We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's at the beach!”
Review of Buccaneer Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. George Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Buccaneer Inn
Cherokee, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“It's at the beach!”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Ok, so it's at the beach. Great view of the ocean. Old beach hotel, clean, rough towels, cheap soap. It's not the Ritz but the Ritz is not on St. George Island. The room was large and spacious. The pool was clean. The decks, porches, and access to the beach was great. The door did not shut well so I used a chair to feel safe. but it's on the beach!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Airitout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    66
    48
    29
    43
See reviews for
76
83
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Great location and great price, but...

Rooms and property very dated and in need of upkeep.
No internet service
Beds not very comfortable
Nothing to write home about

Its too bad, because it is in a great location on a fantastic island. I would spend a little more and get something a lot more comfortable. Great place for college kids on spring break.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here, pay extra for the beachfront rooms they might be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 222joco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. George Island hotels

Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We love it. It is on one of the best beaches in America, it is affordable, it is clean, the folks there are very friendly and accommodating. And, as a special bonus, you can get a courtesy late checkout and, even keep your car there in the lot after checkout if you want more beach time. We highly recommend it and have stayed there often and will again!

Room Tip: Southside, facing pool, 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TallyNole1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I have been a regular at the motel for 12+ years now, my family & I (or sometimes just me) stay here multiple times a year. It amazes me at the bad reviews this place gets. Like I said we stay here ALOT & we have stayed in every room the inn offers.
I will agree that this place needs a major reno but the rooms are ALWAYS clean (we tend to stay upstairs as we feel down gets more "traffic") One thing that I love is that it's the same people working here year after year! I've come know several of the employees and consider them "bucc family" My wife & I enjoy sitting on the back deck and listening to what customers have to say about the place, we have never encountered anyone with a negative attitude, however I do recall one couple we became friendly with during a weeks stay (our kids were constant playmates) we checked out at the same time & all they could do was complain! I being unable to hold my tongue I questioned everything she was saying & what it boiled down to was the pool was open late one day! (10:30) and for that reason alone her whole weeks vacation was ruined.... The way I see it, you CAN NOT please everyone & they always want a reason to gripe and complain! I will continue to visit the motel every year, more than once a year and if the rest of you choose not to, hey that's more room for me and my family of 5! This is a wonderful place and does not deserve the negativity it's receiving lately.

p.s My family was sad to learn that April will be leaving soon, she really is "awesome" as others have stated and to me is like the glue that helps hold that place together

Room Tip: Like I said we always try to stay upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DB3175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I stayed at the Buccaneer Inn on Saint George Island 8/10/2013, after running in the Saint George Sizzler. I was a little concerned as I knew it was an older hotel.

From the time that I made my reservation to the moment that I checked out, I found the service helpful and friendly. The room was clean and well stocked with towels and toiletries. Our room had a coffee pot, microwave and small fridge. Everything was clean and fresh!

I will go again!

Room Tip: We stayed pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cordova
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

So, we were passing through going to Captiva and decided to stay 2 nights at St. Georges. The island itself is wonderful! Much less busy than Destin and Panama and the locals are extremely friendly. However, we booked at the Buccaneer Inn mainly based on reviews on here. We paid $175/ night for a "deluxe" room. We were so shocked when we arrived. The grounds are very unkept! The bottom floor and elevator smell horrible. The rooms are very outdated with nasty carpet. The access to the beach from the "deluxe" rooms are overgrown and the showers haven't worked in ages. Once again BEWARE! This place is terrible and we will never stay again. To each his own, but if you are looking for something in the $175 price range you will be HIGHLY disappointed. If you are looking for something that is equivalent to a $80/night hotel this may be OK for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cascade
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Gross, gross, and again...gross! The rooms smelled of mildew to the point of being offensive and almost unbearable. The carpet was actually soggy. UGH! There were paint tracks left by painter on carpet. I really made a point to touch as little as possible. Finally, thus far we spent more there for a rom than any other hotel on this vacation. Ripped off, baby! My advise....DON"T STAY HERE.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mary2511111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. George Island
0.2 mi away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#1 of 2 in St. George Island
189 reviews
8.4 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
378 reviews
8.9 mi away
Best Western Apalach Inn
Best Western Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
389 reviews
8.7 mi away
Rancho Inn
Rancho Inn
#4 of 5 in Apalachicola
141 reviews
8.6 mi away
Coombs House Inn
Coombs House Inn
#1 of 3 in Apalachicola
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buccaneer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buccaneer Inn

Property: Buccaneer Inn
Address: 160 W Gorrie Dr, St. George Island, FL 32328-2728
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > St. George Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in St. George Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently updated, queen and king beds, non-smoking, outdoor swimming pool, grills, conference room, kitchenettes and regular rooms. Family environment. No pets please. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buccaneer Hotel St. George Island
Buccaneer Hotel Saint George Island
Buccaneer Motel Saint George Island
Buccaneer St George Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing