We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3 Day retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St Augustine Island Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St Augustine Island Inn
Ranked #49 of 79 Hotels in St. Augustine
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“3 Day retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

We wanted to getaway for a couple days. This place was in a perfect the location and the area was quiet.
It was a nice walk down to the beaches from our Inn but the exercise was good.
The care takers were very pleasant. the rooms were clean and the housekeepers were on top of our needs. We will return.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amdfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    115
    54
    43
    50
See reviews for
151
166
23
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

The rooms are musty, old, smell of mildew, bleach cleaner and when not occupied, the AC seems to be off.
I myself live in Florida and know that AC can never be off. That's when you encourage mold and mildew to grow.
Well, the first night the bleach odor was sooo strong that I had a hard time sleeping and my nostrils were hurting from the chemical smell. We had to go out to buy some odor killer.
The rooms were filthy and with a little bit of paint, a new wall paper, these rooms can look and feel so much cleaner and comfortable.
The breakfast buffet was a joke. Everything is packed, bought at walmart and not one single personal touch is found. We tried the oatmeal and quickly decided to go out for breakfast. Starbucks is around the corner, which is a plus.
I do not recommend for anyone to stay at this place as it is not what you expect when reading the reviews. It is worse.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shelleybell1, Director of Sales at St Augustine Island Inn, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
We are very sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us at the St. Augustine Island Inn. We strive to make all of our guests comfortable and feel welcome. As many of our reviews state, our guest rooms are very clean. We have strict cleanliness codes which are followed to a tee. We apologize if we went a little overboard with the bleach in your bathroom. It is difficult sometimes to disperse the scent - but deep cleaning bathrooms is best done with bleach. We would have been happy to move you to another guest room if we had realized there was a problem. Our breakfast is a true continental breakfast. That is what we advertise and serve to our guests. It entails hot and cold cereals, bread/muffin selection, coffee, tea, juice and milk. Our rates reflect the value of our property. We do our very best to offer good, clean accommodations with warm hospitality at an affordable price. We hope you will give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. Augustine hotels

Orlando, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

The people here were great and it was a great deal. We needed a place to stay after a wedding and it was perfect!! Quiet and relaxing!! It was a good place near the beach but not on the beach. The pool was amazing and we will go back soon!! Thanks

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe_Lester_AGM_HRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

It was the BEST of both worlds. Staying on the beach and being able to walk down the boardwalk to the beach was awesome. It only took a few minutes to get to the downtown historic district but I enjoyed being on the beach. We had a puppy with us and St. Augustine Island Inn has designated dog friendly rooms. I was impressed with the cleanliness of the property and rooms, and the friendliness of the owner/manager. I would not hesitate staying again.
Steve and his family are committed to providing the best service. For the rates and the proximity to beach and sites, I recommend St Augustine Island Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, PA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

My husband and I stayed here recently and were very pleased with everything about the property. The owners were friendly and helpful. Our room was large and clean, the bedding was comfortable, the breakfast was just enough to get us started for the day. Had we been able to stay longer than one night, we would have made use of the trolley to go to the downtown area. We did enjoy a nice stroll to the nearby beach and would definitely stay here again. It is a nice quiet location.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

This hotel is close to the beach and yet not in the middle of all of the tourism, so it's quiet. It's a quick drive to restaurants & shops and only about 4 miles into historic downtown (there is a trolley that can take you if you don't have a car and this hotel has a trolley stop out front!). The rooms & pool are very clean and the hotel is managed with personalized care and pride by its owners. This feels like a family owned & operated establishment where customer satisfaction is the #1 focus. Hannah & Steve (owners) made sure we were comfortable and happy each day. The price is extremely reasonable and very competitive.

Room Tip: The 2nd floor room that overlooks the pool is sunny and quiet with nice views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jaime C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartselle, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

My wife and I stayed for four nights (weekday and weekend) recently and were very pleased with the service and our room. It was quiet, clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. we checked in quite late on a weekday night and the manager was polite and courteuus even thought it was well after midnight. It is a very easy walk to the beach from the motel and there are plenty of restaurants north and south of this location. Bed was clean and comfortable and we were pleased with the rates we got for our stay. Overall we would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southerngent6274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
#9 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#65 of 79 in St. Augustine
3.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
1.6 mi away
Regency Inn & Suites
Regency Inn & Suites
#48 of 79 in St. Augustine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
1.7 mi away
Super 8 St. Augustine Beach
Super 8 St. Augustine Beach
#10 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN St. Augustine Beach Inn
BEST WESTERN St. Augustine Beach...
#3 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Augustine Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Augustine Island Inn

Property: St Augustine Island Inn
Address: 894 A1A Beach Boulevard, St. Augustine, FL 32080 (Formerly Ramada Limited St. Augustine Beach)
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — St Augustine Island Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy larger than average rooms and suites with pool, free continental breakfast, covered parking, morning paper and trolley service to historic downtown all just a few yards from the beautiful St. Augustine Beaches on Anastasia Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your St Augustine Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Augustine Island Hotel Saint Augustine
St Augustine Island Saint
Ramada Saint Augustine
St Augustine Island Inn St. Augustine, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing