We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,326)
Filter reviews
1,326 results
Traveller rating
702
425
121
46
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
702
425
121
46
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews restaurant next door continental breakfast train noise starbucks coffee tile floors updated rooms red train light sleeper large room opened the door comfortable beds would stay here again yogurt nice place to stay close to downtown historic district old town trolley
Filter
Updating list...
1,129 - 1,134 of 1,326 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The rooms, which have recently been updated, were clean. Our room was spacious with a refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. The staff was friendly and helpful. Decent location, a little over a mile from the Old City, but it was a nice walk. We would definitely stay there again on our next visit to St. Augustine.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 960Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed here for three nights last week. Previous reviews have identified many of the good facets of this re-vamped accommodation. Some of the bad have already been overcome i.e. hot water is now available to all, even if those at the extremes may still have to wait a few extended moments to get theirs!

We found the location, geographically, to suit our needs admirably and we were plenty close enough to bike to the Old Town, rather than use the car. Everything in the rooms was as advertised, but with many additional aspects that you really would not expect at the price - comfortable swivel chairs, large 'work table', numerous power points, soft towels, all modern fitments and fittings, excellent ambience enhanced by large photos of African scenes, very comfortable beds, large smart TV etc., etc. However, the noise from 'hourly' trains throughout the night would disturb some - the only significant downside of our stay (so, bring some earplugs).

Staff were helpful, breakfast was as advertised, and better than any other we had experienced in similarly-priced hotels elsewhere in Florida.

The adjacent restaurant experience was disappointing. Clearly the chef dropped the contents of his salt cellar into the first crab cakes and the Marguerites were really the worst we had tasted anywhere. These were individual mistakes that could be easily remedied but prices were very high in comparison with a very good close-by Mexican-style venue.

All-in-all, a place that is great value, but could, so easily, be even better.

Room Tip: Ask for 'as far back from the A1' as you can
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alwtjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

We came to visit St Augustine to check out the history of the city. We chose the Jaybird Inn from the reviews on Trip adviser & we were not disappointed. We had a king room with a pullout sofa it was spacious & modern. There was a microwave, coffee maker, iron & board. The bed was very comfort and we availed of the continental breakfast which included cereal, muffins, waffles, toast, tea & coffee. I thought there might have been yoghurts and fruit as I can't take wheat. The only downside the person in the room next to us had the TV on most of the night and early morning ! We would have complained but he left the next day. All the staff were pleasant and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MandyM788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I loved the unique nature of Jaybird's. Loved the tile floors in the rooms - much cleaner than carpeting. Enjoyed the dual desk - so hard to share space as it typical in all other hotel rooms. The lobby was like being in your living room at home, and the staff fell over themselves to be accommodating. Super clean throughout, and loved the old-time "motel" feel. We're active, so the bikes, exercise room, and pool were a plus. A big plus was the adjoining Jaybird's restaurant. Outstanding food - everything was good - and the menu was extensive. You can get a quick breakfast in the lobby, but I recommend the restaurant as well. The locals eat there, which is a good sign!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobinOH1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I have had the best experience I have ever had in a Hotel Kudos to Wendy, Josh, and Shirley. Each of them make you feel like a guest in their home. There is nothing negative about tips Hotel. The room was exactly like the picture. Very secure and very well lighted property. Close to all attractions. I can not enough nice things about this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews