We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs an Update to the style”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St Augustine Island Inn
Ranked #49 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
“Needs an Update to the style”
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Stayed here for a weekend 17th-19th August 2012 - the hotel was so dark and old fashioned inside, which wasn't really an issue as I wasn't staying in the hallway...but the room was no better, the bedding was so thin and worn, the blanket was ripped and the king bed was only just off the floor it reached up to the middle of my shin and was well worn and needs to be replaced - not really worth the almost $200 for the two nights.

Nicely located for the beach and the small plaza just down the road with good restaurants, but the hotel itself is in need of an upgrade. The 3rd floor was so hot in the corridor and the aircon was switched off, the air con in the room was intermittent and during the night "misfired" woke me up with the smell of overheating and burning but then carried on working.

The smell of curry on the ground floor and around the reception area was very overpowering and not pleasant at all.

Booking the hotel was an odd process with a variety of web sites taking a booking and forwarding it to the hotel, I guess the hotel does not have a direct booking system but each web site had a different price for the same stay...just seemed so dodgy and dishonest to start with using this system.

For half the price there is a Super8 less than a mile away and the Comfort Inn opposite the Island Inn in better condition also can do the same booking for less than the 197.00 I paid. Don't think I would stay here again based on the cost and the outdated decor - Sorry but not good value for money at all

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M1STIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shelleybell1, Director of Sales at St Augustine Island Inn, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
We are sorry you weren't pleased with your stay at the Island Inn. We offer a great deal of value to our guests and still keep our prices low. We include at no extra charge a complimentary continental breakfast, Wifi in all rooms, micro/fridge in all rooms and free covered parking. Prices in the area are based on demand. Our prices are in line with the other properties in the area and we are not more expensive than other hotels offering the same amenities and service. We do have our own hotel website and booking engine. If you Google our hotel name, it shows up at the top of the first page. But if you chose to book thru a third party site, then your reservation is forwarded to the hotel. There is nothing shady about this - just common practice on the internet. If you experience issues with a hotel room, please be kind enough to alert hotel management. We will always do our best to accommodate and make the guest happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    117
    55
    44
    50
See reviews for
155
169
23
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

As you might expect from the nightly rate, this hotel is pretty basic. It's clean, quiet, and fairly close to the beach. Since cars are allowed on the beach, however, it might be easier to pack all your stuff in the car and drive than it is to lug your things 300 yards or so. Some areas could definitely be improved upon. The towels are thin and coarse. The continental breakfast is very sparse. There's not even toast. And the "orange juice" is just kool aid. Also, a sign in the room says "not responsible for theft", and the key sheath says to "secure valuables", but there is no lock box. I hid my computer and mp3 player under the bed when I was left the room, because I wasn't sure they'd be safe if I left them out in the open. All in all, I wasn't unhappy with my experience at the St. Augustine Inn, but I felt like there might have been better options.

Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamlebud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shelleybell1, Director of Sales at St Augustine Island Inn, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
We are sorry that your stay at the Island Inn was a bit disappointing. We strive to make sure every guests has a comfortable and enjoyable visit. We are a budget friendly hotel. We do our best to include an many amenities as possible, while still keeping our rates affordable. We do include a continental breakfast, micro/fridge in every room, free covered parking and free Wifi. We are glad you found everything to be clean and comfortable. Please keep us in mind for your next visit to St. Augustine. We are sure you will find our service and value can't be beat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2012

My wife and I spent our fifth anniversary in St. Augustine and decided we would not book a hotel before getting to St. Augustine. The first hotel we pulled into was the St. Augustine Island Inn and we checked their rates.Their rates were lower than other hotels by $30-$70 so we hesitated at first but decided to book for one night.

To our surprise the rooms and the entire hotel was extremely clean and well kept. The beds were very comfortable and the bathrooms were spotless. The staff was extremely friendly and hospitable.

When I woke up the next morning I went down to the lobby and immediately booked a second night.

If you are on a budget or just want a nice quiet hotel to stay at, I highly recommend this place.

Mark

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markrodocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We had a great room with a balcony. we had an excellent view of their beautiful pool. The room was very clean, and the service was wonderful. The rates were reasonable, and the area was very quiet and serene. The beach is close, and there were a lot of restaurants nearby. The Old City of St. Augustine is only a short drive away. We felt very safe in this hotel, and the beds were wonderful. We had no problem sleeping as late as we wanted.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We booked on line so not sure what to expect.. We were welcome by friendly staff.. the room was clean.. extra goodies like toothpaste, lotions and coffee maker, fridge & Micro.. We stayed three days. It was quiet & the pool clean.. One down fall a very limited Continental breakfast.. But guess that helps keep the cost down.. The rates were fanta$tic.. Whenever we were coming in or leaving someone was cleaning, watering or doing something.. Very family friendly.. About a block away was a Dog Friendly beach..
Nicely Landscaped.. Wonderful place.. We will stay there next time we visit and recommend to our friends and family..

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012 via mobile

We found this place after getting our money back from another hotel in the area due to the lack of cleanliness. The hotel staff were very nice. They took us up to see our room before we paid for it. The room was really nice. We shared a room with my brother-in-law and his wife. The room had a partial wall between two queen beds. We loved the added privacy. First hotel we've stayed at that had this feature. The room and linens smelled and looked clean, as did the bathroom. The beach is a short walk away. If you prefer a pool, the hotel pool was very clean and a comfortable temperature. I definitely recommend this hotel. One of the best I've stayed at in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ct06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2012

My husband booked a balcony room overlooking the pool for 2 nights. What we got was a 2nd floor room (with handicap bathroom- no bathtub) sharing a set-back patio. The patio faced directly across from two other rooms. No view of the pool - only view was our neighbor's sliding doors. The patio was available for smokers. We are non-smokers. Because the room was set back - we had very little natural light and had to keep our drapes closed for privacy - our neighbors could see directly into our room. The room felt like a cave. It was clean but had a moldy smell. There was mold on the bed blanket. The carpet was fairly new but the rest of the furnishings were outdated. We wanted to cancel but would not be refunded one night. We had a tight schedule visiting locals in the area and did not want to spend time rearranging our hotel stay. We put up with the room while paying over $250 for 2 nights due to the 4th of July price increase. The positive feature of this property is it is a nice walk to the boardwalk and beach. Our room also had good air conditioning. The morning coffee and orange juice were poor quality and watered down. We absolutely would NOT stay here again due to the mold, dark interior and old furnishings all which did not warrant the price of the stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shelleybell1, Director of Sales at St Augustine Island Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay at the St. Augustine Island Inn. We strive to make all our guests happy. Your room type was a balcony suite. These suites all have access to a private or shared balcony. The balcony has a pool view. That is the description of the room from our website. You had a suite off the very large shared balcony. The balcony had a pool view. The rates during the Fourth of July holiday were in-line with other hotels in the area. Our rates include our ideal location (just as you noted), clean rooms (as you noted), free covered parking, free WiFi, micro/fridge in all rooms, free continental breakfast and use of the swimming pool. Late cancellations are typically charged a penalty at most hotels. Our cancellation policy is in line with industry standards. We hope you give us another try on your next visit to St. Augustine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. Augustine hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
#9 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#63 of 78 in St. Augustine
3.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
1.6 mi away
Regency Inn & Suites
Regency Inn & Suites
#50 of 78 in St. Augustine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western St. Augustine Beach Inn
Best Western St. Augustine Beach...
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
1.7 mi away
Super 8 St. Augustine Beach
Super 8 St. Augustine Beach
#10 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Augustine Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Augustine Island Inn

Property: St Augustine Island Inn
Address: 894 A1a Beach Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32080-6717 (Formerly Ramada Limited St. Augustine Beach)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — St Augustine Island Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy larger than average rooms and suites with pool, free continental breakfast, covered parking, morning paper and trolley service to historic downtown all just a few yards from the beautiful St. Augustine Beaches on Anastasia Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your St Augustine Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Augustine Island Hotel Saint Augustine
St Augustine Island Saint
Ramada Saint Augustine
St Augustine Island Inn St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing