We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel but definitely there are some issues that need to be addressed.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
World Golf Village Renaissance St. Augustine Resort
Ranked #27 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but definitely there are some issues that need to be addressed.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I came to St. Augustine for my Mom's birthday and decided we would stay at WGV because we haven't golfed in a while. The hotel upon walking in is very nice. Staff is on hand to assist you immediately. The room was pretty clean but the bathroom walls and other areas really need to be wiped down regularly. There is a little mold in the bathroom shower grout. There was a hair on the pillow. (I personally find that gross but I know it can happen) the floors and carpet were very clean. We had a later evening snack at the bar and it was excellent. A salad and some quesadillas. The bartender was very accommodating. This morning we decided to have breakfast at the restaurant and I have to tell you I feel it should have been refunded. The buffet pancakes were over sweet, they disintegrated
when you tried to pick them up. For $17 I would expect fresher food. Just yuck. After waiting for 15 minutes to be acknowledged, the very nice wait staff did take my drink order, another 15 minutes... I ordered the egg white fritata another 15 minutes and my fiance is already finished... no egg white fritata. I took it to go. For $14 it should have at least been accompanied by fruit or toast??? Really? We have one more night we are staying here but we will eat elsewhere. I do have earplugs so the humming sound was not a huge inconvenience. I have traveled and stayed at many places all over the country and I do have to say that this was average at best. I do want to mention we are not playing golf here although both courses are very very good. The price on aerated greens is still $129. So we are at St. Johns Golf and Country Club for $50! Very NICE.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelebella1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffreyOliasami, General Manager at World Golf Village Renaissance St. Augustine Resort, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for choosing our resort for your celebration. I appreciate your feedback and I am happy you were provided great service in the Bar at Villagio. We will address the other items that need further attention and I thank you for taking the time to share the details of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    298
    137
    74
    52
See reviews for
208
357
26
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

On June 7th 2014 I stayed for one week at this prestigious resort, really I did not have much dealings with the front desk clerks but the maid was very nice and friendly, I stayed on the 4th floor overlooking the golf course, very lovely hotel in more of a secluded area.

Room Tip: choose the side overlooking the golf course where you have a balcony with chairs where you can sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Genieve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffreyOliasami, General Manager at World Golf Village Renaissance St. Augustine Resort, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for staying at our resort and sharing your experience. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope you will plan to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
115 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

I was there on Saturday, 7 June 2014 while attending the Battle of the Midway Dinner (an annual event sponsored by the Navy League Jacksonville, FL honoring WWII veterans/survivors). For the past few years (four or five), the event has been held at the Renaissance Resort at the World Golf Village in St. Augustine, FL. I have been to the event four times and have not been disappointed. The Renaissance always delivers exceptional service whether it's the dinner in the banquet hall, the comfortable rooms or the staff. The Renaissance even offers a discounted room rate if attending the Midway Dinner that also includes breakfast the next morning. A truly spectacular event all the way around.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayinfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffreyOliasami, General Manager at World Golf Village Renaissance St. Augustine Resort, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
You put it best "a truly spectacular event”. Thank you for sharing your experience with others in the TripAdvisor community. The Battle of the Midway Dinner is such an important event to our resort and I am honored to be invited to attend each year as well. Please plan to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davie, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

The rooms were very clean but there was constant humming sound coming out of the bathroom. The AC was was not consistent with the temperture setting. There was a green hue coming out of the AC duct. The reception desk was very courteous and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffreyOliasami, General Manager at World Golf Village Renaissance St. Augustine Resort, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for the compliments to our guest service associates. I appreciate you sharing your concerns with the AC and we have addressed the issue with the unit. Please plan to stay with us again when you are in St. Augustine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
60 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

When things can go wrong, usually they do with me and my family . Most of the time the outcome of such things are better in the end , however I must say I am disappointed with this hotel.
When we arrived ( after 2 pm) our room still was not ready, so we have the woman behind the desk our number to call us when it was . After 2 hours and no call we decided to head back and see what was going on. The woman behind the desk told us they did call and left a message , I told her no.. No one called . She recited the number 123-456-789.... The woman who I left the number with ( who re-read the number to me didn't write down the last number to our phone number , thus no call... After seeing this she comped our breakfast for the next morning.. Fine . Then we went to our room after dinner and watched TV.. However the TV had a small glitch and was about 1/10 th Of its picture size, so we had to call maintenance who came an fixed it . The morning we left, our toilet stopped working , wouldn't flush at all... I told the front desk and we left. All in all the hotel is a wonderful location but maintenance needs to be a TOP priority at this hotel... For it is most surly lacking . I don't know if ill stay here again...

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avolonlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffreyOliasami, General Manager at World Golf Village Renaissance St. Augustine Resort, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for staying with us and please plan to visit us again. I am sorry the guest service error prevented us from being able to get you into your room early. I am happy to hear that breakfast was offered for the inconvenience and I hope that you enjoyed the restaurant. We strive to stay ahead of items needing attention in the guest rooms and I apologize that you had to report anything to us. I truly hope you will stay with us again in the future and allow us to provide a perfectly relaxing stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
279 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Let's start by saying, I don't play golf... but I chose the location as it was convenient to the places I wanted to go (St. Augustine, FL). First off, it can be seen from I-95 but it will take another five minutes or more to wind around the property to get to the hotel. Parking is hit or miss. A popular restaurant (Caddyshack) is adjacent to the hotel so parking is shared. There are no luggage carts to be found (nor trash cans). Check in was fast. As a Gold Hilton Honors member I inquired about free breakfast but since this is a report, no freebie. I was given a free movie to watch on cable. I didn't. I checked in a little before the normal check in time (4pm) and was given a room. Corner room, golf course side. Nice sunsets. Could see pool and practice putting greens. Small room but comfy. Couch and chair and desk with chair. Room also contained a wet bar. Lots of lighting. Nice TV with lots of channels. Soft towels and Aveda hair care products along with other bathroom necessities. One concern was what seemingly looked like mold in a/c vents (see photo). Hotel is beautiful with artwork hanging from ceiling and a stream in the middle. There is a "real" Starbucks inside the hotel as we did not choose to go for the pricey breakfast. Staff was friendly and attentive.

Room Tip: Ask for the golf course view. Much better, and quieter, than parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GRGADA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffreyOliasami, General Manager at World Golf Village Renaissance St. Augustine Resort, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for choosing our resort and for sharing the highlights of your stay with others. We appreciate the compliments to the associates and the service they provided you. I hope you will stay with us again in the future; there is always more to see in St. Augustine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel for business the first week of June. The conference center was easily accessible although freezing -- bring a sweater! The lobby was lovely. The room was tidy and functional, but I expected a bit more "wow" for a Renaissance. The bar and restaurant were comfortable and the food/beverage was good, though the service was slower than ideal.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank TheFANs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffreyOliasami, General Manager at World Golf Village Renaissance St. Augustine Resort, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for your comments to others considering a visit to the Renaissance. I appreciate your review and we will continue to improve the service provided in our restaurant, please come back and see us when you travel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
11.5 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.7 mi away
St Augustine Hotel & Suites
St Augustine Hotel & Suites
#62 of 78 in St. Augustine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
10.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#21 of 78 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
6.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott St. Augustine I-95
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Saint Augustine North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to World Golf Village Renaissance St. Augustine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about World Golf Village Renaissance St. Augustine Resort

Property: World Golf Village Renaissance St. Augustine Resort
Address: 500 S Legacy Trl, St. Augustine, FL 32092-2719 (Formerly The Renaissance World Golf Village Resort)
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — World Golf Village Renaissance St. Augustine Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore everything that downtown St. Augustine has to offer! Renaissance World Golf Village Resort and Convention Center offers a complimentary shuttle for individual guests to and from downtown St. Augustine(based on availability). The Renaissance World Golf Village Resort offers fresh, well appointed accommodations featuring 37 inch flat-panel televisions, sparkling new bathrooms and furnishings, high-speed wireless Internet access, spacious work areas, wet bars and refrigerators among many modern luxuries. Meet in the largest combination hotel and convention center between Orlando and Atlanta. Within 15 minutes of the resort enjoy 108 holes of championship golf, including the Slammer and Squire, located just steps from your guest room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your World Golf Village Renaissance St. Augustine Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance World Golf Village Hotel Saint Augustine
Renaissance Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Renaissance
World Golf Village Renaissance St. Augustine Resort Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing