We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suprising!!!!”
Review of Jaybird's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jaybird's Inn
Ranked #15 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 27 August 2014

My choice hotel to spend my 40th birthday weekend was Jaybird's Inn. I made my choice based on the other reviewers and the fact that they are a eco friendly hotel.

I was disappointed when we first arrived to our room since we were located right by the side door going into the lobby. I was really upset thinking we were going to hear tons of noise from other hotel guests going into and out of the lobby for the breakfast that is offered (we didn't partake, sorry no review on that). We were very surprised that we didn't hear a thing!!!!! Seriously! Very quite room with fantastic comfy beds with great pillows and plenty of them. A/C worked absolutely perfect! Room was stylish and contemporary in design. Older hotel that is tastefully done and CLEAN. I was worried a little about walking around in the room barefoot since the room is fully tiled but I had no filthy feet! Hooray!

Only complaint is that the counters are really high. I'm a 5 foot tall women and I had to stand on my tippy toes to wash my face. They obviously had to put the counter that high to accommodate the refrigerator that is located below the counter top. I'm short but I never felt like I needed a step stool to wash my face. Wasn't a huge deal but take that in consideration if you are traveling with children. Maybe pack your own little plastic step for the kiddos. My daughter handled it fine.

Definitely a great stay and the price is great for what you get. Location isn't downtown but very close. You will need to drive and then pay for parking. That is the one downfall. Based on location, I don't know if we will ever stay at the Jaybird's Inn again. I think we would pay more to be conveniently located downtown. We like to be in walking distance which this hotel is not.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LilB33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

813 - 819 of 1,139 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

We attended a group event in St. Augustine, and our leader suggested Jaybirds Inn as a good location for an overnight stay. It is larger than I expected, combining two properties into one, with a restaurant in the center. The rooms have recently been updated and are beautifully serene. The bed was so comfortable, I wish we had booked two nights. The staff is amazingly friendly and courteous. Each desk person greeted us and made us feel welcome.

Special mention and praise for Chris, the bartender. My mother and I went to Happy Hour but the advertised Guinness was gone. After a brief conversation about beer and tastes, Chris recommended one that he thought would be a reasonable alternative. This man knows his beers! And he knows even more about customer service. What a wonderful asset to Jaybird's! One of the servers told me later that he won an award for the best Bloody Mary in St. Augustine, so of course, I had to try one. He definitely deserved the win.

I will make it a point to stay at Jaybird's the next time we are in the St. Augustine area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Shelley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I chose Jaybirds Inn as the "host hotel" for my auto club's weekend visit to Saint Augustine based on the price and based on the pictures. The best part of everything was that the place is closer to everything than you would think, and the pictures don't do the place justice!

We were surprised to find that the Red Train Tour stop is, quite in fact, RIGHT BEHIND the hotel, so once you park your car at Jaybirds, you won't even need it (gets you out of paying parking throughout Historic Saint Augustine or worrying about WHERE to park.). The rooms were VERY clean, with VERY modern amenities. The bed was comfortable, the pillows were plush, and the sheets were clean and pressed. For the price, you really are getting quite a nice space!

The staff was VERY pleasant, and we watched them assist several Guests before we approached them. They were really on their game!

The free breakfast was nice, with a waffle station, fresh muffins, juices, bagels, and English muffins. It was the perfect start to our day.

We would MOST DEFINITELY stay at Jaybirds again!!!

Room Tip: Our room was in the main building. We chose the "Studio" room because it was $10 cheaper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank FiatClubAmericaFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Booked 2 nights for my husband and I. Was our first time staying in St. Augustine and wanted somewhere close to everything. Jaybirds did not disappoint. We arrived early and room was not available but we still got an early check-in and room was exactly as promised. Clean and well stocked, had everything we needed. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Saw several staff members who always said Hello and asked if we needed anything.
We ate at the restaurant next door, again very friendly and food was very good and moderate prices, definitely less than eating downtown. We did use the pool which was clean and nice. We even sat outside in the evenings on the chairs provided for each room.
Best was the trolley station directly behind the hotel which was wonderful for transportation all day.
Definitely recommend!!

Room Tip: We stayed in an odd numbered room which was further to the pool so if you bring the kids you will wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

From the crisp clean and modern rooms to the guest services and employees, our 4 night stay was the best I've had in a very long time. I wish I could rate it 10 stars! BTW, make sure you go to the restaurant too, they have the best gourmet pizza at a ridiculously great price.

Room Tip: All the rooms have been remodeled completely....we liked that we were on the south end where parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tanya J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We just got back from a great weekend at Jaybird's Inn. The reviews on trip advisor were spot on. When we arrived our room wasn't ready yet, was a little upset over this as it was 3:30, but the manager " Josh" was very apologetic and explained that one of their cleaning staff had to leave due to an emergency and he also credited our room for this. The rooms were extremely nice and very clean, beds were top notch and modern and was as good as any Hilton we've stayed in. We were a bit worried about the outside corridors as we normally stay at indoor corridor Hotels, but this place has changed our minds regarding that, for this location anyway. You don't go to many places where you see a Manager be so hands on with such a pleasant personality. He even helped clean the Dining area and was really hands on with everything.....Thanks Josh for such a nice weekend and we will surely be back to stay.....Highly recommend!!!!!!

Room Tip: Room 131 was on the very end and a little more private....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twofancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We had the pleasure of visiting this hotel for the first AND second times in consecutive weeks, and we found new reasons to love it more with each passing minute!

The staff, lead during our visits by Mr. Josh Greenway, was absolutely exceptional; each showed a great deal of enthusiasm in the role, and an eagerness to please. When our originally desired room was not available (it's a popular spot!), Mr. Greenway did everything in his power to ensure we were well taken care of. His positive outlook and willingness to go the extra mile for his customers was apparent and truly appreciated!

The hotel itself was very clean, roomy, quiet and comfortable. The recent renovations give it more of a spa feel then that of standard lodging, all for an incredible price!

We cannot imagine staying in any other location when in St. Augustine. Jaybird's Inn, Josh Greenway and his staff get our highest recommendation! It's a safe bet, and we hope that your experience was as enjoyable as ours.

Cheers and thank you,
Mark and Jessica Fallon

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CTYankee1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Southern Oaks Inn
Southern Oaks Inn
#10 of 78 in St. Augustine
1,396 reviews
6.3 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
901 reviews
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Saint Augustine North
1.9 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Sebastian St Augustine
5.7 mi away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#3 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaybird's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaybird's Inn

Address: 2700 N Ponce de Leon Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32084-2641
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. Augustine
#5 Best Value Hotel in St. Augustine
#6 Green Hotel in St. Augustine
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
#9 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range: £68 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jaybird's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Jaybird’s Inn, where we’ll treat you like family and provide you the best living and sleeping experience in St. Augustine. Influenced by the old Spanish design of Downtown Historic St. Augustine. When you arrive on our property, you’ll be immersed in the feel of Historic St. Augustine almost immediately. As an active living hotel we offer clean and eco-friendly rooms, and not only encourage, but will help you be active while you enjoy yourself If you’re looking for a more leisurely way to see the Old City, jump on the Red Train Tour that’s next door for a wonderful excursion around St. Augustine. After a day of healthy activity relax at the pool followed by a scrumptious meal at Jaybird’s Restaurant located next door where you’ll receive a 10% discount on all meals. Retire to your comfortable room to watch television on your 42” LCD TV with over 80 channels. Wake up to a cup of tea or Starbucks coffee in your room and then join us for a free continental breakfast in the lobby or have a full breakfast at Jaybird’s Restaurant & Pizzeria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Jaybird's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Hotel Saint Augustine
Jaybird's Inn St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing