We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time as good as the first”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District
Ranked #22 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Second time as good as the first”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Our second time visiting the area to see our daughter's College. This hotel is just barely down the road and extremely close to stop #1 on the Old Town Trolley (you could walk to the stop if need be, although you wouldn't need to with the free parking for the trolley). Staff is very friendly, the room is very clean, there is free breakfast and they even have a hot tub! We will be staying here whenever in town to visit our daughter. Thanks for everything.!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rd827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kdarkes, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Rd827,
It was so nice to see you and your family again at our property! We enjoyed your visit and thank you for your loyalty. For any upcoming visits to the area please contact the front desk directly so that we can apply the Flagler Family rate to your reservation. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    192
    111
    60
    19
See reviews for
228
288
19
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We have been stopping by here since 1998. Last year when we stayed there the hotel was showing wear and it's age. But the room was always clean and well maintained. We were surpised when entering the lobby and saw the major overhaul to bring it up to 2014.
Our room was redone in the new motif and clean. Yes I alway check this out. The staff was outgoing and helpful. The breakfast area has been expanded and the local gentleman maintaining the area was very cordial. Although the breakfast is free I always make it a habit to slip the attendant a gratuity. Also when leaving always leave a token of appreciation for the job they do. The redo of the hotel should bring their rating up again,

Room Tip: I would asked to face the north side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kdarkes, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear TomR,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our property! I was so pleased to read that as a returning guest you enjoyed our remodel and upgrades. It has been a lengthy project however we are thrilled with the results. I was also glad to hear that staff took such care of you- I will be sure to commend Chris, our breakfast attendant, on his level of service. We look forward to your next trip to our area and thank you for choosing our Hampton Hotel for your travel needs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Check in was made easy by a lovely lady named Vicki. She was very knowledgeable about the area. The room was very clean and felt fresh. Breakfast was ready on time and had a great selection for a complimentary breakfast. All in all I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LISA J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kdarkes, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Lisa J,
Thank you for such a positive review of your recent stay with us in the Oldest City! I was pleased to read that Vicky took such great care of you at check in- I will be sure to pass it along to her. I was also glad to see that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast. We look forward to your next visit and can’t wait to welcome you back to our property!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owensboro, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

We love Hampton Inns, they're usually the only place we'll stay since they're usually pretty clean and consistent. This place was a little disappointing. Looks like they've updated the lobby, which is nice. The staff was great - very courteous and helpful. There's no automatic door at the main entrance, which is inconvenient when you've got your hands full of bags and luggage. The room smelled a little musty, which for being near the water and in Florida humidity (and having a pool) I guess I could overlook. We sprayed some body spray and it was fine. Room was clean with a comfy bed.

However, the hot tub and pool were pretty dirty - lots of bugs and debris, and what looked like a piece of a diaper (?) floating in the hot tub. So, we just laid out on the chairs. Also unfortunate was the check-in of two tour buses full of obnoxious (and incredibly LOUD) middle schoolers. But, I'm afraid the hotel can't help that.

We stayed here for free (Hilton points), but in hindsight would have rather stayed 5 minutes away at the Vilano Beach location. Probably won't come back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank nburke81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kdarkes, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear nburke81,
Thank you for your recent review of your stay at our St. Augustine historic Hampton. I apologize for the noise you encountered during your visit. I will be sure to have maintenance keep a closer eye on the pool and spa area as insects and debris could certainly ruin a relaxing afternoon. If you do decide to return to our property please contact the front desk directly so that we can apply any discounts we may be offering at the time of your visit. Thanks again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to any future visits to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, FL, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stay at many Hampton Inns when we travel, this one is average. It has comfortable beds, nice clean furnishings, new carpeting throughout. However the quality of their breakfast items were disappointing, limited hot foods and stale danishes each morning. The staff was friendly upon check in.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Sheila A. K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kdarkes, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Sheila A. K,
I was pleased to read from your review that you enjoyed the recent remodel and upgrades to our property. I apologize for your disappointment in the breakfast selections but trust my staff took care of you throughout your visit. We look forward to your next visit and thank you for being a loyal guest of Hampton Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Cloud, Florida, USA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Clean, quite comfortable hotel. Friendly staff.
But name misleads you to think it in historic area and it is not within walking distance or close to the hop on hop off trolley stop!!

Be prepared to drive close to historic area or to a hop on hop off trolley stop that offers free parking!!

Room Tip: If you stay here, rooms are good and third floor is quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kdarkes, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Terry F,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and your recent stay with us here in the Oldest City. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed the accommodations although the location wasn’t exactly what you were expecting. If you do return to the area we encourage you to take advantage of the complimentary pickup that the tour companies offer to our guests. The front desk will put in the call for you whenever you are ready and the shuttle bus will arrive to our property within 15 minutes to transport you the both trolley depots. Thank you again for your review and we do look forward to seeing you and your family in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Overpriced. Not worth the money paid for the type of facility and accommodations. Staff tries hard and is very cooperative but the facility is overrated and overpriced for what is offered. It gets the price because of location and other facilities that are nearby and very competitive.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank abernardf2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kdarkes, General Manager at Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear abernardf2014,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I was pleased to read that staff took good care of you during your stay. Due to our location, at this time of year, our weekend rates due tend to be higher. If you ever decide to revisit the area- please contact the property directly so we can try to apply any discounts we may be offering at that time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic
1.4 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach
1.6 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#12 of 78 in St. Augustine
633 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District

Property: Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District
Address: 2050 N. Ponce de Leon Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32084-2622
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
#25 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District Hotel Saint Augustine
Hampton Inn Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing