We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,306)
Filter reviews
1,306 results
Traveller rating
696
419
118
43
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
696
419
118
43
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews restaurant next door continental breakfast train noise starbucks coffee tile floors free bikes red train light sleeper large room would stay here again comfortable beds nice place to stay parking lot yogurt close to downtown old town trolley historic district
Filter
Updating list...
1,119 - 1,124 of 1,306 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed here for two nights while visiting friends in St. Augustine. The hotel is quite atractive although close to the main road. We requested and received a room in the rear, away from the road and it was quite quiet. The staff was pleasant and check-in was smooth.

When we first opened the room there was a bit of a musty smell, not sure what that was, everything seemed clean. We opened the door and turned on the bathroom fan for a bit and it seemed to freshen things up. Once when we left for a while and returned the mustiness returned, again we just aired it out and it freshened up quickly.

The entire floor area of the room and bathroom was a hard, synthetic floor. I’m used to carpet and this floor was cold to my feet when I first got up in the morning. A pair of slippers helped a lot but I found this unusual.

Overall the service was great, the room was clean and quiet, and the hotel was very workable.

Room Tip: You may want to request a rear room, the rooms close to the road could be noisier.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Our room was just as shown in the pictures - spacious and clean. Loved the big bathroom and small tables with chairs outside the door. Having access to the tour trolley next door was certainly convenient. If you're a light sleeper be aware of train noise during the night. The continental breakfast was a big disappointment. No fresh fruit (we're in Florida, for God's sake!), no yogurt. Waffles, dry cereal and muffins were available. But the coffee was great (Starbucks) and the restaurant next door was nice. Another plus is the self serve laundry room.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mary h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This was a clean, updated motel somewhat out of the nice part of St Augustine. The room was fine, but you MUST ask for the quiet side. The train and traffic could be a real deal breaker for light sleepers. And forget the "pool" area, it is pretty dismal. But for two nights it was fine. Breakfast is dry cereal and a pancake maker, Coffee and muffins, bagels. Included in the relatively inexpensive price. But there are better deals nearer the historic area of St Sugustine which is the only reason to visit.

Room Tip: Ask for the quiet side of building. And don't bring a bathing suit..pool is dreadful.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandyarnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

I appreciate you taking the time to post a review based on your stay with us here at the Inn. Our breakfast menu continues to evolve based on customer feedback. In addition to the waffles, bagels, muffins, bread and cereal, we offer yogurt, juice, milk, and coffee. Our restaurant next door extends a 15% discount to guests at JBI, for those who want more than what we provide. As for the pool area being not being up to par, due to a sudden windstorm, as soon as we noticed the disarray, all items were put back in their place. We hope that you'll reconsider staying with us and thoroughly enjoying our brand new activity center and pool. Please feel free to contact us directly for any future reservations.

Kind Regards,

Scott Overton, Sr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Having been diverted from our original plans because of the ice storms at Atlanta we decided to visit St Augustine at the last minute. Knowing very little about North Florida we looked up TripAdvisor and decided to book four nights at the Jaybird's Inn.
We were not disappointed. Our room was massive, as was the comfortable king sized bed. Perhaps for such a large room the shower and toilet area was unnecessarily small but overall the room was great and extremely good value - how do they do it for the price? - which includes free parking, coffee making facilities and the use of a well equipped pool area.
The reception staff (Wendy and Josh) were pleasant and helpful, as were the housekeeping staff who looked as if they were enjoying their jobs.
We chose to have breakfast at the Jaybird's Restaurant adjacent to the Inn and benefitted from a 15 per cent reduction as residents. Breakfast was excellent and good value even before the discount. A limited complementary continental breakfast is available at the Inn but we did not try it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alistair V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We were on our honeymoon and nothing was planned and thanks to Jaybird's and a very special young lady "McKenzie" our honeymoon was just perfect! We arrived in St .Augustine not knowing where we were going to stay or even what we were going to do. Luckily one of the locals referred us to Jaybird's Restaurant. Our waitress McKenzie became our very own welcoming committee. She had plenty of ideas about what we could do. The food was great, service even better! She suggested we stay at Jaybird's Inn! As she promised it was amazing! We loved the staff, the owners and the rooms are decorated very nice and they are very clean.

My husband and I will be back! We were treated like family and I know neither of us will ever forget this very special weekend! Thank you!

Renae and Victor Nunez...

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renae N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews