We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing fancy, close clean enough and convenient”

Historic Inn St. Augustine
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Historic Inn St. Augustine
Ranked #77 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Mich
Level 6 Contributor
723 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy, close clean enough and convenient”
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Just a simple 1-2 star place but clean enough, and just a bridge away from the historic district. A bit too far to walk but you could if you wanted. Price was one of the best around. Ok place but again not fancy by any means

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fastphilad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    4
    3
    6
    36
See reviews for
12
21
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montverde, Florida, United States
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Last minute plans brought us to the "Historic" INN . Everywhere else was booked so we knew this wasn't going to be a place we were going to hang out by the pool. Just a place to lay down for the night. Our first clue when we arrived at our $80.00 + tx room was that the soap had been used then put back into the wrapper to be pawned off as "new but opened for your convienence"
The towels were gray and tattered. Nothing was anywhere near what I would call clean. We brought up blankets and pillows from the car and kept a light on to make the roaches think we were awake. Nice green pool too, for those who want that organic diving experience! Really, just find a Wallmart parking lot and sleep in the car.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bradley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. Augustine hotels

1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Definately not the nicest place, but if you're not going to spend much time there its fine. Take your own pillow!!! Most uncomfortable pillows I have ever used! Its okay if you're ballin on a budget, but if not get something a little more expensive.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lhwilkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

The appearance seems newer when you first look at the building but look closer and you will see a building that shows wear and neglect.

We found the doors and areas that are touched to be filthy. No one seems to wash or clean the doors or handles or jambs.

Also the air conditioners are not on when you enter the room so the room smells a bit until you can circulate the air. Our air conditioner worked fine with the odd rattle from the fan.

There is a refrigerator and microwave in the room and there are at least 60 channels on the TV but that is about the extent of any perks.

If I were to visit the area again I would definitely look elsewhere as this is the last place I would stay again.

Take time to look at the room first, you may leave as the couple did just before us.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maribel, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

$39 Single=$44 double and cities always get TAXES. My room was NOT SCARY, nor was it lavish. It was clean enough, the shower was hot and the mattress did not sag. It was a great location, walking distance to GAS FULL SERVICES restaurant. I checked a few other discount hotels along the way and took a pass since HO JO's was not looking $20 better and a couple of the others were obviously run down. Good thing it was a vacation stay though since no coffee til the office opened at 8 am....

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iRACEiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Advertised rate on sign of $39.00. Registered and was charged $45.00. Later did some checking on the tax rate and found that I had been gouged on the tax. I returned to the desk and asked for a detailed statement showing the tax breakdown and was met with instant hostility. I was given a receipt which still wasn't correct but did indicate an overcharge of 1.01 which in reality was an overcharge of $2.00. When I asked for a refund of the difference, I was told it was a service fee? When questioned about it, I was told that it was for the maid. I again asked for a refund of the excessive charge and was great hostility told that I could just leave and never come back again. I was given $1.01 and the manager stormed off. I will be filing a BBB report in ref to this as well! Took photos of Motel sign and receipts. Is there no integrity left?

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank droadrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We stopped in to this motel unplanned. It looked ok from the outside for the price, but how wrong we were. The staff were very rude - it seemed we were a huge inconvenience to them. They showed us to our dirty rooms. We were very worried so had a close look around. The bathroom was dirty, the bed was dirty and we found little bugs crawling around in the drawers -bed bugs! We were so grossed out that we asked to see another room. Same problem. The lady started yelling about there being no bugs as she wiped the inside of the drawers with some spray cleaner - that will not get rid of those nasty bloodsuckers, you need full fumigation of the room. Our friends had a room with two double beds and we did not find any bugs and we were planning on going out late so only sleeping there a few hours so decided ot share the room - it was still not clean but we managed. They then wouldn't refund us the full amount for our room because we stayed in the other room - even though the charges were by the room, not per person. DO NOT STAY HERE. This place should be shut down. Sadly many of the other motels in the area looked very similar - maybe run by the same family? Pay the extra and stay closer to the main area of St. Augustine.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JJYTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Anastasia Inn
Anastasia Inn
#51 of 78 in St. Augustine
294 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Town Inn
Old Town Inn
#67 of 78 in St. Augustine
8 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sleep Inn St. Augustine
Sleep Inn St. Augustine
#40 of 78 in St. Augustine
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#50 of 78 in St. Augustine
423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Budget Inn St. Augustine
Budget Inn St. Augustine
#55 of 78 in St. Augustine
40 reviews
0.5 mi away
Island Shores Inn
Island Shores Inn
#26 of 31 in St. Augustine
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Inn St. Augustine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Inn St. Augustine

Property: Historic Inn St. Augustine
Address: 107 Anastasia Blvd., St. Augustine, FL 32084 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Historic Inn St. Augustine 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Historic Inn St. Augustine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic St Augustine
Historic Hotel St Augustine
Historic Inn St. Augustine Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing