We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,290)
Filter reviews
1,290 results
Traveller rating
686
413
118
43
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
686
413
118
43
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrestaurant next doorcontinental breakfasttrain noisestarbucks coffeetile floorsfree bikesred trainlight sleeperlarge roomwould stay here againcomfortable bedsnice place to stayparking lotyogurtclose to downtownold town trolleyhistoric district
Filter
Updating list...
1,105 - 1,110 of 1,290 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This was a clean, updated motel somewhat out of the nice part of St Augustine. The room was fine, but you MUST ask for the quiet side. The train and traffic could be a real deal breaker for light sleepers. And forget the "pool" area, it is pretty dismal. But for two nights it was fine. Breakfast is dry cereal and a pancake maker, Coffee and muffins, bagels. Included in the relatively inexpensive price. But there are better deals nearer the historic area of St Sugustine which is the only reason to visit.

Room Tip: Ask for the quiet side of building. And don't bring a bathing suit..pool is dreadful.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandyarnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

I appreciate you taking the time to post a review based on your stay with us here at the Inn. Our breakfast menu continues to evolve based on customer feedback. In addition to the waffles, bagels, muffins, bread and cereal, we offer yogurt, juice, milk, and coffee. Our restaurant next door extends a 15% discount to guests at JBI, for those who want more than what we provide. As for the pool area being not being up to par, due to a sudden windstorm, as soon as we noticed the disarray, all items were put back in their place. We hope that you'll reconsider staying with us and thoroughly enjoying our brand new activity center and pool. Please feel free to contact us directly for any future reservations.

Kind Regards,

Scott Overton, Sr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Having been diverted from our original plans because of the ice storms at Atlanta we decided to visit St Augustine at the last minute. Knowing very little about North Florida we looked up TripAdvisor and decided to book four nights at the Jaybird's Inn.
We were not disappointed. Our room was massive, as was the comfortable king sized bed. Perhaps for such a large room the shower and toilet area was unnecessarily small but overall the room was great and extremely good value - how do they do it for the price? - which includes free parking, coffee making facilities and the use of a well equipped pool area.
The reception staff (Wendy and Josh) were pleasant and helpful, as were the housekeeping staff who looked as if they were enjoying their jobs.
We chose to have breakfast at the Jaybird's Restaurant adjacent to the Inn and benefitted from a 15 per cent reduction as residents. Breakfast was excellent and good value even before the discount. A limited complementary continental breakfast is available at the Inn but we did not try it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alistair V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We were on our honeymoon and nothing was planned and thanks to Jaybird's and a very special young lady "McKenzie" our honeymoon was just perfect! We arrived in St .Augustine not knowing where we were going to stay or even what we were going to do. Luckily one of the locals referred us to Jaybird's Restaurant. Our waitress McKenzie became our very own welcoming committee. She had plenty of ideas about what we could do. The food was great, service even better! She suggested we stay at Jaybird's Inn! As she promised it was amazing! We loved the staff, the owners and the rooms are decorated very nice and they are very clean.

My husband and I will be back! We were treated like family and I know neither of us will ever forget this very special weekend! Thank you!

Renae and Victor Nunez...

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renae N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Affordable, centrally located. Clean. Hotel newly renovated. Suite large and comfortable. Restaurant convenient with good food. Transportation readily accessible by Red Train tours.
Staff (Josh, etc) professional and helpful. We will return.

Room Tip: suites are nice , only slightly more expensive
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank macfrommo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We decided last minute to head from Tampa to St. Augustine for Valentine's Day weekend. Most of the hotels on the main strip were booked up or a little too out of our price range. Then, we stumbled upon Jaybird's Inn. The reviews seemed promising and the location was good, so we booked it! We ended up booking their Suite. It was a little pricey, but definitely worth it. HUGE and spacious room that was clearly newly re-modeled. Very clean and the floor-plan is very open. The best part is the stay came with free bike rentals! We used the bikes all day to ride to all the tourist attractions and down to the main strip (about a mile or two from the hotel). Everyone was very friendly and accommodating. Seriously SUCH an amazing stay and trip!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ERamesar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews