We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,290)
Filter reviews
1,290 results
Traveller rating
686
413
118
43
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
686
413
118
43
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrestaurant next doorcontinental breakfasttrain noisestarbucks coffeetile floorsfree bikesred trainlight sleeperlarge roomwould stay here againcomfortable bedsnice place to stayparking lotyogurtclose to downtownold town trolleyhistoric district
Filter
Updating list...
1,100 - 1,105 of 1,290 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This hotel is not what it seems, and I say that in a good way. The rooms are pretty as can be the lobby was to die for and the location is perfect, there was some noise from a train but I was awake so it did not bother me in the least. The rooms were clean as a whistle and the property looked very good as if they upkeep it regularly the only issue I had was Wendy was short with me and a little rude but she was very busy when we checked in so its forgiven, besides that the staff and manger Josh was very professional and helpful with all our needs and I would tell anyone to stay here because you will have a jolly time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This hotel is not a great looker from the outside. Well lets say a little bit like a roadside hotel with the wash out colors and all, but the rooms are beautiful and OMG so CLEAN. The staff was super friendly and look as if they really enjoy there jobs! Josh went out of his way for us and tried to make everything perfect for our trip, we had a disappointment with the trolley....they came to pick us up and ended up leaving us there, well we ran and told Josh the Manger and he called them and gave them a piece of his mind and they came back to get us in less than 5 minutes. Thank You Josh! Overall the rooms were clean the staff was great and the location was good, we WILL be coming back

Room Tip: Don't let the ugly choice of color on the outside fool you! This hotel is the bomb :)
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed here for four nights. We picked this place because of positive reviews on customer service, which we found lacking. The lady at reception was in training and needed to call for assistance a few times during check-in. The room was great, we liked the room with a nice couch -but the room had quite a smell to it and we had to leave the door open to air it out. Everytime we returned it had the same smell- perhaps from the cleaning agent they use on the synthetic floor? What was really poor is the understaffed room service people. One day they had one person on to clean the whole place and we had to ask for service at 4:30 and finally got it just before 5pm. The next day we were forgotten completely and staff went home. There is a train track right across the road and if you do not ask for the quiet side the car traffic will keep you awake . So-there are lots of better places to stay closer to the tourist area.

Room Tip: Stay near the back away from the train tracks and stay on the quiet side away from the main road.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ljlp55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. I apologize for any inconveniences you experienced during check-in. The receptionist you encountered was nearing the end of her training period, and she wanted to make sure she was doing everything correctly, for your protection, and ours. I hope this experience doesn't deter you from lodging with us in the future, as we'd love to be given another opportunity to make this right. Please feel free to contact me directly for any future accommodations.

Kind Regards,

Scott Overton, Sr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed here for two nights while visiting friends in St. Augustine. The hotel is quite atractive although close to the main road. We requested and received a room in the rear, away from the road and it was quite quiet. The staff was pleasant and check-in was smooth.

When we first opened the room there was a bit of a musty smell, not sure what that was, everything seemed clean. We opened the door and turned on the bathroom fan for a bit and it seemed to freshen things up. Once when we left for a while and returned the mustiness returned, again we just aired it out and it freshened up quickly.

The entire floor area of the room and bathroom was a hard, synthetic floor. I’m used to carpet and this floor was cold to my feet when I first got up in the morning. A pair of slippers helped a lot but I found this unusual.

Overall the service was great, the room was clean and quiet, and the hotel was very workable.

Room Tip: You may want to request a rear room, the rooms close to the road could be noisier.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Our room was just as shown in the pictures - spacious and clean. Loved the big bathroom and small tables with chairs outside the door. Having access to the tour trolley next door was certainly convenient. If you're a light sleeper be aware of train noise during the night. The continental breakfast was a big disappointment. No fresh fruit (we're in Florida, for God's sake!), no yogurt. Waffles, dry cereal and muffins were available. But the coffee was great (Starbucks) and the restaurant next door was nice. Another plus is the self serve laundry room.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mary h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews