We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,289)
Filter reviews
1,289 results
Traveller rating
686
413
117
43
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
686
413
117
43
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrestaurant next doorcontinental breakfasttrain noisestarbucks coffeetile floorsfree bikesred trainlight sleeperlarge roomwould stay here againcomfortable bedsnice place to stayyogurtparking lotclose to downtownold town trolleyhistoric district
Filter
Updating list...
1,087 - 1,092 of 1,289 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Pictures on the web are accurate, the rooms are modern, clean, and comfortable! Love the flooring, a huge improvement over typical motel carpeting. We stayed 2 nights in a queen room, decided to stay another night and bc of the late notice had to move to a king room with pull out couch. Both rooms were perfect. For a light sleeper the traffic noise could be a problem...I am a light sleeper and only woke up once to the train whistle at 7:30 am though. The best feature to our family of four was the free bicycles for guest use. We used them all four days...a short ten minute ride to old town made visits to local eateries and shopping simple! Awesome feature! I liked the breakfast set up...typical for most hotels... Would be better if fruit was on the menu....but overall a good bargain. For the price range we give the overall rating 5 stars! We will definitely be back as we visit St. augustine frequently.

Room Tip: We had a room on the north side close to front of hotel, the second room was on south side near back... Less noise on the south side..
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank was8320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel was not a bad place to stay. The rooms were super clean and appeared to be recently remodeled. The room price was WAY cheaper than the national chains were charging. It is located on a busy corner of Ponce De Leon boulevard so the noise from the road was a little loud in the room but that is the only thing I can say bad about the place. It you sleep lightly then the road noise may be too much for you in order to get a good nights sleep. Very friendly front desk staff.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank TrdRacing5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I stayed here for one night on March 20, 2014. I usually stay at Marriott or Hilton properties when travelling but due to the good reviews on tripadvisor I decided to give Jaybirds a try. From the outside the property is not much to look at. This is an older motel. No inside corridors. So noise is a real problem. The motel is located at a 4 way stoplight intersection. The noise from cars, trucks and motorcycles accelerating from the stoplight made it difficult for me to rest and sleep.
The rooms themselves are really nice and clean. A decent coffee maker is provided in the room along with fridge and microwave and lots of cable channels. Breakfast was decent too. If not for the noise I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FXTIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We booked last minute after a search on TripAdvisor. Good reviews, but for the price we weren't sure. Definitely a gem. Totally revamped rooms, great shower, nice front desk people. We loved! and we will come back. The outside could use some upgrades, looks dated. Except for the pool area. Pretty nice and clean. My sister and her husband found it that they could hear the outside world. I never heard a thing. Besides, ear plugs would help. This little motel is a stone-throw from the Red Line Tour bus, they are right behind it. So if you don't want to drive, pay the $22 and you will have transport back and forth from old town. It's a walk, a least a couple of miles. They have a restaurant and bar next door. Happy hour anyone? My only negative was the free breakfast. Carb-load! Nothing remotely healthy. A couple of fruits would have been nice. Otherwise is a go!

Room Tip: We stayed in the back, away from the road.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TSully_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

A little bit out of town and the hustle and bustle of the tourist attractions, it is located adjacent to the Red Train and therefore adds a convenience of not having to search for parking when going downtown. The facility has the appearance of an older motel, but has been completely remodeled in modern decor through out. The rooms were the typical motel shape but tastefully redone in modern colors and materials. They were comfortable, and well designed and gave the feel of a new hotel. Gone are the seedy old carpets in other motels in this price category. Sleek, wood-look flooring was added that gives an extremely clean appearance, Soft materials on the wall and track lighting added to the quiet and modern feel. The towels were much larger that normal motel towels and easily wrapped around a normal, though somewhat overweight, body , and were considerably more plush than usually expected. The bath had a walk-in shower and a nicely appointed sink area. Truly an upscale feel in the room for a mid-range price for the one night stayed there..

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bjjrtiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews