We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, clean, friendly, little motel”
Review of Jaybird's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jaybird's Inn
Ranked #12 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great, clean, friendly, little motel”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay and we will be back in three weeks. The manager and staff were excellent. The free bike rentals were wonderful. This will be the only place we stay in St. Augustine. It is perfectly one mile from St. George street, so riding the beach cruisers are highly recommended! It's definitely a good way to get around and see all of what the area has to offer. Besides, not spending a dime on gas the whole stay was a treat. I would recommend this place to anyone of my friends or family members.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    600
    317
    89
    30
    18
See reviews for
310
499
27
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brenham, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This hotel was nice and clean. The bed was very comfy! The only complaint was that the housekeeping staff didn't leave an extra roll of toilet tissue when they cleaned, and the one on the roll wasn't full....lol When my husband called and told them they didn't leave any extra, the clerk said to him that all he had to do was call and ask for some! Hello!!!!! Who doesn't leave an extra roll ALWAYS??? Anyway, it was a very nice place - didn't get to try out the restaurant - will do that next trip. Easy access to the red train for touring. Very nice place.

Room Tip: The king suite was nice - no table in room, but one chair.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nschulze57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Just spent one night here for Mother's Day. Room was large and very nice. For breakfast you could make your own waffles along with other breakfast items to chooses from. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank utmuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

From the street Jaybird's doesn't look like much... Just a standard motel that you would see anywhere but once you enter the lobby (and consequently your room) you realize that Jaybird's did it right. The rooms are clean, comfortable, modern, eco-friendly and cost conscious. Staff is friendly; Good experience all around. My only complaint, and they make up for this with free bike rentals but I didn't take advantage of that, is that it's just a little bit too far to walk in the heat to the "main" attractions in the Historic district but you're still just a stone's throw away from everything you would want to do in St. Augustine. With some creativity and ingenuity Jaybird's took what would normally be a dumpy motel and turned it into a great, unique location that provides a true "one of a kind" experience.

Room Tip: Some other reviewers complained of the street noise but I didn't find it to be a problem.
See more room tips
Green Features: A/C is energy efficient, LED/LCD lights in use instead of normal bulbs, toilet was eco friendly as well I think. Lot of thought went into energy efficiency and it shows; if that is something you care about.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikespiegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Unique, clean, and comfortable hotel. The first thing you notice are the tile floors. This is really a nice change from the usual nasty carpeting you see in most hotels. Jaybird's actually has a European feel to it, a welcome change from the cookie cutter look of most motel/hotels.

Since there was no carpeting, you are not afraid to go barefoot across the room.

Location was fine, it took about 45 minutes to walk to town slowly.

Only recommendation to Jaybird's is to change the breakfast settings to washable dishes instead of throw away but in one month of motels, we only saw one which did not use disposable plates and plastic-ware. A Green Hotel we would think would reuse tableware and it would certainly create a nicer breakfast atmosphere.

In regards to picking a hotel in this city, highly recommend Jaybird's. Very good value for the cost.

Green Features: Change to reusable table ware, this is a major waste of resources.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casselberry, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I have to say that this is probably one of the nicest hotels I have ever been to in a long time. Keep in mind that I am someone who has actually stayed in some 4 and 5 star luxury hotels and condos in the past in city's like Las Vegas, Park City, Utah, Orlando, Florida, and Pigeon Forge, Tennessee. I know a nice hotel when I see one. The hotel is not too far from historic downtown St. Augustine. It's about 2 miles away. So it's close to downtown, yet not too close. The building has a nice Spanish exterior design with a really nice modern interior design. When you enter the main lobby, the staff immediately welcomes you with the most personal and professional attitude I have ever seen. I met with Brandy, Josh, and the General Manager, Scott, and all of these people were so nice, respectful, and welcoming. I actually had a personal technical reservation issue with them, and they took the problem like it was nothing major. In fact, they actually gave us a room upgrade for free just because they wanted too. I have never ever received service like that in other luxury hotels. More than that, the real service part was the comfortable rooms. First, the floor looks like hardwood floors, but they are actually ceramic tile. Very cool looking. There are chairs and tables outside of the rooms where you can sit and relax in. Our room had the Suite King bed in it, so we had a sofa with a pull out queen size bed and two chairs and coffee table. We even had a really large desk table with two comfortable chairs. Our room had a nice bathroom area. It had two vanity sinks, a fridge, a microwave, a single cup coffeemaker with Starbucks coffee, and a really large custom made shower. The bed was comfortable, and had nice silky soft sheets. However, I have bad back problems so it was hard for me to get comfortable and sleep. That was the only reason why I gave 4 star in sleep quality. It's more of a personal issue than a hotel issue. The room was so clean, I don't think I could of micro examined the room for dust and actually found anything. The price for each night is very affordable, and you get a lot of great value with it. For example, the hotel offers free bike rental service to get around town, and for being a hotel guest, you can get an extra 10% off at Jaybird's restaurant and Pizzeria. The pool is really clean and relaxing, and the gym is convenient. Overall, since this a smaller locally owned business, it really is a better place to stay than places like Hilton or even a Best Western and Howard Johnson. Those other hotels are all corporate places that do boring service.

Room Tip: Stay in a Suite room. It's even nicer than a regular room.
See more room tips
Green Features: So much to say about green here. Long story short....It's a very green hotel.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My husband and I took an extended Southern road trip and fortunately happened upon this incredible motel! We were truly amazed! The rooms are spacious, well designed and so very clean! No carpets! Lovely linens on the beds, great lighting and a wonderfully comfortable bed. The kind of room you would really like to stay IN. The reception area at the motel is so inviting - comfortable chairs and couches invite the guests to relax and watch the large screen tv or enjoy the library and the beautiful artwork. There is also a fitness room and a very nice and immaculate pool area. The Assistant Manager, Josh, was so considerate and helpful. He was very friendly and a wealth of information regarding the area and available activities. Breakfast was fresh and well presented. This motel is an outstanding example of guest service at its finest. Jaybird's has really raised the bar high for the motel industry. Wish there were MANY more like Jaybird's. EXCELLENT PLUS!!!

Green Features: Being environmentally conscious, were were so impressed at the planning in this Inn - from energy saving appliances to organic bathroom products. If all Inns/motels/hotels were as conscientious as Jaybird's, the travelers of the world would rejoice and the world would be a better place.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jean t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Southern Oaks Inn
Southern Oaks Inn
#10 of 78 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
6.3 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#3 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
5.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine
Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine
#14 of 78 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaybird's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaybird's Inn

Property: Jaybird's Inn
Address: 2700 N Ponce de Leon Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32084-2641
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. Augustine
#5 Best Value Hotel in St. Augustine
#5 Green Hotel in St. Augustine
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
#9 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jaybird's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Jaybird’s Inn, where we’ll treat you like family and provide you the best living and sleeping experience in St. Augustine. Influenced by the old Spanish design of Downtown Historic St. Augustine. When you arrive on our property, you’ll be immersed in the feel of Historic St. Augustine almost immediately. As an active living hotel we offer clean and eco-friendly rooms, and not only encourage, but will help you be active while you enjoy yourself If you’re looking for a more leisurely way to see the Old City, jump on the Red Train Tour that’s next door for a wonderful excursion around St. Augustine. After a day of healthy activity relax at the pool followed by a scrumptious meal at Jaybird’s Restaurant located next door where you’ll receive a 10% discount on all meals. Retire to your comfortable room to watch television on your 42” LCD TV with over 80 channels. Wake up to a cup of tea or Starbucks coffee in your room and then join us for a free continental breakfast in the lobby or have a full breakfast at Jaybird’s Restaurant & Pizzeria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Jaybird's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Hotel Saint Augustine
Jaybird's Inn St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing