We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid if you can.”
Review of Jaybird's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jaybird's Inn
Ranked #17 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 19 March 2014

After staying over the weekend my wife and I were shocked to see our bill double after we had checked out. It turns out that after we checked out and the receptionist told us we were good to go after turning in our room keys, and after they charged us over 275.00 we called and spoke to the front desk and he said that we were smoking in the room. My wife and I have never smoked in our whole lives, when I asked to speak to a manager I was told by the front desk that I will need to call back to speak with him but he did not know when to do so. Currently launching a fraud dispute with my bank to resolve this.

Room Tip: Avoid if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Tavarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

We thank you for staying with us, as it is our pleasure to extend hospitality. I apologize for the inconvenience while trying to communicate your concerns with management. As indicated at check-in, all rooms are 100% non-smoking. I received your message, I understand your concerns and I tried to reach out to you so we could discuss the matter. I will continue to try to reach you, however, you are more than welcome to call me back at the number I left on your voicemail.

Kind Regards,

Scott Overton, Sr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

976 - 982 of 1,162 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

The rooms, which have recently been updated, were clean. Our room was spacious with a refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. The staff was friendly and helpful. Decent location, a little over a mile from the Old City, but it was a nice walk. We would definitely stay there again on our next visit to St. Augustine.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 960Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed here for three nights last week. Previous reviews have identified many of the good facets of this re-vamped accommodation. Some of the bad have already been overcome i.e. hot water is now available to all, even if those at the extremes may still have to wait a few extended moments to get theirs!

We found the location, geographically, to suit our needs admirably and we were plenty close enough to bike to the Old Town, rather than use the car. Everything in the rooms was as advertised, but with many additional aspects that you really would not expect at the price - comfortable swivel chairs, large 'work table', numerous power points, soft towels, all modern fitments and fittings, excellent ambience enhanced by large photos of African scenes, very comfortable beds, large smart TV etc., etc. However, the noise from 'hourly' trains throughout the night would disturb some - the only significant downside of our stay (so, bring some earplugs).

Staff were helpful, breakfast was as advertised, and better than any other we had experienced in similarly-priced hotels elsewhere in Florida.

The adjacent restaurant experience was disappointing. Clearly the chef dropped the contents of his salt cellar into the first crab cakes and the Marguerites were really the worst we had tasted anywhere. These were individual mistakes that could be easily remedied but prices were very high in comparison with a very good close-by Mexican-style venue.

All-in-all, a place that is great value, but could, so easily, be even better.

Room Tip: Ask for 'as far back from the A1' as you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alwtjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

We came to visit St Augustine to check out the history of the city. We chose the Jaybird Inn from the reviews on Trip adviser & we were not disappointed. We had a king room with a pullout sofa it was spacious & modern. There was a microwave, coffee maker, iron & board. The bed was very comfort and we availed of the continental breakfast which included cereal, muffins, waffles, toast, tea & coffee. I thought there might have been yoghurts and fruit as I can't take wheat. The only downside the person in the room next to us had the TV on most of the night and early morning ! We would have complained but he left the next day. All the staff were pleasant and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I loved the unique nature of Jaybird's. Loved the tile floors in the rooms - much cleaner than carpeting. Enjoyed the dual desk - so hard to share space as it typical in all other hotel rooms. The lobby was like being in your living room at home, and the staff fell over themselves to be accommodating. Super clean throughout, and loved the old-time "motel" feel. We're active, so the bikes, exercise room, and pool were a plus. A big plus was the adjoining Jaybird's restaurant. Outstanding food - everything was good - and the menu was extensive. You can get a quick breakfast in the lobby, but I recommend the restaurant as well. The locals eat there, which is a good sign!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobinOH1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I have had the best experience I have ever had in a Hotel Kudos to Wendy, Josh, and Shirley. Each of them make you feel like a guest in their home. There is nothing negative about tips Hotel. The room was exactly like the picture. Very secure and very well lighted property. Close to all attractions. I can not enough nice things about this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This hotel is not what it seems, and I say that in a good way. The rooms are pretty as can be the lobby was to die for and the location is perfect, there was some noise from a train but I was awake so it did not bother me in the least. The rooms were clean as a whistle and the property looked very good as if they upkeep it regularly the only issue I had was Wendy was short with me and a little rude but she was very busy when we checked in so its forgiven, besides that the staff and manger Josh was very professional and helpful with all our needs and I would tell anyone to stay here because you will have a jolly time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Southern Oaks Inn
Southern Oaks Inn
#9 of 78 in St. Augustine
1,445 reviews
5.7 mi away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#3 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
871 reviews
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
906 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Saint Augustine North
1.9 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Sebastian St Augustine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaybird's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaybird's Inn

Address: 2700 N Ponce de Leon Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32084-2641
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. Augustine
#5 Best Value Hotel in St. Augustine
#6 Green Hotel in St. Augustine
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range: £68 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jaybird's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Jaybird’s Inn, where we’ll treat you like family and provide you the best living and sleeping experience in St. Augustine. Influenced by the old Spanish design of Downtown Historic St. Augustine. When you arrive on our property, you’ll be immersed in the feel of Historic St. Augustine almost immediately. As an active living hotel we offer clean and eco-friendly rooms, and not only encourage, but will help you be active while you enjoy yourself If you’re looking for a more leisurely way to see the Old City, jump on the Red Train Tour that’s next door for a wonderful excursion around St. Augustine. After a day of healthy activity relax at the pool followed by a scrumptious meal at Jaybird’s Restaurant located next door where you’ll receive a 10% discount on all meals. Retire to your comfortable room to watch television on your 42” LCD TV with over 80 channels. Wake up to a cup of tea or Starbucks coffee in your room and then join us for a free continental breakfast in the lobby or have a full breakfast at Jaybird’s Restaurant & Pizzeria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Jaybird's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Hotel Saint Augustine
Jaybird's Inn St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing