We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Good value and on the beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
Reesekittymoe
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location, Good value and on the beach!”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

After reading all the bad, I went with an open mind.
We booked the night before, looked for somewhere on the beach- Hard to find! Found this was the only hotel available and had a pool/some sea view. We stayed on the second floor , room #203, had a balcony, good air conditioning and a nice little bathroom. The bed was a king, I love it, especially as we have a queen at home and have to compete with 3 other animals for space. Pillows were a little on the small side, bring your own is always an option. We had a coffee pot and fridge.
The room itself was clean and options for putting away all your clothes or to hang them was there. This was not an above average hotel, but it was in a great location and the staff were all pleasant and upbeat, thank you to Sam ,And it was clean, no dust bunnies under the bed. I would stay here again, it is a pet friendly resort and anywhere you can bring your animal is a plus to me.
Could the hotel use some upgrades, absolutely! the stair wells needed some love, new paint and possibly new lighting. The elevators were always running slow towards the pool end, but patience, YOU ARE ON VACATION! Where are you rushing to?
We did not use the pool, we wanted the beach experience, but I can tell you it was clean and had music playing in the background and not too loud, so was inviting for all family members.
The pool bar, had a fun server Jeremy who was knowledgeable about the area. The bar could do with some upgrades as well. But he was well stocked up on all liquor and beer, plus items for the kids.
As you walk out onto the beach you can rent umbrellas and chairs for the day and any suntan lotion you forgot.
All in all a very relaxing hotel with a great location.

Room Tip: Any room for a view, pool side 3rd to 5th floor for the ocean view.
See more room tips
Green Features: I was not paying attention to this, but did see a recycling trash can.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reesekittymoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    332
    232
    129
    117
See reviews for
408
385
26
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We made reservations at this hotel because it is one of only two hotels in the area that are pet-friendly. This one is beach-side, and the other one is not. So we decided to make our reservations here. Their website is very nice. However upon arriving, it was apparent that what we saw on their website was not reality. As mentioned earlier, we brought our small dog. The pet rooms are in a hall together. We entered a hallway which had badly worn and stained carpet. Upon arriving in our room , we were not impressed. There was a roach in the floor, which told us the room had not been cleaned before our arrival. The sheet on the bed was "stained" from the previous guests. The bed skirt was also dirty. We called the desk, who sent someone to clean the room. When my wife pointed out what needed to be addressed, the staff person didn't seem to think it was a big deal. Another thing was that their website states you can only bring smaller dogs. However, there were two dogs in the room next door that were clearly bigger than what is supposed to be allowed. The bathroom was dirty and outdated. The only thing I can say in defense of this hotel is that when I went to the front desk to tell them that we were leaving and cancelling our reservations, they did not give us a hard time about it. Just told us there would be no charge and let us leave. I hope that they do as they said they would and not charge us. We ended up going to the other hotel down the street that is also pet-friendly and staying there. But we were very lucky that they had an opening. Although that hotel is across the street from the beach, at least it was clean and very reasonable in price. If you are looking to bring your pet on vacation to St. Augustine, do not be tempted to stay at the Holiday Isle. You might not be as lucky as we were in finding somewhere else to stay.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint Augustine Beach hotels

Louisville KY
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Reading the most recent reviews I wonder if those people were actually staying in this hotel. We had a clean room, nice balcony (partial ocean view), comfortable bed, loved the location, and helpful staff. Really the only complaint I had was the hallways and elevators were very hot. After a day at the beach or sightseeing in St Augustine, it was good to get in the room and crank up the air. Would stay again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank lyonsdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pa
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We reserved a room for 2 nights. After one night we checked out and went elsewhere. Our room had a dead roach in by the air conditioner. A leftover hair brush on next to the dresser on the floor. It is run down, dirty dated and need of a renovation very badly and an exterminator. It was a dirty place, and I don't advise anyone to stay there. I feel I deserve a credit for the night I spent there. How they are always booked is beyond my understanding and they ought to be ashamed to charge $200 a night for such a dump. The location is good and I would suppose that is the reason why. it is located right on the beach, with a nice pool. We went down the street to another wonderful hotel for a few dollars more.

Room Tip: Room 218 has roaches. Avoid!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianne24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deltona, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

What a huge disappointment! First of all, the photos on the website are misleading. Check in is at 4. I arrived at 4:30 to find 2 people working the counter, of which there were issues with people checking in. I waited in line for 25 minutes (yes, I timed it) before the Manager came out of his office to help.

Get through that, arrive at room & wonder if this was a prank. Room was filthy. Candy wrappers on floor by leaking A/C, hair in bathtub, stains on bedding. Not to mention the outdated decor, brightly painted rooms with peeling wallpaper, chipped paint & mold.

During the night I happened to look up & saw a bug on the ceiling over my bed. Decided to sit over on chair, reached over to grab a cup on tray with ice bucket & tray had sand on it from previous occupants.

Kids running & yelling down hallway was obnoxious. I felt the dogs there ruled.....I had to walk off the sidewalk or stand against a wall so the dogs could go by. Parking lot has many big holes - be careful.

At checkout I mentioned (to the Manager) that I saw 3 bugs throughout the night either on the ceiling or wall. He asked me what kind of bugs they were! Seriously? I'm a Banker, not an Exterminator.

Overall, I felt ripped off with the high rates I was charged.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2travel32738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caye Caulker, Belize
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The resort was very nice and was great for the number of people that we had there. If I were in that area again I woulf stay there again! The staff was very helpfull to all of our needs and were verry friendly to us all.

Room Tip: Stay on the ground floor with a view of the pool.
See more room tips
Green Features: I do not have any thoughts about this at this time.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We spent the 4th July weekend, the rooms where on the 5th floor with a great view, very clean odor free, pillows Am so glad I brought mines ,theirs were so small my dad end up with neck pain! very cheap kind , plenty of towels , buffet for $10.00 not much but the omelets were good
I was told balcony with no view when i booked online surprised we had a beautiful view , actually was better I guess their "view" was looking at the pool { noisy) our rooms on the side building I still could see the city and ocean , instead of people in a little pool,
an advise DO NOT GET INTO THE POOL!, it seems with so many people in there I never smell "Pool Chlorine " instead a musty smell when you walk by, , tiki bar the best , quite at night not crowded beach, the access is was OK but a bit disappointed with Handicap accommodations
I have 12 year old child with cerebral palsy , one of his last wishes was to see the ocean
when I called I was told handicap access would be no problem , well everything was fine until I climbed the stairs with my son in my Arms quite a walk, is no wheelchair ramp! I was not able to find a handicap wheelchair in Atlanta I waited 5 months in waiting list, I was hoping the hotel would have some but they didn't, so like i said I carried my child in my arms over the long steps, then down then some how we all push his stroller trough the heavy sand I felt sad because I couldn't get him near the water, the umbrellas a bit pricey $30. a day ,
the hotel even thou is Old and not well maintain is clean very friendly. I do understand they tried to call places to see if they could find a handicap beach stroller but not having handicap ramp to go to the beach is Sad, maybe they should do something when families have children with special needs visit them . we spent 3 days my son only could visit 1 day :( ,
Our reason to go over there: less crowd beach and quite but did not work for Us, sorry guys , it was hard for my son only to see the ocean from the balcony:(

Room Tip: 5th floors rooms 521 best view
See more room tips
Green Features: an advise DO NOT GET INTO THE POOL!, it seems with so many people in there I never smell "Pool Chlorine " instead a musty smell when you walk by, , tiki bar the best ,
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Augustine Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
867 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western St. Augustine Beach Inn
Best Western St. Augustine Beach...
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
750 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#3 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
#6 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
1,311 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine ...
#4 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
785 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott St. Augustine Beach
Courtyard by Marriott St. August...
#5 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort

Property: Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
Address: 860 A1a Beach Blvd, Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine, FL 32080-6715
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine > Saint Augustine Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort offers the best of both worlds, being directly on St. Augustine Beach, and only 10 minutes to historic 'Old Town.' Hotel amenities include a full service restaurant, free Wi-Fi, direct beach access, large outdoor pool, poolside tiki bar (seasonal) and a friendly staff. A variety of room options are available in our 150-room, 5-floor hotel, ranging from ground-floor rooms which are pet-friendly to partial view rooms to direct oceanfront rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Hotel Saint Augustine Beach
Holiday Inn St Augustine Beach
Holiday Inn Saint Augustine Beach
Saint Augustine Beach Holiday Inn
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort Saint Augustine Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing