We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be Careful in the Shower!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District
Ranked #22 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Be Careful in the Shower!”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This hotel has the most slippery and dangerous showers I have ever seen! It's like standing on ice -- next time I come here (which I doubt I will), I'll bring a cake of surfboard wax. We had a Jacuzzi, too, which was also slick as grease. Many other reviewers have mentioned this, but the hotel doesn't seem to have taken the criticisms to heart. Maybe when they get sued because somebody took a header they'll wake up.

Other than dangerous bathrooms, the hotel is typical of a Hampton Inn, maybe a notch below. Our room was very big, but the furniture was uncomfortable. US 1 passed right below our windows, with a railroad track across the street. Who knew so many trains ran in Florida? There was one very long freight heading south at night, and another (maybe the same one) heading north in the morning.

The hotel is at the very corner of the Historic District, so you'll want to drive if you're exploring St. Augustine. There are restaurants nearby, but the desk clerk recommended we not walk there -- he was mugged in the parking lot later that evening, so I guess he gave us good advice!

The breakfast area is cramped and the lobby on the dark side. All in all, I'd give this place a miss unless you're stuck for a room in St. Augustine. But shower before you arrive.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kdarkes, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear Mike S,
We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay with us in the oldest city. We are currently preparing for a full bathroom renovation of all of guest rooms and will certainly address your concerns about the slippery tub. We appreciate your business and do look forward to your next visit to St. Augustine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    188
    109
    59
    19
See reviews for
219
283
18
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

This property is not really within walking distance of the old town, so a bit of a misnomer. Right off Ponce de Leon/US 1 and surrounded by other moderate motels/hotels and chain restaurants. As others have noted, probably at least a half hour walk to the old town. Otherwise, good quality Hampton Inn standards. Liked the designated parking spots for Diamond members though I think they worked more on the honor system than anything else. Rooms were good size. Had Direct TV with a number of HBO channels (similar to home cable) that was a better offer than most hotels. Continental breakfast was served in the lobby, which was pretty compact though not a problem the day I was there. In the evening, there also were freshly baked cookies. During my stay, there seemed to have been some type of purse snatching/smash and grab in the parking lot (where I believe the victim was a hotel employee) that brought the police to the premises. The staff said this type of incident had occurred in other hotels as well in the area, so being watchful is probably not a bad idea when visiting St. Augustine. It seems hotels in the old town are very expensive, so this property all in all is a good compromise option with reliable Hampton features.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Trotamundos09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenandoah Valley, VA
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Hotels closer to the Historic District were much more expensive, so we opted for a bit further out. The hotel is about a mile walk to the historic district, which worked well for us. As recommended by the hotel, We took the more pleasant San Marco route rather than Ponce de Leon/route 1. which is a more pleasant walk. Another option is to drive to the historic district and park in a lot @ $8 to $10 a day or use one of the many tourist trollies, which give a tour and allow you to get on and off the trolly at various stops..

The hotel room has a fresh. contemporary look. They noted that the duvet covers were fresh for each guest, which I assume is in response to many travel bloggers commenting that hotel bedspreads are not cleaned often enough. All the amenities were fine and we appreciated the tv channel listing. The staff is friendly and we especially appreciated Sean who checked us in. The typical hotel breakfast buffet was offered, including fresh fruit, with coffee available throughout the day. A pleasant reasonably priced stay. There are train tracks near the hotel, so we asked for s room away from the front of hotel. We have had good experiences with this chain and have become a Hilton Honors member and have used their app to book.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Altered_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kdarkes, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Altered_E,
Thank you for such an informative and positive review of your recent stay with us. I was glad to read you enjoyed your visit as much as we enjoyed having you with us. Thank you for mentioning Sean specifically- I will be sure to pass along your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Good location coming off I 95 close to downtown as well. Good quality for the price. Abundant breakfast and good parking. Will stay again for sure. We have stayed in Hampton Inn hotels through out our journey and were not disapointed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Isabelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kdarkes, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Isabelle R,
We were so glad to read that you enjoyed your visit as much as we enjoyed having you here with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Thank you for choosing Hampton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Admittedly, when I drove up, I
said "oh no", but when I walked
into the lobby and was greated
so warmly by "Alan" ( in shirt, tie and jacket ) I knew that
I had prejudged the place. It is
quiet, immaculate, and had all
the little " touches" missing at
other Hampton Inns. And....after
a long day of driving, it was so
nice to smell those cookies just
out of the oven. Not in the
heart of the historic district, but
a short walk to one of the trolleys ! This Hampton Inn is
a gem!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcrorick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kdarkes, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear bcroirick,
Thank you for such wonderful comments regarding your recent stay with us in Historic St. Augustine. We appreciate your kind words and acknowledgements towards Alan at check in, evening treats, and property location. If you ever find yourself back this way we do look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leesburg fl, United States
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We were very pleased with our room and all services. A small problem wit the TV remote was addressed and solved immediately. All staff was friendly and helpful, and the room was immaculate. Breakfast was exceptional.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kdarkes, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear William S,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property based off of your most recent stay. We enjoyed having you stay with us and do look forward to your next trip when we can welcome you back.
Thanks again,
Your Friends at the Hampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

My husband and I stayed there for one night. Clean and comfortable room, good breakfast. Easy check-in and check-out. The young gentleman at the desk suggested a couple of places to eat. Overall a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yankeegirl48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kdarkes, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear yankeegirl48,
Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us here in St. Augustine. Glad to read that you enjoyed staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.
All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic
1.4 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach
1.5 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
1.6 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#11 of 78 in St. Augustine
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District

Property: Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District
Address: 2050 N. Ponce de Leon Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32084-2622
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
#25 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District Hotel Saint Augustine
Hampton Inn Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing