We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't say enough......”
Review of Jaybird's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jaybird's Inn
Ranked #15 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I cannot say enough about the Jaybird Inn. I arrived to Brandy smiling at the desk along with Josh at her side. Since our room was not ready, we went on the trolley they arranged. On our return, my car keys were missing and all our belongings were in the trunk. I was paniced but a call was made quickly to the trolley and to my surprise, they were found. Scott, the General Manager, was more than kind to go fetch the keys and the rest of the trip was on the mark! Thanks to you all. The rooms were large, modern, comfortable and well appointed in every way. Mattresses were comfortable and it was nice to have a walk in shower. The breakfast was excellent and I believe it was set up by Wendy, another friendly worker. The lobby was beautiful and comfortable. I felt like I was stopping by to visit with friends for the weekend. We did eat at the Jaybird Restaurant and did not find that as top notch as the Inn. Long wait for the wrong food. I was billed for the wrong item which was more expensive than the originially ordered item. Our check arrived and we had not been offered dessert. When we asked for it, we were told we had to get up and go look at the offerings and pick out what we wanted. Overall, we found the food service disjointed and slow. Again, thanks to the Jaybird Inn staff. I have already recommended it to a friend. Jane Griffin

Room Tip: I was in room 110 which was just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane2385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

967 - 973 of 1,131 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We came to the Jaybird's Inn just for the weekend and left wishing we could stay longer. The rooms are spectacular and very modern. From the moment we made our reservation until the time we checked out we received great service from the friendly and helpful employees. We will definitely come here back next time we're in town.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Tatiana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This property is reminiscent of boutique hotels I've stayed in in other cities (Chicago, DC, and Miami). It is minimalist inside with tile floors, BIG shower (no bath), Starbuck's coffee in the room, LED lighting, and spots for reading. LOTS of linen for your convenience in the room. It is on a busy street but that makes it convenient. The old St. Augustine area is walkable but it is a long walk. Staff is excellent -- while loading the car, everyone wished me a good day. Front staff is equally friendly and professional. Wendy was so sweet the day I made reservations, we brought her a bouquet of flowers-- after all, it WAS Valentine's day. Wendy was equally helpful when we checked in. After getting settled, we went back to the front for some local information. In spite of getting slammed with arriving guests, she was able to multi-task when the printer was running by answering our short, specific questions. Wendy even approached me later in the evening in the business center to apologize for not being able to give me the attention she normally would have. Are you kidding!?!? I was intruding on her being able to do her job and she was able to handle everything like a duck swimming on a pond -- calm on the surface but paddling like mad under the surface. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was well stocked (Wendy again) but could have used some fresh fruit. Waffles were great, muffins looked super, and coffee was hot. Thanks for a nice stay in very nice property on Valentine's day -- a pleasant memory. BTW, photos on their website on spot-on.

Room Tip: Try for a room in the back or off street. Room 116 was good for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EndlessSummerCaptain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We were pleasantly surprised when we saw the hotel. The rooms, staff and restaurant were wonderful!! The garden and outside area at the restaurant were very nice but it was to chilly to be out. Anything we asked the desk staff for or about they were very helpful. The breakfast was tasty and well taken care of.

Room Tip: We only saw our room but it was large and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 71funtimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I really enjoyed my stay, but the thing that really made it special was the great customer service. There was little to complain about, but I did end up having to contact the desk a few times. Scott, Josh, and Wendy were the best!! I wish more places employed people like this! Not only were my needs met quickly, they all had such attitudes and treated me like a actual person, not just a customer. I will definitely return next year and look forward to seeing their smiling faces!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrsderuise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

This place really hit the nail on the head. We usually stay in large chain hotel because we know what we will get but we took a chance on this one because of the reviews and my wife and I had a super time. The bikes were just what the doctor ordered and the breakfast was plentiful. We did look at the pool but wasn't daring to jump in when the weather was comical, but it did look nice. The customer service was great and you could tell Josh was willing to move mountains to make sure we had a blast, and he really made us feel like we were VIP and it was certainly appreciated. We would never pass up a chance to stay here again

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichieRich88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I would definitely recommend Jaybird's Inn and will certainly be willing to stay here again in the future. I have travelled quite a bit this year, and found that, though the breakfast is lacking in some areas, the cleanliness, comfort, and staff helpfulness far exceeds any other I've experienced this far. I found the 'dark haired country girl' to be more than courteous and accommodating. I was sure to take notice of her name tag as I felt she went above and beyond, was patient with my endless questions, and truly made my experience memorable. Wendy, thanks for everything. Had I not been strapped for cash I'd have tipped you.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crstllncstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Southern Oaks Inn
Southern Oaks Inn
#11 of 78 in St. Augustine
1,374 reviews
6.3 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
899 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Saint Augustine North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
1.9 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Sebastian St Augustine
5.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine
Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine
#23 of 78 in St. Augustine
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaybird's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaybird's Inn

Address: 2700 N Ponce de Leon Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32084-2641
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. Augustine
#4 Best Value Hotel in St. Augustine
#6 Green Hotel in St. Augustine
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
#9 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range: £69 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jaybird's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Jaybird’s Inn, where we’ll treat you like family and provide you the best living and sleeping experience in St. Augustine. Influenced by the old Spanish design of Downtown Historic St. Augustine. When you arrive on our property, you’ll be immersed in the feel of Historic St. Augustine almost immediately. As an active living hotel we offer clean and eco-friendly rooms, and not only encourage, but will help you be active while you enjoy yourself If you’re looking for a more leisurely way to see the Old City, jump on the Red Train Tour that’s next door for a wonderful excursion around St. Augustine. After a day of healthy activity relax at the pool followed by a scrumptious meal at Jaybird’s Restaurant located next door where you’ll receive a 10% discount on all meals. Retire to your comfortable room to watch television on your 42” LCD TV with over 80 channels. Wake up to a cup of tea or Starbucks coffee in your room and then join us for a free continental breakfast in the lobby or have a full breakfast at Jaybird’s Restaurant & Pizzeria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Jaybird's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Hotel Saint Augustine
Jaybird's Inn St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing