We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“It was perfect relaxation!”

Review of Shooting Star

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
St. George Island, Florida

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ahwalter
Decatur, Georgia
2 reviews
“It was perfect relaxation!”
Reviewed 10 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We loved this house- the furnishings are just our style- light woods, bright-colored rugs and furnishings, Mexican tile in the kitchen- so right there, you had us us! But then, throw in the beautiful private pool and hottub, the beautiful wooded boardwalk through the "woods" to the beach, and it was heaven! We got in the car only twice the whole week, to crab and to go for dinner in Apalachicola , and when we returned to "our house" we felt glad. Lots of great star-watching, and the young kids just loved the easy access to the pool. Beautiful kitchen for cooking (which we did a lot of with the abundant local seafood). Screened porch was great for playing games in the afternoon... The only downside was the mean horseflies and gnats that we encountered a few days into our stay- worse at the beach but still present at the pool. Otherwise a perfect stay, and we have already booked for next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brammell
Pocatello, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“excellent location and value”
Reviewed 15 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013

My wife and I just returned from a 5 day stay at this property. Everything was just as represented. If anything, the property was nicer than described. It was clean, the master bed was very comfortable, and we enjoyed the fireplace and the private hot tub as amenities. It is not right on the beach, but just a short walk away. We enjoyed the privacy and seclusion of the house in the trees, while also having such easy access to the beach. We rented through Resort Vacation Properties. It was the best experience I have had with an entity like that. Everything, including linens, etc. were ready (even a log in the fire place), yet they left us alone to enjoy our vacation. No time shares etc. We asked for a late checkout and it was quickly agreed to, as we left mid week and no one was renting the home the next day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: privacy while still being close to the beach
Liked least: honestly can't think of anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Feb 2013
Thank you, brammell8, for your kind words. This level of service is what we aspire to provide to each guest and it's very satisfying to hear when we've achieved the goal of our vision statement. Shooting Star is a terrific home and the homeowner will be especially pleased to receive your thoughts about the home. We appreciate that you took the time to provide feedback and we hope you will continue to choose us for your St. George Island accommodations.

Sincerely,
Resort Vacation Properties
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Reviewed 11 October 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TN
Reviewed 24 January 2012 for a stay in June 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Il 62959
Reviewed 29 December 2009 for a stay in June 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Dec 2009
Thank you for taking the time to share your vacation rental experience with us. We are so pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay at Shooting Star. We’re sorry that ants chose to visit this home during your stay. There are many reasons that there are random outbreaks and unfortunately, one of the main causes is the amount of effort that the previous guest makes to tidy the home, (the kitchen in particular). Although our housekeeping department has very strict standards, sometimes the infestation begins prior to their efforts and the pests don't appear for several days. We really appreciate your favorable comments regarding the service our company provided to you during this time. We work hard to remedy situations in a timely and professional manner and it is great to hear positive feedback. As far as the elevator is concerned, our records don’t indicate that your party requested use of the elevator. This particular elevator is available for a fee to those who require assistance. Should you require use of the elevator on your next visit, please let us know and we will be happy to oblige. Should you choose to visit St. George Island again in the future, we hope that you will again allow us to serve your vacation rental needs.
Sincerely, Resort Vacation Properties
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
FL
Reviewed 18 June 2009 for a stay in June 2009

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Jun 2009
Thank you jwharrell! Shooting Star is a great home and we are glad you enjoyed it. We hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Macon GA
Reviewed 19 January 2009 for a stay in July 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing