We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff and service was AMAZING”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
muncie
1 review
“The staff and service was AMAZING”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Besides the carpet in our pet friendly room, the people were Great. One of the best I have encounted at a resort hotel. Just ask if you have any questions or problems and the staff will answer or solve it. Thanks to the front desk service Beverly and the others, also Jeff the other staff members made my stay well worth it. I will go back next time we travel but won't bring my dog because of different reasons. Thanks so much to the people working at Holiday Isle who made my trip so so nice:)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ike g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayIsle32080, Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Thank you for all the compliments. We greatly appreciate it. We will share your remarks with all our staff, as we do with all the reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    326
    229
    128
    114
See reviews for
399
384
25
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
miami
Level Contributor
64 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I wish I would have read the reviews prior to booking the hotel...there is no way this is considered a "resort". The hotel is very old and not maintained well....i hated walking barefoot in the carpeted room it was so old. The beach is great but there is not even a rest room at the pool area, you have to walk to another building altogether to go to the bathroom in the hotel lobby where people check in. It is a simple hotel, old with a good beach, but no way can it refer to itself as a resort. St Augustine itself shines though.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jolie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayIsle32080, Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Thank you for staying with us. We are an older 'resort' hotel and do offer some resort amenities such as a full-service restaurant, poolside tiki bar, beach chair and umbrella rentals, and we are directly on the beach. We apologize that it wasn't all that you expected. The ownership of our hotel is looking to get bathrooms closer to the pool, but for the time being, the closest restrooms are still in the lobby building.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint Augustine Beach hotels

Tremont
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Stayed in St. Augustine for a couple of days prior to going to Disney and traveling south for a family vacation. This was a great relaxing way to start a vacation as the staff were super friendly and the beach was perfect! The hotel is a little older but very clean and its obvious the staff are experienced in making their guests happy. We expecially appreciate Randy (front desk), Deb and Kim with their morning smiles and hospitality in the restaurant (delicious fresh fruit bowls) and General Manager Celeste for making sure our stay was comfortable. It's definately a friendly place to stay and you recognize this when you are in the elevator and the maintenance man Tim stops what he is doing to personally show you directions. We'll certainly go back when we are in the area again. For families looking for something to do in the area, the Marineland swim with the dolphins and the Alligator farm were really fun, my kids loved it!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayIsle32080, Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We appreciate you staying with us and are glad our staff helped make your stay so enjoyable. We hope you come back and visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claxton, Georgia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I would say that is an average hotel at best. It is a pretty old hotel; however, the beds and linens were very clean. It was also located in different buildings. One building was in the front and then they had a tower building in the back with 5 floors.

I will say that this hotel was very accomodating. They allowed us to check in early around 1130am. They also upgraded us to a partial ocean view room with micro and fridge. We also got a discount for booking two more more nights. In addition, they let us do a late checkout of noon on our last day. I give them an A for this area of service.

The pool was very dirty. I assume this is because so many people come straight from the beach and jump in the pool without showering off. This could be addressed better. However, the location to the beach and pool was awesome. We could walk just a few steps from our room and be either at the pool or beachside. The location of this hotel cannot be beat!

The only negative that we have is that we called the front desk to arrange a cab for dinner. After 20 minutes with no cab, we asked them to call another one. After waiting 45 minutes, we finally got a cab. I don't know what the problem was that night, but this is surely not the way the cab service normally is on the beach.

Other than the cab issue, I would recommend this hotel for a budget beach trip. Location is awesome and the rooms were clean enough. It isn't luxury but for the price, you are getting a great deal.

If I went back for another beach trip, I would book this hotel again.

One other thing, our room was right across from an elevator and it was very loud in the mornings. So if I had known this before, we would have requested a different location.

The offered breakfast for a price. I ordered the french toast. It came with four slices and bacon and was only around 5 bucks. I would recommend the breakfast! We didn't try the lunch or dinner.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms looked to be the nicest ones!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaKaye79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayIsle32080, Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Thank you for staying with us. Sorry we couldn't help more with the taxi service. Sometimes, especially when there is a concert going on at the St. Augustine Amphitheater, the taxis take extra time to arrive. We are glad you enjoyed everything else with your stay. We do have an employee that looks after the pool each day, and I have shared your comments with him.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Just got a follow up email from hotel, wherein they asked me to share how I enjoyed my stay. I did not. In my opinion, hotel needs to close down and completely renovate, rather than stay open... or tear down and re-develop. Allow pets, but do not welcome them. They've got a great beachfront location, but it's not worth the price. The furnishings are nice enough, but the public areas are worn out and dirty. The pet rooms are ground floor, parking lot view, with windows that don't open. I advise travelers to look elsewhere!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayIsle32080, Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
I am sorry that you were not satisfied with the location of our pet-friendly rooms. We do not allow pets in the oceanfront rooms or above the first floor and that is a strict policy that we have to abide by and try to make it as clear as possible on our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Wife and I loved the immaculate, comfortable, and attractive ocean view room. Even though the weather wasn't totally cooperative (windy), we had a very romantic retreat. Staff was friendly, courteous, and efficient (special thanks to Maryann at the front desk). Resort has closest access to the beach that we saw and the only one supplying beach chairs, umbrellas, etc. This place is on point when it comes to customer satisfaction and we plan on returning soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayIsle32080, Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Thank you for the compliments. We are glad you had a great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dahlonega, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

It is truly amazing when you find something beyond your expectations! Staff friendly and helpful. Location beyond perfect. Rooms were clean and up to date. A great family destination. Can't wait to go back. Thank you for the best Spring Break ever!!!!!

Room Tip: Amazing views from beachfront rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amazingtwins97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayIsle32080, Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Glad you enjoyed watching the sunrise over the ocean. It's a great way to start the day! Thank you for choosing our hotel for your spring break getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Augustine Beach
0.2 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western St. Augustine Beach Inn
Best Western St. Augustine Beach...
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#3 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
#5 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
0.3 mi away
St Augustine Island Inn
St Augustine Island Inn
#49 of 78 in St. Augustine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine ...
#4 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort

Property: Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
Address: 860 A1a Beach Blvd, Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine, FL 32080-6715
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine > Saint Augustine Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort offers the best of both worlds, being directly on St. Augustine Beach, and only 10 minutes to historic 'Old Town.' Hotel amenities include a full service restaurant, free Wi-Fi, direct beach access, large outdoor pool, poolside tiki bar (seasonal) and a friendly staff. A variety of room options are available in our 150-room, 5-floor hotel, ranging from ground-floor rooms which are pet-friendly to partial view rooms to direct oceanfront rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Hotel Saint Augustine Beach
Holiday Inn St Augustine Beach
Holiday Inn Saint Augustine Beach
Saint Augustine Beach Holiday Inn
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort Saint Augustine Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing