We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful, fun time for all”

Review of Camelot

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
St. George Island, Florida

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sswalker8...
Jamestown, Indiana
1 review
“Wonderful, fun time for all”
Reviewed 2 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Our stay was great at Camelot. We had a great time and the house was beautiful and well kept. Check in was quick and easy to find. The pool was in great shape and very private. The walk to the beach was short. Overall our stay was great and we would come back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Reviewed 16 April 2012 for a stay in January 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michigan
Reviewed 2 February 2012 for a stay in April 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Georgia
Reviewed 11 January 2012 for a stay in July 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JeffFromF...
Franklin
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“This house overdelivered the luxury, ammenities, and quiet seclusion”
Reviewed 13 June 2011 for a stay in June 2011
1
person found this review helpful

The photos on the rental website do not do this home justice. The house is huge and luxuriously appointed and decorated. It is well hidden from most of the rest of the community, even the driveway was at first hard to find.

The ceilings are soaring. The closets, bedrooms, and closets are huge. The bedding is incredibly comfortable and the pillows are far superior to what you get in even fine hotels these days. The kitchen is well equipped with utensils, pots & pans, dishes, and appliances. The only mark against is the beaten refrigerator.

No bedroom is cheated out of its own bathroom. The room with twins has a pool/shower while the others have wonderful large, tiled showers. The half bath on the ground floor entry area is bigger than full baths in most homes.

The screened porch is adjacent to the paved underhouse parking as well as the outdoor shower, pool, and fish cleaning table. There are a couple of ceiling fans as well as picnic tables and the area stays very comfortable. I did not see one intruding bug the whole week. I stayed in this are while using the Weber gas grill located by an adjacent light in the pool area.

The pool is the nicest residential pool I have ever used or seen. The large rock waterfall and surrounding pines and palm trees shade the home and pool and provide a considerable amount of privacy from the few neighboring homes. I was worried the black painted concrete would make the pool hot, but the shade did a wonderful job keeping the water comfortable throughout the stay.

The upstairs covered porch was accessed through wonderfully large glass doors. It too had a couple of ceiling fans that kept the space comfortable even while daytime temps stayed in the 90s. The place was great for watching the kids in the pool below and to toss requests to the designated grill cook for the evening.

If you have kids who enjoy modern, large TVs be aware that the TVs in the living room and the bedrooms are small. Not a big problem for us since both of the families on my trip were more than entertained by everything else in the house. There was a stereo in the living room that we never used and no one used the clock radios in the bedrooms.

The beach itself is only a 5-8 minute walk away. That walk saves a considerable amount of money of renting a similar home directly by the dunes. It is a long distance from the community amenities, but since we had our own terrific pool we really did not care too much.

Camelot was a real find. Choosing a home in Plantation was a brilliant idea. Even during the busy June season the community seemed incredibly quiet and empty. We had at least 100 yards of beach to ourselves most days and the roads were only sporadically being used by cars. Even the paths by the road and across the beachfront cul-de-sacs were seldom bothered by traffic or runners. Do not feel that you cheated out of a beach vacation if you do not stay directly on the beach. This house and this neighborhood are terrifically managed and located for vacationing families looking to burn and swim and relax.

There is no elevator and the floors are pretty tall. All the bedrooms but one are on the third floor. I do not recommend this place for the elderly who may have trouble with stairs. Most of are group of 40-somethings with kids eventually were worn down by the stairs.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing