We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very clean - cockroach - would not stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District
Ranked #21 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Not very clean - cockroach - would not stay again”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

The reception staff were excellent both for check-in, check-out and also when they found us another room when the toilet cistern kept running after flushing. Looking at other reviews this is obviously a maintenance issue. The food was fine although the breakfast area could have had a couple more tables as some people had to eat whilst standing. The biggest problem was lack of cleanliness. The rooms and corridors needed a really good vacuum and the dusting in the rooms was non-existent. The beds were clean and comfortable but other aspects of cleanliness were not up to the usual Hampton Inns' standard. This was one of 12 Hampton Inns that we stayed at during our trip to Florida and it was definitely the dirtiest. The worst part was when we found a cockroach on the corridor carpet as we were taking our bags to the car. When we reported it, a member of staff quickly removed it in a piece of tissue but it was not a good experience. Fortunately we had only booked for one night. Sadly it was my birthday.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff V, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear ,


I’m Jeff Vallone GM at the Hampton Inn Historic, St. Augustine FL. Thank you for staying with us when you were in town. As GM at this property, I’m sorry that you were unhappy your stay with our Hampton Inn. Our hotel prides its self on cleanliness and customer service and your review will allow us an opportunity to improve those areas Our intent is to 100% satisfy all our guest. Hope to see you soon!

Jeff and your friends at the
Hampton Inn Historic St. Augustine fl.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    192
    111
    60
    19
See reviews for
228
288
19
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed here two nights in February. Good choice if you like the typical "Hampton experience". Clean, pleasant, good breakfast, quiet atmosphere. Distance to the historical attractions is not close enough for pleasant walking but we had no problem with parking in mid February. We used a coupon from one of the interstate coupon books for a room rate around $80. Room felt small for the furniture. Two queen beds left little room for the small table and two chairs that were way too large for the space. Nice flat screen tv. Spacious, bright bathroom. Carpet in room needed replacing or deep cleaning. No microwave or fridge in our room so ask if that's important to you.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Member98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Dear Guest,


I’m Jeff Vallone GM at the Hampton Inn Historic, St. Augustine FL. Thank you for staying with us when you were in town. As GM at this property, I’m sorry that you were unhappy with our location in the Historic District of St. Augustine. Our hotel is on the north edge of the Historic District and a full mile from some of the main attractions, so I understand that you were displeased that it is just outside of true walking distance. We had no intent to mislead you and hope you would stay with us again if you happen to visit St. Augustine again and although we will still be outside walking distance we do have a few touring company’s that lessen the negative effect of our location.

Hope to see you soon!

Jeff and your friends at the
Hampton Inn Historic St. Augustine fl.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, DF
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Great accomodations, nice breakfast, very nice service! Close to historical downtown (though you'll need a cab or a car to go there). Prices compatible with the quality. I stayed there for just one night, but I recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henriquepdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear guest,


I’m Jeff Vallone GM at the Hampton Inn Historic, St. Augustine FL. Thank you for your positive feedback! I’m so glad that you enjoyed you visit to the oldest city. It’s our pleasure to offer you great Hampton service, and I’m so glad you chose our hotel for your lodging needs.

Thanks again for staying with us and for reviewing our hotel. I hope you can come back for another visit and we again can provide the accommodations’ and service that makes you feel welcome.

Hope to see you soon!

Jeff and your friends at the
Hampton Inn Historic St. Augustine fl.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, NC
Level 6 Contributor
413 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

This hotel is located about a mile from the heart of the historic district. This wasn't a problem for us, since we were there right after the end of the Christmas/New Year's holiday season and crowds were light. Parking was readily available downtown. At peak seasons or during hot weather this might be a consideration. The hotel itself was excellent. The room was quiet, clean, and in very good shape. Everything in it worked. The bed was comfortable and the wi-fi was excellent. Our encounters with the staff were very pleasant. Breakfast was typical for Hampton Inns. The scrambled egg concoction is inedible, but everything else is just fine, and the whole area is attractive and well kept. The price was very reasonable, and we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OtherMountainDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear guest,


I’m Jeff Vallone GM at the Hampton Inn Historic, St. Augustine FL. Thank you for your positive feedback! I’m so glad that you enjoyed you visit to the oldest city. It’s our pleasure to offer you great Hampton service, and I’m so glad you chose our hotel for your lodging needs.

Thanks again for staying with us and for reviewing our hotel. I hope you can come back for another visit and we again can provide the accommodations’ and service that makes you feel welcome.

Hope to see you soon!

Jeff and your friends at the
Hampton Inn Historic St. Augustine fl.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The staff is great! The atmosphere is warm and welcoming. The rooms are cleaned and stocked really well every day. Although on the outskirts of the historic district, it is an easy walk to the historic district; took about 20 minutes. If you purchase a ticket on the Trolley, they will pick you up at the hotel and shuttle you to the Old Jail station which is around the corner. I would definitely stay at this hotel again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rcudel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnetonka, Minnesota, United States
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

The staff is very friendly and goes out of the way to accommodate you! I really enjoyed my stay there!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

I agree with reviewers who say this is not in the historical district. Technically it is but the reality is that it's a mile away from 'stuff' and after hoofing it through the historic district a walk back can be a bit much. And parking downtown can be a bear.
But the staff here is above and beyond what you find in a typical Hampton. Very helpful, considerate and accomodating.
Also, be advised that the suites all are in the front the property and this is right on Rt 1 and noisy with vehicle traffic not to mention that a railroad runs directly across the street. If you're a light sleeper you are advised to get a standard room near the back of the property.
All in all though a good stay at a good property.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jtlijnvainashburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic
1.4 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach
1.6 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#12 of 78 in St. Augustine
633 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District

Property: Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District
Address: 2050 N. Ponce de Leon Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32084-2622
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
#25 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District Hotel Saint Augustine
Hampton Inn Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing