We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mmc”
Review of Jaybird's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jaybird's Inn
Ranked #15 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Perhaps not the boutique hotel they advertise, but clean, comfortable, and highly functional. When we checked in, we were told not to drink the water or brush our teeth with it (boil alert) which was OK because there was free bottled water. The ban was lifted but we were still uncomfortable drinking the water but by then the free water had run out. Ok, plan B--vending machine. Neither worked and one took our money. The front desk person would not give us a refund---who knows why---but the nice maintenance man Dwayne did, out of his own pocket! He assured us he would get reimbursed the next day.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottovertonsr, General Manager at Jaybird's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to send us your positive feedback. We apologize for the inconvenience of a very rare occurrence of a water main break, but we're glad to hear that you took advantage of the free, complimentary bottled water during the boil warning. Given the nature of the previous need for bottled water, our stock was depleted, however the boil warning had been lifted early that morning. Again, we apologize for any inconveniences and we hope that you'll consider us for any future accommodations.

Kind Regards,

Scott Overton, Sr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

838 - 844 of 1,119 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Loved the hotel it was nicely renovation. Staff was super friendly and answered all my questions about the town and made suggestions on where to visit. I will definitely stay again and recommend to friends when they come to st augustine. It was very convenient to downtown.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank penguinlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The Motel was great they have beautiful and remodeled rooms- the breakfast was fulfilling and well kept. Rooms are surprisingly clean and you could tell they have been taken care of very well-the staff was very nice and management was fun to mingle with. Good bang for your buck and I will be coming back to stay here

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beccap77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We only stayed for one night and got the last room. The room looked brand spanking new and completely remodeled. The hardwood floors and updated furnishings make this hotel look way more expensive than it is. The rooms remind me of ones I've stayed in while traveling through scandinavia. Anyway, for the price you get the nice room, the continental breakfast, and it is fairly close to downtown and everything else you need to get to. I think it is worth it. The only less- than-great thing we encountered seemed to be the staff. Maybe it was just an off few days for them, but my boyfriend and I thought they were somewhat cold in their demeanor. I definitely didn't feel welcomed - it was more like I was a burdening them by showing up at the front desk. Maybe it's just because we left The Cozy Inn that morning and were used to the smiling staff there who converse with you in a personable manner. Like I said before the price for what you get is excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jordang277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

What a wonderful way to start our getaway! Hotel was recently refurbished and done very, very well. Rooms not only decorated beautifully but very clean. Breakfast good and friendly staff. Visited the restaurant and food & drinks great plus great bartender and staff. Also, hotel in a perfect location. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana- C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This was the start of our cross country vacation and we spend 3 days in St Augustine. The Jaybirds Inn is a small, uniquely refurbished motel. It was VERY clean and comfortable and seemed to cater to all types of travelers. Breakfast was always stocked and came with a bunch of interesting folks to see and talk to. The downtown area was close and the front desk was friendly and helpful. GREAT TIME!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lola22259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Loved the quirky updated rooms.Beds were comfortable and the room very clean. Safe family type atmosphere. Great restaurant next door and very helpful staff. Look forward to visiting again.Would recommend.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Albrecht315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Southern Oaks Inn
Southern Oaks Inn
#11 of 78 in St. Augustine
1,333 reviews
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
1.9 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Sebastian St Augustine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic
1.8 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Saint Augustine North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaybird's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaybird's Inn

Address: 2700 N Ponce de Leon Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32084-2641
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. Augustine
#4 Best Value Hotel in St. Augustine
#6 Green Hotel in St. Augustine
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
#9 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range: £65 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jaybird's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Jaybird’s Inn, where we’ll treat you like family and provide you the best living and sleeping experience in St. Augustine. Influenced by the old Spanish design of Downtown Historic St. Augustine. When you arrive on our property, you’ll be immersed in the feel of Historic St. Augustine almost immediately. As an active living hotel we offer clean and eco-friendly rooms, and not only encourage, but will help you be active while you enjoy yourself If you’re looking for a more leisurely way to see the Old City, jump on the Red Train Tour that’s next door for a wonderful excursion around St. Augustine. After a day of healthy activity relax at the pool followed by a scrumptious meal at Jaybird’s Restaurant located next door where you’ll receive a 10% discount on all meals. Retire to your comfortable room to watch television on your 42” LCD TV with over 80 channels. Wake up to a cup of tea or Starbucks coffee in your room and then join us for a free continental breakfast in the lobby or have a full breakfast at Jaybird’s Restaurant & Pizzeria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Jaybird's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Hotel Saint Augustine
Jaybird's Inn St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing