We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than satisfactory...for a price.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beachfront Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“More than satisfactory...for a price.”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

After several days of camping and couch surfing at a student residence I was in need of some respite. I spent two nights in the Lighthouse cabin which is actually the smallest easternmost unit attached to two adjoining cabins. Fortunately while I was there the other units did not seem to be occupied. Staff we're friendly and accommodating and we're reasonable in allowing the ample and healthy breakfast to be slightly later than the scheduled 9am sitting. The owner Lauren (a former nutritionist) thoughtfully provided a couple of alternative health books. The kitchen staff we're prompt and pleasant.

The property and adjacent co-owned La Fiesta hotel connect to the beach by way of boardwalks over beach dunes which have been wisely protected by the hotel owners. The property is close enough to cycle to town and nearby to some handy restaurants such as a funky Taco shack and
authentic Mexican restaurant Playa Chac-mool.

There we're some minor deficiencies as follows some of which I relayed to Lauren who did responded with an appropriate level of concern:

-The room refrigerator was quite noisy...necessitating the plug to be pulled at night.
-irrigation system directed an early mourning hour noisy stream of water on street side windows
-mattress needs upgrading
-no soap dish/shower caddy missing (bracket on wall)
-bathroom window loose
-knob on bedside table loose
-battery in electric "candle" dead
-new age religious book on coffee table
-carpeting in room could use a cleaning
-no in-room recycling ( although apparently separated this is not evident)
-awning rod at entrance presents a striking hazard for anyone over 5'10"

These are minor deficiencies which can be easily corrected but for the cost you wouldn't expect them.

Room Tip: I would recommend an end unit in the separated buildings as they should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank lesspeeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    32
    15
    4
    5
See reviews for
6
174
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ninjacowboy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Took wifey here for a GREAT vacation!

Adjacent to the beach, full of charming decor, welcoming staff, delicious food & great weather. Clean, all-hours hot tub and private pool. Very short walk to mass transit. Free, on-our-honor use of beach towels, bikes & chairs. Luscious bed sheets and romantic views.

The portions for breakfast were totally adequate (living in NYC, we learn to appreciate quality over quantity). All houseguests had to eat together (unless we slept in; then, the food was delivered to our room--sexy breakfast in bed!). Some might complain about having to eat communally, but for us, eating together is FUN! I very much enjoyed meeting the other houseguests! We even got some good advice about St. Augustine during these encounters.

The owner (Lauren) was available and took plenty of time to ingratiate her guests, even offering us fresh aloe from her garden after my wife got sunburned--that is an example of excellent, personal attention! On our last day, Lauren made sure that the hotel portion allowed us to enjoy their pool and facilities after checking out but before we caught our flight home.

Lauren's staff is experienced and caring. When we needed recommendations for dinner, the staff obliged us with fine suggestions. (FYI: Ice Plant Bar iceplantbar.com is superb.)

The only deficiency I can imagine is that the walls are just a bit thin. But (and I doubt I've been unclear on this point) my wife and I don't really mind sharing space (or sounds) with other houseguests. So, the times sound traveled didn't bother us at all!

I would recommend the Beachfront B&B to any couple who wants an affordable, uncomplicated, romantic vacation. Beachfront B&B did not break the bank, is staffed with courteous and kind people and an attentive owner, had immediate access to the beach, and (I almost forgot!), gave us a discount on neighboring mini-golf!

The bottom line of a B&B is does it make you feel comfortable from the first moment. Arriving at the Beachfront in the beginning and each day after, my wife and I felt enveloped in upscale comforts of home.

Room Tip: Get rooms on the upper floor, overlooking the ocean. There's nothing more fun than waking up to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ninjacowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Hill, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Just spent a 4 night stay at the Beachfront Bed & Breakfast. Everything about our visit was great. We stayed in the main house and the room was spacious and very comfortable. I believe the house was built in the 1940s and was beautifully appointed and maintained.
The staff was great, 2 ladies who served breakfast and serviced our room. Lauren, the owner, was a gracious host and helpful with restaurant suggestions.
The house overlooks the beach--a great view. There is a pool and hot tub as well.
Adults only, so a nice place for a couples getaway. A short drive to historic St. Augustine.
Highly recommended, and if back in St. Augustine, the place we would stay.

Room Tip: Upstairs, convenient to breakfast and the sitting room. We had back bedroom which was great; front 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This is our third visit to this B&B. We love the friendly and relaxing atmosphere. The rooms are nice and quiet. There is a beautiful pool, hot tub, and you are truly steps to the beach. The breakfast is good and the staff is always willing to help you make reservations or suggestions for daily excursions. We only wish that they would put an ice machine on the premises.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southerntravelers02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2014

To stay. we were in the Lighthouse, cozy and inviting. Breakfasts were delicious. We enjoyed meeting other guests .The staff were helpful and suggested places to eat etc. We would recommend it to friends .Enjoyed the proximity of the beach.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evan12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2014

As far as the eye can see beautiful, clean and wide beaches along the ocean and directly accessible from the Beachfront B & B. Great place to stay with very comfortable rooms, common area and an awesome enclosed veranda to view the sunrises and ocean throughout the day--including the refreshments and other amenities always available and a very friendly, helpful staff. A #10 place to stay.

Room Tip: Upstairs in the pink house facing the beach. Great views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flosew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

This is a B&B behind the dune on the ocean. You have easy access to the beach that is beautiful. We stayed in one of the basement rooms. They made good use of the space. The main problem was people we on top of you and all you heard was walking and voices. Not very romantic. The food was average. The other guest were wonderful. The thing that really confused me was the staff left a tip envelope on the bedside. When we checked out they asked if we wanted to tip and said there were 3 employees. I have never had a B&B do this. ?

Room Tip: Everyone who we talked to said stay upstairs facing the water. Best Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FunnyFoote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Augustine Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
865 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
#9 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
1,098 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#3 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western St. Augustine Beach Inn
Best Western St. Augustine Beach...
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
748 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
#6 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
1,310 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine ...
#4 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachfront Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachfront Bed & Breakfast

Property: Beachfront Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1 F St, Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine, FL 32080-6915
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine > Saint Augustine Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Augustine Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachfront Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront B & B on beautiful St. Augustine Beach and just 10 minutes to historic St. Augustine. Enjoy our wonderful rooms, oceanfront pool & Jacuzzi, delicious breakfasts, elegant bedding, private bathrooms and most of all, "million dollar ocean views." Spa services, restaurants and shops nearby. Come visit our quiet, private and relaxing coastal retreat directly on the ocean, the best kept secret in St. Augustine. Winner: One of the top 14 most romantic B & B's in North America by AAA. Voted 9th best beach in the U.S. by Tripadvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel and Cancelon so you can book your Beachfront Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachfront Bed And Breakfast
Beachfront Hotel Saint Augustine Beach
Beachfront Bed & Breakfast Saint Augustine Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing