We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District
Ranked #21 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Owensboro, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just okay. ”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

We love Hampton Inns, they're usually the only place we'll stay since they're usually pretty clean and consistent. This place was a little disappointing. Looks like they've updated the lobby, which is nice. The staff was great - very courteous and helpful. There's no automatic door at the main entrance, which is inconvenient when you've got your hands full of bags and luggage. The room smelled a little musty, which for being near the water and in Florida humidity (and having a pool) I guess I could overlook. We sprayed some body spray and it was fine. Room was clean with a comfy bed.

However, the hot tub and pool were pretty dirty - lots of bugs and debris, and what looked like a piece of a diaper (?) floating in the hot tub. So, we just laid out on the chairs. Also unfortunate was the check-in of two tour buses full of obnoxious (and incredibly LOUD) middle schoolers. But, I'm afraid the hotel can't help that.

We stayed here for free (Hilton points), but in hindsight would have rather stayed 5 minutes away at the Vilano Beach location. Probably won't come back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank nburke81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kdarkes, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear nburke81,
Thank you for your recent review of your stay at our St. Augustine historic Hampton. I apologize for the noise you encountered during your visit. I will be sure to have maintenance keep a closer eye on the pool and spa area as insects and debris could certainly ruin a relaxing afternoon. If you do decide to return to our property please contact the front desk directly so that we can apply any discounts we may be offering at the time of your visit. Thanks again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to any future visits to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    188
    111
    59
    19
See reviews for
220
284
18
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, FL, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stay at many Hampton Inns when we travel, this one is average. It has comfortable beds, nice clean furnishings, new carpeting throughout. However the quality of their breakfast items were disappointing, limited hot foods and stale danishes each morning. The staff was friendly upon check in.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Sheila A. K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kdarkes, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Sheila A. K,
I was pleased to read from your review that you enjoyed the recent remodel and upgrades to our property. I apologize for your disappointment in the breakfast selections but trust my staff took care of you throughout your visit. We look forward to your next visit and thank you for being a loyal guest of Hampton Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Cloud, Florida, USA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Clean, quite comfortable hotel. Friendly staff.
But name misleads you to think it in historic area and it is not within walking distance or close to the hop on hop off trolley stop!!

Be prepared to drive close to historic area or to a hop on hop off trolley stop that offers free parking!!

Room Tip: If you stay here, rooms are good and third floor is quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kdarkes, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Terry F,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and your recent stay with us here in the Oldest City. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed the accommodations although the location wasn’t exactly what you were expecting. If you do return to the area we encourage you to take advantage of the complimentary pickup that the tour companies offer to our guests. The front desk will put in the call for you whenever you are ready and the shuttle bus will arrive to our property within 15 minutes to transport you the both trolley depots. Thank you again for your review and we do look forward to seeing you and your family in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Overpriced. Not worth the money paid for the type of facility and accommodations. Staff tries hard and is very cooperative but the facility is overrated and overpriced for what is offered. It gets the price because of location and other facilities that are nearby and very competitive.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank abernardf2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kdarkes, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear abernardf2014,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I was pleased to read that staff took good care of you during your stay. Due to our location, at this time of year, our weekend rates due tend to be higher. If you ever decide to revisit the area- please contact the property directly so we can try to apply any discounts we may be offering at that time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, United States
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stopped on the way home to Miami & was pleasantly surprised. This hotel is updated, very clean, and offers a really good complimentary breakfast. It's just outside the historic district but not too far. Great stay overall.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Pilar F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kdarkes, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Pilar F,
I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us on your stop over back to Miami. I appreciate you specifically highlighting the cleanliness and breakfast and will be sure to let the respective departments know they are doing their jobs so well. We look forward to your next trip when we can welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynton Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel for the 2nd time in the last 2 years. Chris ( Assistant Manager) and all of the hotel staff were very friendly and went out of their way to accommodate us through out our whole trip. The room was very clean and comfortable. We were even aloud to bring our Lovebird Peanut who we couldnt leave at home. The attractions were near by which was really great. We enjoyed them tremendously. We would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone. We would also come back and stay at this hotel again.

Thankyou Again, Lori and Anna Elmers

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 131313132014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kdarkes, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear131313132014,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us in the St. Augustine. We enjoyed having you and your mother stay with us and appreciated the conversations about your fun filled adventures. We do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homosassa, United States
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2014

To find a hotel that treats you as honored guests there's no place like the Hampton Inn in St. Augustine. Not only is the staff so friendly and helpful, this hotel was the cleanest and nicest smelling place to lay your head. The five o'clock fresh baked cookies fill the hotel with feelings of home.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kdarkes, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear WilliamK,
Thank you for such a wonderful review of your recent stay with us in St. Augustine. We enjoyed having you and I was so pleased to read that my staff took such great care of you during your visit. We look forward to your next trip when we can welcome you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic
1.4 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach
1.5 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
1.6 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#11 of 78 in St. Augustine
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District

Property: Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District
Address: 2050 N. Ponce de Leon Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32084-2622
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
#25 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District Hotel Saint Augustine
Hampton Inn Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing