We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and friendly close to beach.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

This small but nicely decorated motel had comfortable beds and pillows, a large shower area and perfect small terrace for our needs. Though we did not use the pool it was enjoyed by other guests and had a nice splashing fountain for the kids. Though the hotel is close to the beach or does require a walk down the block and then across a very wide beach but it was beautiful! The restaurant in the motel is excellent and we purchased the breakfast voucher upon arrival which a good value. We enjoyed our stay and it was a good value.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Judy C,

We are happy to know that you felt we were a good value and we were able to meet all of your needs. Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (853)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

392 - 398 of 853 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

This is a really great hotel! It's in a great location, close to restaurants and it has a street right beside it that leads directly to the beach! They also have a great outdoor pool area with a nice jacuzzi. They provide beach towels for you by the pool, which was very convenient & the free lemon water provided is great when you get hot at the beach/pool. The inside of this hotel is decorated very nicely! The lobby is very grand and really sets the tone for the whole place. There is a FABULOUS restaurant inside that has the BEST breakfasts! So get the vouchers that the front provides for $8.50 to eat breakfast there or else it ends up being around $13.00. The rooms are great here! I stayed in an Executive suite that was huge! There was a great walk in shower that I loved! I loved the whole place, I would highly recommend it to anyone!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TinaQ105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

TinaQ105,

Thank you for your glowing review. We are always so happy to hear when guests have such a great time. It lets us know that what we do really is noticed. I will let the restaurant know what a fabulous time you had there. We hope that if you visit our beautiful city again, that you will think of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We booked a room at the Castillo Real hotel in St Augustine beach for Memorial weekend. The plan was to attend the Don Felder, Foreigner and Styx concert at the nearby amphitheater. It turned out Felder and Styx also apparently stayed there. Still, this was a nice hotel with a pleasant staff and a good restaurant. Breakfast was made to order and very good. We had Eggs Benedict and an omelet. The room was spacious, clean, nicely decorated and quiet. The pool was well used and the beach only a block away. The next concert we attend will probably find us back at the Castillo,Real.

Room Tip: Our ground floor room facing the parking lot was quiet. The rooms facing the pool and ocean might no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Anthony M,

We are glad that you chose to stay with us to attend the concert at the amphitheater. They do have a great venue there. I will pass on you compliments to the restaurant. We do hope to see you at the next concert you attend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our experience. We stayed 3 nights during spring break and were very pleased with the cleanliness, charm and location. The front desk employees were always helpful. The value was very good for the location. The pool was well kept and the closeness to the beach was convenient.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Susan M,
We are glad that we made your Spring Break enjoyable. Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay and we are appreciative for your business. We hope to see you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed for 3 nights.

Nice large room. Very large shower was a great touch. Small fridge and microwave in room. Easy beach access. I'm glad there are no buildings right on the beach directly. It is a beautiful beach.
Free coffee and lemon infused ice cold water in the lobby. Tiny fitness room, but the steam room worked perfectly.

I never got into the pool, but I did use the outdoor hot tub just before a T-storm rolled in. Perfect.

I had only one issue with the room. The AC was pretty loud (the rush of the air was pretty intense). I got used to it after night #1, but I can see how it could bother some.

I never ate at the restaurant, so i can't comment on that. There are about 6 bars/restaurants within 1/2 a mile.

I would easily recommend this room anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sebasib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

madjammin,

Thank you for your review. Our entire staff enjoyed reading it. We are thrilled to know you were able to enjoy some of our wonderful amenities. We hope that you will think of us if you visit our area again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Nice, charming hotel in St. Augustine Beach with easy beach access. Restaurant is very good for breakfast and dinner. Room is quite large and the shower is huge with nice bath wash. We are returning again later this month.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Suzie T,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are glad to know that you have been enjoying your time with us. Thank you for your return business and we are eager to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We booked an oceanfront room through central reservations. When we arrived we were told that we had a pool front not an ocean front. We decided to pay an additional fee for what we thought was an ocean front. The view was a partial view of the ocean with 3 rows of houses in front of us. The room was not an ocean front and was not worth the 2 additional charges.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for an ocean front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Len N N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel D, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Len N N,

I apologize that you thought we were oceanfront. Here at the property, we never say ocean front, only ocean view, because as you know we are definitely not an oceanfront property. I am not sure which avenue you booked through, but I am sorry that you were mislead. We hope that the rest of your stay was enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Augustine Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine ...
#4 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
811 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
886 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
#6 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
#9 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
1,108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott St. Augustine Beach
Courtyard by Marriott St. August...
#5 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western St. Augustine Beach Inn
Best Western St. Augustine Beach...
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascend Collection Castillo Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascend Collection Castillo Real

Address: 530 A1a Beach Blvd, Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine, FL 32080-7933
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine > Saint Augustine Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
Price Range: £87 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascend Collection Castillo Real 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ascend Collection Castillo Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascend Collection Castillo Real Hotel Saint Augustine Beach
Castillo Real Clarion Collection
Clarion Collection Saint Augustine Beach
Clarion Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Clarion
Ascend Collection Castillo Real Saint Augustine Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing