We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No suprises”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Other than being dated, old tube type TV, no beach décor and some neglected minor maintenance we could not have expected more. Ate in the café one morning and the food was excellent but they gave me the bill before I had my grits buttered. No beach décor in the dining room either, cheap prints of old English buildings. The pool area was great and kept clean. Beach access could not be better. Friendly staff too. I got the impression they are going to let the property run its course and unload it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

420 - 426 of 1,108 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

Traveled for many years (US and abroad) until I retired so I have seen a few hotels!. Can honestly say this hotel/resort was a truly exceptional positive experience for me and my three granddaughters! This is an older hotel but is really kept clean and in good repair. Everyone there..front desk, restaurant, housekeeping, tiki bar staff and maintenance etc. have a positive additude like you don't see very often in customer service positions these days!
I will be going back in a few weeks with my three grandsons!!!

Room Tip: Oceanview rooms allow parents to check in on older children that may be swimming while the parents r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lovintraveltoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant J, Front Office Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words. We make customer service and guest satisfaction priority here at the Holiday Isle and Im glad to hear it shows. We hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

When you drive towards the hotel, the road is not very good and should be repaired. The first impression it's giving you; is it open?
Friendly staff at the reception though.
But the building needs some upgrades. It's very outdated. You can see that they are doing nothing about it.
It's stated and mentioned as middle class hotel, but it isn't. It's touristic.
The reason people come is for the beach. It's situated directly on and at a beautifull beach. Direct acces to it. Very beautifull. Loved that!

Room Tip: Choose ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant J, Front Office Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. As you mentioned, we are an older hotel. We have renovated part of the hotel with more renovations planned for the end of the season. Despite the age of the property, the location is unbeatable and the service is superb. We do hope you will stay with us again next time you're coming to the beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My sister and I just stayed here and it was an excellent place to stay! The only suggestions I would make is larger coffeemakers in the room. One cup maker just didn't work for us. First time I didn't walk in and smell mold in my room! Thank you! My husband and I are already planning on going back! Staff was very friendly and accommodating!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant J, Front Office Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for the great review! We look forward to serving you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is a nice older hotel on the ocean. As long as that's all you expect, you'll be very happy. The front desk staff were exceptional. The housekeeping staff were very helpful. And people who worked there and were walking around AWAYS spoke with a smile. Remarkable.

Our room was nice and very clean. We even had partial ocean view even though they call it a south facing no view room with a balcony. But we noticed the carpet was a little damp when we checked in. And when we got back to the room later, the carpet was soaked. Plumbing leak in a wall is what we suspected. We didn't want to have them vacuuming that late so they brought towels to soak it up. We were only staying for two nights and really didn't want to pack up.

Next day after coming back from breakfast we noticed that wet carpet smell, so we called called down to ask for a new room. They were very accommodating and our new room was actually nicer. Again, great customer service.

Our one big disappointment was the tiki hut was closed on Sunday due to an illness. After eating there on Saturday, we were looking forward to drinking and eating there again. I hate to think of the money they lost out on. The food was really, really good, as were the frozen drinks. The cafe inside didn't open for lunch so we had to order a pizza so we could stay by the pool.

This pool is by the ocean, but you can't see it due to the dunes. You also can't see the ocean from the first floor ocean front, not sure about the second floor.

This is an older hotel, but great for enjoying the beach at a reasonable cost. And lots of places to eat close by.

They also had chairs and umbrellas for rent on the beach, which added to our great long weekend.

Room Tip: South Rooms with a balcony are smaller. Some north rooms have comfy chairs and ottomans. Some rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awar58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant J, Front Office Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your time here and you were treated well. I'm sorry for the trouble with the carpet in your original room but happy to hear it was handled to your satisfaction and promptly.

Again thank you for your review and we hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My family recently enjoyed a stay at this lovely hotel on the beach.
We had exceptional service at the tiki bar. Sari was an attentive, friendly and fun server/bartender. Jeremy was also a very good server/bartender. Hope to see them on our next venture to Holiday Isle!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cathy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant J, Front Office Manager at Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thank you for staying with us and reviewing our hotel. The summer is heating up and the tiki bar is in full swing, I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your time there. We look forward to seeing you again next time you're in St. Augustine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is an older hotel, it use to be a Holiday Inn for the last 20 plus years. I chose it because it was dog friendly with tile floors instead of carpet. The beach is pet friendly too! Unfortunately all dog rooms are on the first floor overlooking The parking lot, NO VIEW! $20.00 pet fee per night. Over all the room was clean & tidy, beds comfortable. Pool is on the oceanside and they have a Restuarant. Look online for 20% discount code mon-thursday, you don't have to reserve in advance for discount. The $20.00 I saved off set the pet fee. Nice staff! They reccommended the Sunset Grill for dinner, very close, affordable & delicious! I'll be back!

Room Tip: Oceanfront Rooms! Above 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank megantracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Augustine Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
887 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine ...
#4 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
812 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western St. Augustine Beach Inn
Best Western St. Augustine Beach...
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
#6 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
1,352 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#3 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
854 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott St. Augustine Beach
Courtyard by Marriott St. August...
#5 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort

Address: 860 A1A Beach Blvd, Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine, FL 32080-6715
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine > Saint Augustine Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
Price Range: £87 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort offers the best of both worlds, being directly on St. Augustine Beach, and only 10 minutes to historic 'Old Town.' Hotel amenities include a full service restaurant, free Wi-Fi, direct beach access, large outdoor pool, poolside tiki bar (seasonal) and a friendly staff. A variety of room options are available in our 150-room, 5-floor hotel, ranging from ground-floor rooms which are pet-friendly to partial view rooms to direct oceanfront rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Hotel Saint Augustine Beach
Holiday Inn St Augustine Beach
Holiday Inn Saint Augustine Beach
Saint Augustine Beach Holiday Inn
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort Saint Augustine Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing