We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nothing like pictured”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Knights Inn St Augustine/Historic District
Ranked #74 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Reviewed 28 April 2012

pool area closed and disgusting looking, building run down

Room Tip: go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank denoOrangePark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2012

What more can I say? I thought this hotel was awesome for the price, you're in a beach town and you're minutes from the city center (Literally $7 cab ride to downtown). The hotel was clean, quaint and economic.

If you want the Hilton, pay for it... don't stay at a budget hotel. :)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KristinMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghanysham P, General Manager at Knights Inn St Augustine/Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Thank you for your review! Is true! If you're looking for a 5 star resort be prepared to pay a 5 star price! If you want a $300. a night hotel and location those are available. We offer economical and affordable accomodations located in the Historic District. 2-3 minute drive to downtown. Many attractions begin within walking distance. See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Stayed three nights, they charged for five. Went back with police and loud overbearing manager refused to refund money and threaten to charge more to my card! I will be pursuing legally as this is illegal to steal from my credit card.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rcekme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

I stayed 3 nights snd was charged for 5, manager is foreign and is very loud and overbearing. Even with police being called snd proving a 3 night stay he refused to correct and threaten to charge more. Police informed only recourse was civil or protest with charge card.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rcekme362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

Honestly, I have never in my life, ever, stayed in such a dump!

The room was so dirty I felt instantly nasty just walking in. I didn’t even want to take my shoes off! Never touched the tv, microwave, or refrigerator; simply couldn’t bring myself to do it! There was a hair in the ice box. The furniture was broken and had more cigarette burns than I can count on both hands (check out the picture).

Bathroom comes with one bar of soap and two towels. It was so disgusting that I couldn’t even take a shower. Next morning I just washed my face, brushed my teeth, and checked out!

I absolutely do not recommend this hotel, not even to my worst enemy. If you can’t afford more, take my advise and sleep in your car. There are better hotels for the money. Or pay a bit more. It’s not worth your health!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KitDuluCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

I originally booked a room at this hotel over the internet...after doing research I knew exactly what I was getting for such a low price! Was totally ok with that...only thing is it was on Ponce De Leon and I would rather be closer San Marco! Near most of the places we will visit!!! Called to cancel my reservation and the lady that answered the phone was very mean (to say the least). Could not cancel my reservation and asked for my name and number for the general manager to call me...are you freaking kidding me! I work in hotels and guaranteed you call us your reservation is canceled within a minute tops, providing you are outside the cancellation period, which i was! Reservation was for January 21, 2011. I was shocked...asked her name...she told me it and I asked her to spell it...all of a sudden there was no response...did she just hang up? wow! tried to call the 800 number and guess what...they keep discounting me too...maybe its my phone? nope tried from my boyfriends phone too! great customer service....glad i am NOT NOT NOT staying there :) First impressions last...

Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
2  Thank drfrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

Upon arrival it looks like any other cheap hotel. Not quite roach but very close to it. The particular room I stayed in was not as dirty as I expected. When we arrived the curtain was a little in disarray, a walk down to the office and five minutes later it was fixed. The man who had come to solve the issue was friendly enough. It was hot inside as they turn the A.C off while unoccupied so if you do stay here and have made reservations call ahead about an hour before you get there.

The bathroom and room itself were spartan with a small fridge that went unused. There was also a microwave the remained silent. The AC was set high up close to the ceiling but a remote was provided. In the bathroom you'll find a bar of deodorant and bar of facial soap. No form of shampoo. No rug or any slip resistance which I expected. The shower head was very basic of course and it was a shower tub setup. Also featured in the shower a long strand of black hair, I have dark brown and it is short cut.

On the outside of the room, there is a ice maker and Soda Machine (Coke specifically) by the office. The parking lot is very small and I'm not entirely sure that they could support their entire compliment of rooms at capacity. Also you'll find a small but clean pool, it's more the size of a kiddie pool but is also slightly deep for that.

My biggest complaint, it's not on San Marco which means you could walk to St. George Street and downtown area without crossing neighborhoods. My biggest thumbs up, my room did not smell musty.

All in all, you get what you pay for. If you are expecting the Plaza and paying 50-80 then perhaps you should make sure no one is slipping anything into your drinks. If you're expecting to find a roof over your head and maybe a microwaved pizza and semi cold soda then you've found the spot.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CParker321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Merida Inn & Suites
#56 of 78 in St. Augustine
17 reviews
0.9 mi away
Scottish Inn
Scottish Inn
#64 of 78 in St. Augustine
43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Days Inn St Augustine/Historic Downtown
0.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL
0.1 mi away
Southern Oaks Inn
Southern Oaks Inn
#11 of 78 in St. Augustine
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn St Augustine/Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn St Augustine/Historic District

Address: 2500 N Ponce de Leon Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32084-2645 (Formerly Thriftlodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range: £49 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn St Augustine/Historic District 1.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Knights Inn St Augustine/Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Saint Augustine
Knights Inn St Augustine/Historic District St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing