your experience with Jaybird's Inn. I hope that you will consider us for any future reservations.

Kind Regards,

Scott Overton, Sr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Wonderful place to stay. Room very nice and clean, bed extremely comfortable. Restaurant on premises, ate there several times during our stay. Everything was very good. And fabulous staff and service. A++++

Room Tip: Upstairs back corner, nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sybil43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your experience with Jaybird's Inn. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Please feel free to contact us for any future reservations!

Kind Regards,

Scott Overton, Sr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Stayed one night. Josh (Front Desk Manager) took great care of us and provided in-depth local information. A total package hotel: nice rooms, great restaurant & bar, trolley stop next door and a new fitness and pool as of this writing. You don't have to pay $$$ for a short walk; live next to a trolley stop.

Doug & Deb from Tampa

Room Tip: Contact Josh - Front Desk Manager
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doug P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to post a review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Please feel free to contact us for any future accommodations.

Kind Regards,

Scott Overton, Sr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed one night, and were quite pleased with Jaybird's Inn. The manager, Scott, and his staff were all pleasant and attentive. Scott answered all our questions about the area and recommended several attractions we would have otherwise skipped. Our room was clean and comfortable. Starbucks Coffee in room was appreciated. Hotel is a short drive or long walk to historic district, but local tour tram is located next door and hotel also provides bicycles. Owner's photos of birds that decorate the lobby are amazing.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NomadSooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel. It was a pleasure meeting you. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at the Inn. Please feel free to contact me directly for any future accommodations.

Kind Regards,

Scott Overton, Sr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

And that is saying something, as things began inauspiciously: after a really long drive from Fort Lauderdale, made 90 minutes longer by a terrible accident on I95, we did not arrive at Jaybird's Inn until 5PM - and the room was not ready! After an hour of waiting in the lobby, we three hightailed it to Room 233. And guess what? It was a thoughtfully designed, comfortable room and bath. As is the rest of the hotel. Even though there was no hot water the next morning, it did not spoil the positive impression made by this property and those who are employed there. Caveat: the in-room Starbucks coffee is way better than the brown water served at breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChinaFanNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

I appreciate you taking a few minutes to post your review based on your stay at Jaybird's Inn. It's nice to read such positive feedback, although there were issues upon your arrival. I apologize for the wait and lack of hot water. The issue has been resolved. Should you ever decide to revisit St. Augustine, please feel free to contact me directly for your reservation needs.

Kind Regards,

Scott Overton, Sr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Southern Oaks Inn
Southern Oaks Inn
#11 of 78 in St. Augustine
1,340 reviews
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
1.9 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Sebastian St Augustine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic
1.8 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Saint Augustine North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaybird's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaybird's Inn

Address: 2700 N Ponce de Leon Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32084-2641
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. Augustine
#4 Best Value Hotel in St. Augustine
#6 Green Hotel in St. Augustine
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
#9 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range: £65 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jaybird's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Jaybird’s Inn, where we’ll treat you like family and provide you the best living and sleeping experience in St. Augustine. Influenced by the old Spanish design of Downtown Historic St. Augustine. When you arrive on our property, you’ll be immersed in the feel of Historic St. Augustine almost immediately. As an active living hotel we offer clean and eco-friendly rooms, and not only encourage, but will help you be active while you enjoy yourself If you’re looking for a more leisurely way to see the Old City, jump on the Red Train Tour that’s next door for a wonderful excursion around St. Augustine. After a day of healthy activity relax at the pool followed by a scrumptious meal at Jaybird’s Restaurant located next door where you’ll receive a 10% discount on all meals. Retire to your comfortable room to watch television on your 42” LCD TV with over 80 channels. Wake up to a cup of tea or Starbucks coffee in your room and then join us for a free continental breakfast in the lobby or have a full breakfast at Jaybird’s Restaurant & Pizzeria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Jaybird's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Hotel Saint Augustine
Jaybird's Inn St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing