We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Economical and Close Enough to Everything”
Review of Jaybird's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jaybird's Inn
Ranked #11 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Georgia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Economical and Close Enough to Everything”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We chose the Jaybird's Inn based on the price and the reviews on Trip Advisor. It was a great option for our needs. We were coming into town for a concert at the St. Augustine Amphitheater and knew we would not be in the room very long and we hated to pay the exorbitant rates charged by the hotels on the beach and those closer to downtown.

We chose a double queen and it was perfect. It was nice to pull the car right up to our room's front door, too. The room was big enough for two adults and two almost adult sized teenagers. The room was super clean and cool on one of the hottest days. There was plenty of room for us to stretch out and relax as well as when we were getting ready, we didn't get in each other's way. The shower was roomy and hot and remained that way for each person.

The staff was super helpful. We called ahead and asked if we could check in an hour earlier and they had our room ready. We requested extra towels and even needed a couple of Band-Aides and that was provided.

We did not get to sample the breakfast because we decided to sleep in, but being able to check out at 12:00 was really nice.

As for the location, as other reviewers mentioned, yes, the inn is right on the main highway, However, once we were in the room, most of the noise was muffled. At night, there was very little traffic on the main highway so we did not have a problem with the noise. We were very close to the attractions we were interested in. Of course, if you are going in the middle of the day, the traffic into downtown will be congested. At night, it took us just 5 minutes to get from downtown to the inn and Vilano Beach is 5 minutes away as well.

If you are in town for activities that will have you on the go, then this is an excellent choice for a place to crash. It's quiet, affordable and convenient. We would not hesitate to stay here on our next trip.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 109 which is on the south side of the inn and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
Green Features: If you would like to conserve resources, there is the option to have your towels and bed linens changed every other day in an effort to save water.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweet_P_of_Georgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    599
    315
    88
    30
    18
See reviews for
307
499
26
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We booked a room for 2 nights at Jaybirds Inn - basically from the trip-advisors reviews and price. What a great surprise! The hotel is located right at Highway 16, once you come to the red light it is directly across the street. The hotel is an older motel that has been completely renovated so don't be discouraged upon arrival, once you move in you will love it :). The rooms are huge and well kept, clean and just as nice as a larger resort. The floors are all tiled with new elongated tiles which makes it great for walking around barefoot and not worrying. Showers are huge also.
Kuddos to Josh (the mgr),and staff, we had an issue with our rooms a/c being a bit to loud for me to sleep, so he moved us to another room - no questions asked - offered a discount (that I didn't ask for) and then checked on us to make sure we were completely satisfied - what a concept - customer satisfaction!
The hotel is located just in front of one of the Red train trolley locations and works great for getting to and from St. Augustine without having to drive all over looking for parking.
Couldn't ask for a better place to stay while visiting!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbrown5305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

From the moment we strolled into the Jaybird's Inn lobby and laid our eyes on the cozy sitting area furnished with books galore, we knew that we were in for a cozy stay. The staff proceeded to warmly greet us and provided a wealth of information with regard to their on-site restaurant (A complimentary, basic breakfast is included in the nightly room rate.) and surrounding area.

The rooms proved to be equally as cozy, but with more of a modern decor remodel. They were clean and fully stocked, complete with a microwave and refrigerator. Just don't mind the odd smelling cleaner that housekeeping uses-- it's was a bit too "bleachy" smelling for my nostrils. Also, be cautious when using the shower; if you aim the head to close to the curtain, you will initiate a mini-flood.

If you are up to taking a nice long bike ride to Vilano Beach (which I HIGHLY recommend), you will be provided with complimentary bicycles! All you must do is inquire at the front desk and sign a liability waiver. Given that this hotel is centrally located, we were able to do a great deal of sight-seeing on our leisurely ride.

Overall, if you are not looking for a pretentious or yuppie-like atmosphere, the Jaybird's Inn will provide the ideal lodging accommodations for you at a very reasonable rate. I definitely would stay at this hotel if I should ever return to St. Augustine!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank La V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Wales, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This hotel was very clean, very friendly and in a perfect location! Its at the corner of SR 16 leading right out to the Outlet malls of St. Augustine and a block from A1A! The staff were great and the rooms were spacious and comfortable. Best part of it all was the price! Very reasonable especially for the location. It is a great place if you're there with family, friends or just a weekend couple getaway! The pool was clean, great temperature and private to guests only.

The elaborate on the great location, you are within walking distance to a few popular attractions and several trolly departure locations. The drive to the beach and Lighthouse are no more than 10-15 minutes and the Fort is only 5 minutes away!

Room Tip: From what I saw (three different rooms) the rooms are all very similar. Very spacious and they all t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Upon arrival to Jaybirds our car died in the parking lot. What could have turned into a nightmare, ended up being a great experience, thanks to the staff at Jaybirds. They really went above and beyond! The rooms were very clean and surprisingly matched the pictures posted online. Location was great, just a short cab ride away from downtown and all the attractions. We are already talking about our next trip there.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coldcovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My wife and I have found a stylish and hip new destination for our weekend excursions to St. Augustine, FL. The Jaybird's Inn is conveniently located near the historic district about 1.5 miles from the Old City Gates.Most likely built at sometime in the 1960s, the property has been thoughtfully and expensively renovated using high quality materials like granite counter tops around the sinks and cool pale mint color schemes. The attention to detail is everywhere you look. Everything is very neat and clean with nice features like LED lighting fixtures and a room length padded head board. Organic toiletries are provided with even a handy night light built into the blow dryer! A nice buffet breakfast is available that goes well beyond your typical hotel morning-fair including fresh fruit, waffles and, for a real surprise, good robust coffee. Free bicycles (four hour time limit) are available for a leisurely ride into town if the walk doesn't suit you. To top it off, the prices are more competitive than most places you'll find in town. And finally, the staff goes out of their way to make your stay as comfortable and convenient as possible and, with a smile, Josh and Brandy will attend to your special requests.

Green Features: Attention to recycling and LED lighting used throughout.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Rooms are clean and newly renovated. Discount to the fantastic restaurant next door of the same name. Staff was very courteous and helpful. One of the best rooms in the area for the price. We will be staying here again when we visit.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Southern Oaks Inn
Southern Oaks Inn
#9 of 78 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
6.3 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#3 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
5.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine
Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine
#14 of 78 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaybird's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaybird's Inn

Property: Jaybird's Inn
Address: 2700 N Ponce de Leon Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32084-2641
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. Augustine
#5 Best Value Hotel in St. Augustine
#5 Green Hotel in St. Augustine
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
#9 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jaybird's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Jaybird’s Inn, where we’ll treat you like family and provide you the best living and sleeping experience in St. Augustine. Influenced by the old Spanish design of Downtown Historic St. Augustine. When you arrive on our property, you’ll be immersed in the feel of Historic St. Augustine almost immediately. As an active living hotel we offer clean and eco-friendly rooms, and not only encourage, but will help you be active while you enjoy yourself If you’re looking for a more leisurely way to see the Old City, jump on the Red Train Tour that’s next door for a wonderful excursion around St. Augustine. After a day of healthy activity relax at the pool followed by a scrumptious meal at Jaybird’s Restaurant located next door where you’ll receive a 10% discount on all meals. Retire to your comfortable room to watch television on your 42” LCD TV with over 80 channels. Wake up to a cup of tea or Starbucks coffee in your room and then join us for a free continental breakfast in the lobby or have a full breakfast at Jaybird’s Restaurant & Pizzeria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Jaybird's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Hotel Saint Augustine
Jaybird's Inn St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing