We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St Augustine Island Inn
Ranked #48 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Reviewed 7 August 2012

My wife and I spent our fifth anniversary in St. Augustine and decided we would not book a hotel before getting to St. Augustine. The first hotel we pulled into was the St. Augustine Island Inn and we checked their rates.Their rates were lower than other hotels by $30-$70 so we hesitated at first but decided to book for one night.

To our surprise the rooms and the entire hotel was extremely clean and well kept. The beds were very comfortable and the bathrooms were spotless. The staff was extremely friendly and hospitable.

When I woke up the next morning I went down to the lobby and immediately booked a second night.

If you are on a budget or just want a nice quiet hotel to stay at, I highly recommend this place.

Mark

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markrodocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 463 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2012

We had a great room with a balcony. we had an excellent view of their beautiful pool. The room was very clean, and the service was wonderful. The rates were reasonable, and the area was very quiet and serene. The beach is close, and there were a lot of restaurants nearby. The Old City of St. Augustine is only a short drive away. We felt very safe in this hotel, and the beds were wonderful. We had no problem sleeping as late as we wanted.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We booked on line so not sure what to expect.. We were welcome by friendly staff.. the room was clean.. extra goodies like toothpaste, lotions and coffee maker, fridge & Micro.. We stayed three days. It was quiet & the pool clean.. One down fall a very limited Continental breakfast.. But guess that helps keep the cost down.. The rates were fanta$tic.. Whenever we were coming in or leaving someone was cleaning, watering or doing something.. Very family friendly.. About a block away was a Dog Friendly beach..
Nicely Landscaped.. Wonderful place.. We will stay there next time we visit and recommend to our friends and family..

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karen lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012 via mobile

We found this place after getting our money back from another hotel in the area due to the lack of cleanliness. The hotel staff were very nice. They took us up to see our room before we paid for it. The room was really nice. We shared a room with my brother-in-law and his wife. The room had a partial wall between two queen beds. We loved the added privacy. First hotel we've stayed at that had this feature. The room and linens smelled and looked clean, as did the bathroom. The beach is a short walk away. If you prefer a pool, the hotel pool was very clean and a comfortable temperature. I definitely recommend this hotel. One of the best I've stayed at in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ct06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

My husband booked a balcony room overlooking the pool for 2 nights. What we got was a 2nd floor room (with handicap bathroom- no bathtub) sharing a set-back patio. The patio faced directly across from two other rooms. No view of the pool - only view was our neighbor's sliding doors. The patio was available for smokers. We are non-smokers. Because the room was set back - we had very little natural light and had to keep our drapes closed for privacy - our neighbors could see directly into our room. The room felt like a cave. It was clean but had a moldy smell. There was mold on the bed blanket. The carpet was fairly new but the rest of the furnishings were outdated. We wanted to cancel but would not be refunded one night. We had a tight schedule visiting locals in the area and did not want to spend time rearranging our hotel stay. We put up with the room while paying over $250 for 2 nights due to the 4th of July price increase. The positive feature of this property is it is a nice walk to the boardwalk and beach. Our room also had good air conditioning. The morning coffee and orange juice were poor quality and watered down. We absolutely would NOT stay here again due to the mold, dark interior and old furnishings all which did not warrant the price of the stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shelleybell1, Director of Sales at St Augustine Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2012

We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay at the St. Augustine Island Inn. We strive to make all our guests happy. Your room type was a balcony suite. These suites all have access to a private or shared balcony. The balcony has a pool view. That is the description of the room from our website. You had a suite off the very large shared balcony. The balcony had a pool view. The rates during the Fourth of July holiday were in-line with other hotels in the area. Our rates include our ideal location (just as you noted), clean rooms (as you noted), free covered parking, free WiFi, micro/fridge in all rooms, free continental breakfast and use of the swimming pool. Late cancellations are typically charged a penalty at most hotels. Our cancellation policy is in line with industry standards. We hope you give us another try on your next visit to St. Augustine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We just got back from our St. Augustine trip and had 2 nights here and we were VERY disappointed!! I have stayed at alot of motels and I'm not hard to please and I never complain but this was definetly an exception. This place is way over priced, we paid $135 a night and it was a $40 room. The Towels were rough and dirty. They only gave us 1 rag and 1 hand towel. There was no shampoo. Over half of the TV channels were out. The air did'nt work very good. The coffee maker was VERY old and rusted out. The rooms were very noisy. We kept our mouths shut and stay the 1st night and tried to get a refund for the 2nd night but they would'nt do it. The man (I guess owner) was nice even though he would'nt refund our money. The woman (wife) was VERY rude.
There were 3 groups including us complaining and trying to get a refund AT THE SAME TIME.
We left and did'nt stay the 2nd night.
I WILL NEVER GO BACK!! You WILL be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krista L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shelleybell1, Director of Sales at St Augustine Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2012

We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay at the St. Augustine Island Inn. We are a small family owned inn and our guests' experiences are of utmost importance. The rate you paid was for a holiday period and completely in-line with other properties in the St. Augustine beach area during that time. We charge a very reasonable room rate that includes a continental breakfast, WiFi, covered parking, use of our swimming pool and a good clean room. All of this is in an ideal location a short walk to the beach and a short drive to the historic area. We do supply our rooms with multiple towels and a hand towel and wash cloth. If you required more, all you needed to do was ask. Our television service offers a good variety of channels and plenty of them. If you were having a problem with the service in your room, again we would have loved if you just let us know so we could have it fixed. As far as canceling a reservation, like most hotels, we simply require a one day notice. If you notified us the day before you wanted to depart, there would have been no penalty. This is a standard policy in hotels. And due to the increased value of a room and sold out situation during a special event or holiday, it is difficult to waive the penalty as the hotel would then lose money. Again we are sorry you were not satisfied. We have lots of happy repeat guests and would love the opportunity to add you to them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Very clean, unpretentious, family owned hotel. Beautiful Public Beach is only a block away without even having to cross the street. This is not a typical chain like Days Inn, or Super 8 (thank god) and if you need assistance you will get it directly from it's owners who were very courteous and helpful. As long as your not a pretentious person and have a good attitude, I'm sure you should get good bang for your buck. One piece of advice though, if you are looking for absolute silence ask for a room without the balcony as these are shared.

Overall, great location next to beach and not too far from all major stores like Starbucks, Barnes and Noble and heck, even a Panera Bread!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
#9 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
1,108 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
888 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#65 of 78 in St. Augustine
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western St. Augustine Beach Inn
Best Western St. Augustine Beach...
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
776 reviews
1.7 mi away
Super 8 St. Augustine Beach
Super 8 St. Augustine Beach
#10 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
703 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
#6 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Augustine Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Augustine Island Inn

Address: 894 A1a Beach Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32080-6717 (Formerly Ramada Limited St. Augustine Beach)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range: £53 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — St Augustine Island Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy larger than average rooms and suites with pool, free continental breakfast, covered parking, morning paper and trolley service to historic downtown all just a few yards from the beautiful St. Augustine Beaches on Anastasia Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your St Augustine Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Augustine Island Hotel Saint Augustine
St Augustine Island Saint
Ramada Saint Augustine
St Augustine Island Inn St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing