We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting Area” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bob Sikes Cut

More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This channel, which separates St. George Island from Little St. George Island, is known for being a great spot to catch flounder.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
134 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Interesting Area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

While true that you need Plantation access to reach her by car/foot, if you can get there - it's a rather interesting place. There's a small carpark, followed by a nice public footpath that takes you out to the Gulf coast near the cut, then a short walk to the cut itself. The beach and rocks are quite lovely. We were there in the winter, so no boat traffic. I would think it would be tough waters to boat through with the current.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank DogAgility
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    14
    1
    0
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Titusville
Level Contributor
1,606 reviews
1,086 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,294 helpful votes
“Reach by kayak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

We have sea kayaks and worked our way along the shore on a calm water day. If windy, this might
not have been as much fun. Boat traffic through the Cut varies withe the time of day, but not a problem. No way to reach this area by automobile, but there are ways around the gate. check with the locals as they know where and how to access the "forbidden fruit".

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Neat Cut”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Pretty neat manmade cut at the end of St. George Island. Do need plantation access to get to the cut. Lots of rocks for climbing and wide beach at end of island. Watch the boats come in.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookeville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Someone was bought off!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

I agree with others that it is TOTALLY WRONG that this feature which was created with public funds has been isolated from that public. It is a great fishing spot, but you can't get there except by boat. I have read documentation that the Plantation developers were allowed by Franklin County to close off the end of the Island ONLY under the condition that access by fishermen to the cut was maintained at all times. Apparently someone has paid off the appropriate individuals to get them to ignore, and now deny, that agreement. The businesses on St. George loose a lot of money from potential visitors to the cut, especially fishermen, as a result of this situation.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
27 Thank bonita099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“No non Plantation people permitted”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

I heard this was a good area to fish. When we tried to drive there we were turned away at the gates of the Plantation! How ridiculous that everyone who visits SGI is not permitted to go here!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
16 Thank RebaWell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bob Sikes Cut also viewed

St. George Island, Florida Panhandle
St. George Island, Florida Panhandle
 
St. George Island, Florida Panhandle
St. George Island, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Bob Sikes Cut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing